We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good choice for a very reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of VR Auckland City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
VR Auckland City
Ranked #34 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Berkswell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good choice for a very reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2010

These self contained rooms were right on the mark for us. We wanted the comfort of a hotel, but the choice to self cater if desired, so this was perfect. Kitchenette also included a dishwasher and clothes washer, which was a nice bonus. Car parking was expensive but that is to be expected in Auckland. Slight downside was the location. It's near to the city centre but I would say it's in the dodgy part of town, be sure to cross the street when walking at night!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElvishBadgerQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    418
    270
    85
    89
See reviews for
314
424
70
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2010

Very convenience place to stay because walking to downtown only 15 mins and I love this place so much. The apartment I stay has 2 rooms.

Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank farah1512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2010

After reading a few other reviews about this accommodation i have to agree with the safety issue. There are a lot of "undesirables" hanging around and the stench of urine on the street was quite noticable. Staying with my mum and my 6 yr old son, it will be something we take into consideration with visiting Auckland again.
The accommodation itself was comfortable and modern. The staff were friendly (even after waking a young girl for a 6.30am check out). The halls were stuffy, as was the bathroom with no exhust fan. The room was airconditioned but took a while to cool.
Overall its fine for a night but a lengthy stay, i believe would be quite tedious.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaxxy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whangarei
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2010

stayed in a 2 beddy [asked for 1 bed]..highlight of stay.
tiolet hadnt been cleaned.
door handle fell off.
deck was filthy.
poor light in WC.
niosey as at night..party central next door!
cook top filthy.
no condiments included.
last peoples rubbish still partially in room.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trevorg01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2010

We stayed in a 2 bed apartment that was clean, modern and comfortable. As we were on a driving holiday we pre-booked a car park and glad that we did as there are not many bays in the basement car park. The location is very close to the main CBD and only a short walk to the sky tower complex. Walking to the main shopping area is not a problem but be prepared for a walk up a hill on the way back.

There was a washing/dryer machine in the bathroom but ensure you have plenty of time to use it. 1 load took us about 4-5hours. And that was after spending about 40 minutes trying to work out how to use it.

On the whole this apartment represents good value for money and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2010

I stayed here with my parents, husband and 5 month old daughter for one night in the end of Dec 2009.
We booked a two bedroom apartment and it was very nice inside, modern and clean. The only strange thing that we found was that there was a frosted glass panel between the two bedrooms, letting light between them. The price appeared fair.
The problem that we had was that their online booking system (a third party provider) did not pass on our request for a port-a-cot and they did not have one on site (they hire one themselves). The front desk man did ring around other hotels (at my request) and eventually tracked one down, however this took time and it was a long time past my daughter's bed time by the time we got into the room. I understand that this was a problem with the booking system, rather than the apartments, but i would recommend phoning ahead to confirm any special requirements before turning up.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nimsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2009

Have just come back from 3 nights at the Oaks Smartstay on Hobson with husband and 2 kids (aged 6 and 9). Stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment with balcony. Modern decor, clean, kitchen with basics (fridge, dish washer, stove top etc), tv and dvd player, washer/drier. Perfect for our short stay with kids. I found receptionists to be friendly and efficient but I didn't need to ask any advice so can't comment on that. Location is fabulous if you wish to be downtown. Free city circuit bus stop one (two?) blocks away. Paid extra $20 night for parking which was worth it to not have that hassle and to be able to come and go easily.
Highly recommend it. Would stay again gladly. Perfectly suited to our needs.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ameriwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
0.4 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
0.3 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#21 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 66 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.9 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VR Auckland City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VR Auckland City

Property: VR Auckland City
Address: 188 Hobson Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — VR Auckland City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your VR Auckland City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland City Oaks Hotel Auckland Central
Oaks On Hobson
VR Auckland City New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing