We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great start, very average after that”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
Ranked #30 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed at the Quadrant for 1 night recently. I got a good deal, so decided on it even though I knew it was a long hill walk up from the main part of town, but still only 5 minutes. Check in was incredibly friendly, reception area was funky including a cute little restaurant and bar. Problem is once you get into the room, it turns from funky boutique to boring, small and average. The pluses were a balcony to get lots of fresh air, plus a kitchenette. The downsides were the bathroom was probably the tiniest I have ever seen, lucky I was by myself ! The room itself apart from small did have everything but for some reason did not match the boutique feel of reception, and was looking very tired and not well maintained. At the end of the day, for me it was just a bed for the night, but would not want to stay more than a night, and would definately not bring a partner.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank essendontvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdaiSarin, General Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback and please accept my sincere apologies that your experience was less that top notch. Any feedback we receive helps to make us better. I would love to have you come back and give us another chance to prove that this is not usual for our hotel. Do not hesitate to contact me directly at udai@vrgroup.co.nz if you might reconsider staying with us again in the future so I can ensure you a more comfortable stay.

Warm Regards,

Udai Sarin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

683 - 689 of 1,255 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2012

Having been disappointed at a cancellation of a concert last minute, we were looking forward to our overnight stay after spending the day in the city.
I thought I had booked an Executive Apartment in a four star rated hotel. Did I and my family get that? No!
Our welcome by staff was excellent at reception.
On entering the room, we were welcomed by such a badly laid carpet; almost to the point of riding the wave! The fridge had been turned off leading to a pool of water on the floor, hence the fridge had not been stocked at all as well as the usual room condiments. The kettle was faulty, only two dining chairs for a room of 4 people, a very small two sweater sofa, no bedside tables or lamps and only two bath towels.
The Management stepped in very swiftly after a complaint was made to a member of staff. We were offered another room that was just marginally better by having bedside tables and lamps and four chairs. The rooms were nothing like displayed on the hotels website. Very mediocre.
The hotel was very tired looking and the carpets only held their own due to the dim lighting.
Having a room with a balcony to stand out on and look at the view does not make up for poor quality and standards in other areas, even if it was only for an overnight booking.
We will not be staying there again.

Room Tip: Ask for the best room of the hotel with a guarantee of money refundable if not up to expectations or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wightlady55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdaiSarin, General Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments about the standard of maintenance. This is of a major concern to me. You can see by our other reviews that we take great pride in our property standards – we invest a lot of time and money to ensure our building remains spick and span. I have addressed your concerns with our Maintenance Manager and will follow up personally to understand what we can do better as a property. It is disappointing to hear that our standards were not up to par. It would be helpful in rectifying the problem for future guests if you could provide me with your room number. My email is – udai@vrgroup.co.nz

Take care and safe travels,

Udai Sarin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

my husband and i enjoyed our stay at The Quadrant despite da small room review. For us,it was good value for da price pay and a huge bonus on FREE wifi. Both of us love doing a fair share of walking to/frm the city, therefore, location was not a problem. The walk up was definately calorie burner! :) Support staff at Quadrant were excellent. On the way to Auckland,we experienced flight delay and emailed reservation (Maria) on our late arrival. Upon check in, they made sure tat our rooms were ready and didnt hv to wait. Upon check out, Quadrant again impress us by assisting to provide a shutter bus service. I would definately come back again and recommend tis hotel to anyone. Unfortunately,i hvnt had da chance to stay in other rooms.but, tis has been really great! Thnk u Quadrant fr making our 1st visit a memorable one!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaiulan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdaiSarin, General Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

It is great to hear that you had a first class stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We hope you will come back and visit us soon!

We would love to personally host you for a longer stay in the near future.

Warm regards,

Udai Sarin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

It is located at a quieter elevated part of Auckland city, directly opposite a beautiful garden and very near a university. What impressed me the most is that from the balcony, it has a great view of the city. Everything else in within a short walking distance. And I'm giving two thumbs up for complementary WiFi. Since I only stayed there for 2 nights, I was not able to use any of the other facilities in the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed for the Cochrane Colloquium 2012 in September/October 2012. Room had a great view looking towards the High Court and Auckland War Memorial Museum. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Enjoyed the fact that each floor had security pass access. Wifi connected easily and was quick.

Stayed: September 2012
Thank Tracey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

This place is like a home away from home, I know my way around very well, having stayed frequently over the last three years for single and multi night's and even a 2 month stay. This hotel has great staff that make your stay welcoming, staff remember names rather than room numbers, this place offers exactly what you need, it's an excellent alternative to one of the big impersonable five star places down town. This is located in a picturesque quieter elevated part of Auckland city, directly opposite beautiful gardens and the University grounds, modern buildings blend in well with some notable older buildings. Within 5 minutes you can walk safely to one of the two big CBD supermarkets, and in less time to some good nearby restaurants. Parking is by valet service with car dropped off at a circular driveway at the front door, foyer is compact and modern with seating and waterpools with candles. Ambience is minimal but stylish. Excellent security with key card needed for lifts. Accommodations provide all mod cons: washing machine/dryer, dishwasher, microwave, cooktop, full size fridge, iron and ironing board, cuttlery and crockery. Wi Fi is complementary throughout the hotel, cable tv offering International News, Sports, National Geographic and all national stations. Hotel has dining facilty on street level for breakfast, lunch and dinner, cocktail bar with exterior courtyard, and handy gymnasium with sauna and spa.

Room Tip: Rooms on north side are bright and sunny with great harbour views when positioned high up. Hotel re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdaiSarin, General Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

I am so glad to see that you embraced what we offer here at our property. Great rooms, Great price, Great location – there are no properties in Auckland that can match what we offer with complimentary Wi-Fi.

Take care and I hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Udai Sarin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I have stayed numerous times at the Quadrant on long and short stays.
Ideal for both and has all amenities such as free wifi and self contained features such as washing machine,stove and microwave if required.
Rooms are very comfortable, spacious and quiet.
I have found all the staff extremely friendly and willing to help to make your stay comfortable and memorable.
Another feature is the convenient location which is walking distance to all that Auckland has to offer.
I have no hesitation in recommending the Quadrant Hotel to all.

Room Tip: As with most hotels try and get a reasonably high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdaiSarin, General Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

I am so glad to hear you enjoyed staying at The Quadrant Hotel Auckland. We are a Premier 4 Star Hotel in Auckland with a long history of providing quality service and accommodation. Our amenities, towels and employees are top notch and I am delighted to read that your stay was above expectations.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Udai Sarin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland B...
#8 of 66 in Auckland Central
884 reviews
0.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,007 reviews
0.7 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
#24 of 66 in Auckland Central
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
#21 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,712 reviews
0.7 mi away
VR Auckland City
VR Auckland City
#40 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,170 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland

Address: 10 Waterloo Quadrant, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $95 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Auckland, just a well shod hop, skip and jump away from the city's fashion district, restaurants and bars - featuring 200 apartment style rooms (studios, 1 and 2 bedroom apartments) each with a fully equipped kitchen, balcony and FREE Wifi with a generous daily limit of 1GB. It's easy to see why The Quadrant Hotel becomes the home away from home for many travellers throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Quadrant Hotel And Suites Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing