We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bed!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
Ranked #27 of 65 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed January 24, 2012

We spent 3 nights in a studio suite, which is the smallest accommodation. The bed was one of the most comfortable we've ever had (and we are picky!) Ours was queen-sized, and the mattress was a medium firmness that had some sort of foam topping that conformed to your shape. Linens and pillows were also nice.

The studio suite was essentially a standard hotel room with a kitchenette. The kitchenette was adequately stocked, and it was nice to have a small dishwasher as well. The bathroom was tiny--unnecessarily so since there was some wasted space in the room.

The room was nicely decorated in a contemporary style, but the furnishings were definitely in the "style over function" category. There was one small closet, but otherwise no storage, which is poor design for a place that is geared to longer-term stays. The nightstands were these small solid wooden cylinders that looked like tree trunks. Would have liked a drawer or shelf. The flat-screen TV was mounted on the wall, with a small table below it--enough to hold the remote and a magazine or two. No bureau, shelving, etc, which was a shame because there was plenty of space. Small table and 2 chairs by kitchenette, which was fine.

The hotel is in a quiet area across from a park and the Univ. of Auckland. There are not a lot of restaurants, shops etc. in the immediate area, but the CBD is about a 5-10 min walk (down a fairly steep hill).

Room Tip: Rooms on high floors have nice views of the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatTraveler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,239)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

786 - 792 of 1,240 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2012

We read a lot of reviews of this hotel and booked on the strength of these, we then saw some negative reviews about the place which did worry us a little.

The location is perfect and the very friendly and helpfulness of the reception was refreshing. After arriving into Auckland at 7am, taking the shuttle to the hotel it was nice to be greeted, checked in and advise when the room was available. The receptionist then spent time showing us a map of the city, advising where to go and eat and local attractions. As a traveller it is really nice to get this kind of attention.

The room was a one bed executive, with living room and kitchen, which is very spacious and a very comfortable bed. The downsides are very minor, but ultimately add or detract from the experience and here we have some very minor items, frayed carpets, loose toilet seat and a blown light bulb, nowhere near enough to detract from the overall experience.

All told a very pleasant experience and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nomadion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

This hotel has a great location and good pricing however as many of the rooms are ex student apartments being converted over to hotel rooms sometimes the room doenst meet expectations.

Ours had no air conditioning, a fridge that didnt work and that had defrosted stinky water onto the kitchen floor, a washing machine that was different to the one detailed in the room instructions so was a frustrating curse inducing learning excercise and also had a broken door, missing light bulbs etc. Staff were really helpful in trying to move us to another room but couldnt and there was nothing done about the other issues. Breakfast is not included although they said it was and come check out - no discount on the bill for all their issues.

Hard to recommend this place really.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Craig G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdaiSarin, General Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2012

Dear Craig,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our property.

I appreciate your concerns about the rooms, However: I am unsure where you had the feeling that The Quadrant Hotel Auckland was ex student accommodation? Since its opening in 2006 the property has been a corporate and leisure hotel.

On a positive note I am glad that our staff were great and looked after you.

You will be glad to know that we have just completed a major upgrade to the property and I am afraid your room must have been one of the last to have finished. Air-Con, new carpeting, paint, tiles, flat screen TVs have just been added. Hopefully on your next visit to us the property will meet the expectations you had on the first visit.

Please email me on udai@vrgroup.co.nz when you are next in Auckland and I will be happy to ensure you are looked after.

Take care and safe travels.

Udai Sarin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

After reading several good reviews of the Quadrant, we were looking forward to our stay there. We were disappointed. The rooms are rather stylish, and include cooking and laundry options. Auckland is in the far north of New Zealand, and can be rather warm and steamy. Our room was without any air conditioning. I discovered that some of the rooms were air conditioned, and others were not, and when I asked about this at the desk, I was told there was no price difference, but one could request an AC room when booking. There was no place for such a request in the on-line booking site, though. The person at the reception desk said it was pretty much a random issue: some got it, some did not. He noted that I had a fan, which was true. Unfortunately, our room was on the floor above a driveway where each morning, at 4:30 AM, the garbage for this, and an adjoining hotel, were collected -- loudly. The combination of no AC and a loud outside environment was not conducive to good sleeping!

There is a pretty nice, somewhat expensive ($19 NZ) breakfast buffet. There is a very small fitness center, One of the three machines there was not working correctly. There is a hot tub, but most of the time we were there it was out of order.

The rooms are VERY small -- e.g., in ours, the shower door could not be completely opened, because it hit the sink.

We had an evening flight out of Auckland, so wanted to stay beyond the 11:00 check-out time. The charge for this service was $25 per hour.

The hotel was close to the very pretty Albert Park, convenient to the central business district, and just next door to the University of Auckland.

We had one small cake of soap for the first three nights, then finally got another. Some days, the housekeeping staff left instant coffee for the hot water pot; some days they did not.

I was on a business trip at the U. of Auckland, but next time, I'd select another hotel nearby!

Room Tip: Ask for air conditioning; try for a top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samuel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdaiSarin, General Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am disappointed to read your review, we have many visitors from Auckland University (because of its close proximity) who love staying at The Quadrant and I only wish we could have made your stay an enjoyable one.

Our rooms have just finished a major refurbishment where Air-Conditioners have been installed in all the rooms as well as new carpeting, painting, LCD TV etc. I presume you were in one of the last rooms to be done, I am apologetic about this. If you had come to reception we would have gladly moved you to something that you expected.

We are also in the process of upgrading our Gymnasium, again apologies for the inconvenience.

Our Studio units are 32SQM, i understand this could be small in comparison to many American Studios and your reaction is understandable. Perhaps our 45SQM One Bedroom apartments could be more suitable upon your next visit with us.

Thank you for your comments about the daily service, I have communicated your concerns to our Executive Housekeeper who has scheduled in further training to mitigate future occurrences.

Again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you in the near future.

Kind Regards

Udai Sarin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We got to the hotel early in the morning and they were so flexible about storing our luggage so that we could spend the time exploring Auckland. They then moved all our bags to our room once it was ready, so we didn't have to do it! The room was very clean and pleasant. The bathroom was a little small by US standards, but it was clean and functional. Had we been staying longer in Auckland, the kitchenette would have been really useful.
Overall, a really great place to stay... we'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelbugABQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

This hotel is located downtown Auckland very close to Albert's Park. The staff is friendly and they let us check-in earlier which was nice after coming from the airport straight after a 12h flight. It is a clean and modern hotel and I would reccomend it to anyone visiting Auckland.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Our room was situated on the floor just above the lobby and all we could see from our room is a red brick wall! We really felt like we are in a prison! We could not find any shower gel or shampoo provided by the hotel on our first night, so we thought this hotel does not provide any of these stuffs. On the second night, the shower gel and shampoo showed up!!! But the lotion was half empty!

We liked the DVD player in the room as we could watch our skydive video again.

Reminder:
The hotel looked like it is situated closely to Queen Street on the map. But the fact is that the hotel is situated on a small mount and the road back to the hotel is a steep sloped road that might be challenging for some people.

Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank KLPY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdaiSarin, General Manager at The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2012

Dear Traveler,

Thank you for your review at The Quadrant Hotel Auckland.

I am disappointed that you were not completely satisfied with your room. We would have been happy to move you to a higher floor if requested after you checked in to ensure you were happy. I am unsure if you noticed, our building is 27 stories tall and has views of Auckland Harbour and City, yes we are in inner city Auckland and surrounded by buildings, however this is no different to other cities around the world. We are lucky enough to enjoy brilliant views as well.

Your situation with the toiletries has been conveyed to our Executive Housekeeper which will trigger increased training with our staff.

Thank you for your feedback, it is the best way for us to move forward as a property.

Safe Travels

Udai Sarin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 65 in Auckland Central
748 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
#20 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,664 reviews
0.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#23 of 65 in Auckland Central
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,271 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#11 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,160 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#15 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland

Address: 10 Waterloo Quadrant, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $114 - $460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Auckland, just a well shod hop, skip and jump away from the city's fashion district, restaurants and bars - featuring 200 apartment style rooms (studios, 1 and 2 bedroom apartments) each with a fully equipped kitchen, balcony and FREE Wifi with a generous daily limit of 1GB. It's easy to see why The Quadrant Hotel becomes the home away from home for many travellers throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Quadrant Hotel And Suites Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing