We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location, nice place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
Ranked #27 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
154 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Excellent location, nice place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

i'd recommend to anyone looking for a decent mid-range hotel close to the CBD. Located close the the university in a quiet area but only a 10 minute walk to Queen street and Britomart area. The hotel doesn't look brand new but has been well maintained and our room was clean. also a good bus stop just down the road at symonds st that will easily get you to other areas around town.

our 1-bedroom room was on the 19th floor with a nice view of the harbour. it's listed as 1 bed room but not really any different than a normal hotel room with the bedroom just sectioned off with some sliding/folding doors. i've stayed at the copthorne and room was about the same size (copthorne is another good option close by).

our room also had a kitchen with the bare essentials - i.e. only 2 of the basics - glasses, spoons, forks, etc. so required washing dishes after every meal. that said, with all the places to eat close by, you probably shouldn't be eating much in the room. basic TV channels (1,2,3, prime, sky sport, living) so don't expect full compliment of sky tv.

one downside was the bathroom. very small. shower was standard size for a hotel but everyday i had trouble with the temp fluctuation - very hot to very cold several times during my shower. not sure if this was one off during my stay or our room.

no major complaints and would stay here again as the location for the price is very tough to beat.

Room Tip: high up, harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trav11er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRGroup, General Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Trav11er,

We thank you very much for your valuable feedback. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us.

We always make an effort to delight our valued guests by accommodating certain special requests whenever possible.
I assure you that we have noted your concerns carefully and appropriate actions have been taken to avoid any re-occurrence.

We look forward to welcoming you again and offer you a more delightful stay.

Kind Regards,

General Manager,

The Quadrant Hotel & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    449
    237
    139
    86
See reviews for
146
512
137
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

I would recommend The Quadrant to anyone looking for a more affordable Hotel without missing out on much. The room was really clean and tidy, and just generally very nice. Service was good too; I needed help with the TV and asked for extra blankets, and they were sorted out fairly promptly. Room service was pretty good too, although I'd avoid the typically overpriced minibar. The room has a fridge so you can bring any drinks you'd like, and is also has a microwave so you can heat meals. It's very well equipped for anyone on a stay, the room even had a washer/dryer (which we had no need for, but I can see the usefulness for others travelling from overseas with a bit of laundry), as well as a small cooktop. Would happily recommend, oh and we didn't notice any noise from the uni students, maybe we just got a room away from them? Who knows.. The only thing that irritated us a little was out room was very close to elevators, and we heard quite a lot of noise from people coming and going.

Room Tip: I would in the future request a room away from the elevators if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shonya_singh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRGroup, General Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Shonya_singh,

Sincere thank you for your valuable feedback, it was much appreciated. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we were equally delighted to have you as our valued guest.

Your valuable feedback helps us to be better and deliver better. We look forward to welcoming you again and offering you a yet another delightful experience.

Kind Regards,

General Manager,

The Quadrant Hotel & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Due to the fear of the unknown and my relatively limited budget I was a little nervous about the quality of my stay at The Quadrant Hotel in Auckland. I need not worry one iota. Loved the facilities, loved the staff, loved the room, loved the location. My main concerns were that the room would smell like lingering cat fart or I would be able to hear the street below at night or the neighbouring rooms or corridors. To my relief the room smelt as fresh as a daisy and not a single noise was heard until my first burp of contentment following the initial sip of my complimentary glass of wine kindly gifted to me on arrival. The room was clean, free Wifi was speedy, bed was comfy, shower pressure perfect. My only complaint? I had to leave and go home. Stay here - you won't be disappointed!!! I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elliot_Denby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minna D, Guest Relations Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Eliot_Denby

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are very glad to hear that you loved your stay with us and it exceeded your expectations.Such encouraging reviews ensure that we work hard to maintain our standards. Thank you for your support. Your feed back has been passed on to the team.
Please stay in touch with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Warm regards,
Minna Dubey
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Well equipt but possibly to much for the cleaner to clean. We found long strands of dark hair in drinking glasses, the fridge, and the bathroom. Either the cleaner is stressed or not cleaning.

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment with a nice view of the harbour. The way one bedroom shuts off from the other looks like a complete after thought to try and allow more space within the apartment.

The sofa was comfortable enough for 3 people to sit on but we weren't too fond of the stains on the cushions.

Valet parking was great! $28 well spent. Hotel staff we're friendly and informative.

Hotel bar was nice. Food was average.

Overall its really a 4 star view but a 3.5 star hotel. Keep your expectations low if you decide to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richandjess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minna D, Guest Relations Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. Every feedback helps us to improve.
It is good to hear that our staff was helpful, you enjoyed the bar and you found value in our valet parking service.
I am disappointed that your experience was marred by a few bad experiences with regards to housekeeping. This is of a major concern to me. You can see by our other reviews that we take great pride in our housekeeping standards – we invest a lot of time in training and hiring to ensure we have the most capable team. I have addressed your concerns with our Executive House Keeper and will follow up personally to ensure this is never repeated. This is definitely not our normal standard.We would like you to visit us again and give us an opportunity to show our high standards.
Warm regards
Minna Dubey
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We had a very good stay during New Years Eve at this hotel. Although we had to add extra to ensure that we get a room with a view of Skytower to watch the fireworks, the room that we got upgraded to was really great - modern facilities, nice kitchenette, overall clean and superb. Quite central but still a bit hidden thus less traffic noise.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Piwi97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minna D, Guest Relations Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thanks for your wonderful feedback. We are gald that you enjoyed your stay here at the Quadrant. Your feedback is a good motivation for us to keep striving to maintain the high standards we have.
We look forward to welcome you and extend our hospitality again in case your travels bring you back to Auckland.

Warm regards
Minna Dubey
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Couldn't get in at the Pullman, 5 star, next door on a conference, and stayed at this charming hotel. Although a bit small the staff were very helpfull and the unit was very comfortable. Very clean and good facilities. We felt robbed when we went to the Pullman and got a tired room with overinflated prices for everything due to the 5 star raing. The quadrant is definately our choice for our next visit at less than half the price and double the value

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VernonNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minna D, Guest Relations Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Vernon,
Thank you for giving us such a great review. We are happy that you liked what we offer here at our property and that your stay was above expectations.Your feedback is a great driver in ensuring, we as a property can keep striving to maintain the high standards we have.
It is wonderful to know that you will choose us the next time you are in Auckland.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Warm Regards
Minna Dubey
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

I got put up in the Quadrant hotel on a trip for work, and found it a very pleasant stay, with nice comfortable rooms.
The only unfortunate part was the fact that i left my kindle in my room and it was 'not found' by housekeeping at all. And it definitely was not packed in my bag.

So a word of warning that even in safe New Zealand, take care with your belongings and hotel cleaners..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank NZtraveller_6021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minna D, Guest Relations Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
DearValued Guest,

I thank you for taking the time to share the experience during your last stay.

We pride ourselves in offering a high level of service. I am very disappointed that you had an unfortunate experience of losing your kindle. We have never come across such a report where we have not been able to return a guest belonging if he did leave it in the hotel room. I am very confident about my staff as well, but if you are very sure that you left it in the hotel room, then it is a matter of concern to me. I will definitely be following it up with the Housekeeping Manager. If you would email me the details of your stay with us at quad.corporate@vrhotels.co.nz, it would be a help.
It is good to hear that you had otherwise a pleasant stay.
Take care and I hope you choose us next time when you are in Auckland.

Warm Regards,
Minna Dubey
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
0.0 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
0.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#20 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
0.8 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#21 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland

Property: The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
Address: 10 Waterloo Quadrant, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Auckland, just a well shod hop, skip and jump away from the city's fashion district, restaurants and bars - featuring 200 apartment style rooms (studios, 1 and 2 bedroom apartments) each with a fully equipped kitchen, balcony and FREE Wifi with a generous daily limit of 1GB. It's easy to see why The Quadrant Hotel becomes the home away from home for many travellers throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Quadrant Hotel And Suites Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing