We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We got a great view from room 1825.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
Ranked #27 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
327 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“We got a great view from room 1825.”
Reviewed August 15, 2011

The Quadrant ran a special for a one bedroom apt for 119.00, so decided to take them up on the offer and spend the night in town as we were off to the theatre. We do like this hotel, however if I could I would give it 3.5 stars if I could as there were a few minus points. I will however start with the plus:
They welcomed us back and gave us a fantastic view of the harbour from our long and narrow balcony. You enter the suite through a small hallway with the bathroom on the right and continue on to the living area, with the kitchen to the right. In the "kitchen" there is a decent sized fridge/freezer, hob, and washing machine. Next to is a small set of cute table and chairs backed up to a small sofa facing the tv/desk area. You go to the left for the bedroom with a queen sized bed and small closet. In the closet is a safe, ironing board and iron.
The wifi is free, but I did have to ring the front desk for the code.
This is a good place if you are looking for an inexpensive stay and don't need a lot of room, as everything feels on the small side. The bedside tables are small, the bathroom is very small, the bed seems small.
The suite is plain, but tidy. However the minus points are the very dark bedroom ceiling lights, the very hard flat pillows, no bathrobes ( I know this is an inexpensive place, but if it is 4 stars, well then). They need to do a bit of general maintenance in the room, hubby is a builder and notices these things - the carpet needed restretching, etc. None of these issues would not let me return, but one truly bad point was the long wait for the elevator on our arrival at about 4:00PM. There was a que of about 15 people and we stood there for a while. Maybe it was just a weird glitch.
The lobby was nice enough and the breakfast set up the next day looked inviting. There is also a small bar area that looked good as well. We did not however use either.
The location is good, as you can easily walk to most of the main attractions of the inner city, although you will have to walk up and down a few hills. We enjoyed our walk to the civic theatre and back
All and all a good stay, but they could up the game just a wee bit.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank avb13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    455
    238
    140
    87
See reviews for
147
517
139
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2011

This hotel is a real gem! Excellent service, very friendly and helpful staff, and a chic design.

The room was beautifully designed and decorated, as well as very clean and comfortable. The staff was particularly great, they took the time to book many day trips for us and made sure they operated some changes we requested at the last moment. They were super-nice, professional, and very efficient!

The hotel lobby looked great with a very modern and fresh decor. We were provided free wireless for all the devices we had. It could not have been a more comfortable stay! The area is very safe and well connected to the city. My sister and I felt safe walking in the area late in the evenings. This is great value for the money. We will definitely be staying there again, when we visit Auckland again. We warmly recommend it and we are sure you will enjoy your stay there.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed at the Quadrant for five days in June in a one bedroom apartment.

Certainly, the room is small, and the bathroom is the smallest I have ever seen. However, there are not many hotel rooms in the world that offer a full sized fridge, a full size washing machine / dryer and cooking facilities for a very reasonable price. The compromise is that the room is compact, but you have everything you need to recharge your batteries.

At the end of the day the bathroom may be tiny, but it is clean, there is loads of hot water and there is everything you need in a bathroom.

Travelling with two children I found the washing machine a god send, so much easier than trying to find a laundrette.

Dont forget the free internet. Again there are not many hotels in the world that offer this. Internet in hotels is usually an arm and a leg. The internet was also very fast. Could not fault it.

We had room service on a couple of occasions. It was good food, served very quickly.
Great selection of TV Channels and the heap pump is very effective if it is cold and wet outside.

Again, could not fault the staff. They were all very friendly and helpful.

We had a car, and as long as we gave them a good 15 minutes notice - they always had the car ready for us.

The Quadrant is only a five minute walk to the main shopping area / restaurants, and is also near nice parks if you feel like a walk. Try Mecca on Chancery, awesome food and great service

We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. Don't be put off by the negative reviews, it is a good FOUR STAR hotel, if you want five star services, then go to the Pullman next door and pay the five star price. Seriously, this hotel is exceptionally good value for money.

Room Tip: Dont expect a massive room then you wont be disappointed. You will get a very clean well equipped ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ianandalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2011

My wife and I have just returned to Shaky Christchurch from our honeymoon in Auckland. We stayed at the Quadrant and receive unbelievable service and outstanding food. The view from our room was priceless and the staff were fantastic. Staying at the Quadrant was the making of our trip.
Our very special thanks to Edward Judd, you do a terrific job and we really appreciate all that you and your staff have done for my wife and I over the past 4 days.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
175 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We booked this hotel as it was recommended by Air New Zealand. They said that their air crew stayed there, and indeed they did because we spotted several of them, so this was not a lie.

As someone on here had said it was small we booked an "executive one bed apartment". The picture they show on their website is accurate, but the lense used must be one of those fish eye lenses because if I was so inclined, I could literally have stepped from the kitchen worktop to the sofa to the TV cupboard. The bathroom was half the size of our downstairs cloakroom at home, so small I had to open the door of the bathroom in order to dry! The corridor outside was actually wider than the bathroom!

We followed the instructions on how to operate the washer-dryer to spin dry something prior to drying it but this clearly wasn't how to operate it because the machine filled with water and soaked the item we wanted to dry! We are not stupid and have owned several such machines but this one sure foxed us!

On a more positive note the room was very quietly positioned to the outside noise. The hotel is near Albert Park. Internally however I swear I could hear our neighbour scratching the walls are so thin. Similarly the doors allow internal noise into the room. Privacy not included here!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Int_Academic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

I stayed here for five nights as a solo traveler while attending a conference at the University of Auckland and staying for a couple of extra days of sightseeing. For these purposes it was the ideal location: easily accessible to downtown Auckland and to the main campus of the University. Despite the central location it has a quiet aura, as it is next to a park. I had a studio room which was perfect for one, but would be crowded for a couple. I very much appreciated the full kitchenette (with washing machine and dishwasher!). These amenities - unheard of in U.S. metropolitan areas! - made my trip more affordable as I did not have to pay for laundry services or every single meal. Though not really a full-service hotel for business travelers the staff were very helpful with some photocopies I had to make, and the two meals I ate at the small restaurant were quite good. And the free wireless internet was a huge plus. I would recommend this hotel particularly to business travelers or leisure travelers without small children (rooms are too small to accommodate the latter).

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ambulatrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Have stay at the Quadrant before run it was good they must have changed staff as the service was very bad this time room are not constant and they damage our car front bumper half hang off and light knock out and they said it was not there fault what a joke spoke to management in the week and got told that they would not have anything to do with it, the worst thing is we did not even get a sorry Do Not Stay There!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crashchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.0 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
2,184 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland
1,194 reviews
0.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#20 of 66 in Auckland
917 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland

Property: The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
Address: 10 Waterloo Quadrant, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Auckland, just a well shod hop, skip and jump away from the city's fashion district, restaurants and bars - featuring 200 apartment style rooms (studios, 1 and 2 bedroom apartments) each with a fully equipped kitchen, balcony and FREE Wifi with a generous daily limit of 1GB. It's easy to see why The Quadrant Hotel becomes the home away from home for many travellers throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Quadrant Hotel And Suites Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing