We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
VR Auckland City
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Hilton Auckland(Auckland Central)
$284
$267
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$145
$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
SKYCITY Hotel(Auckland Central)
$153
$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Auckland(Auckland Central)
$159
$139
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
SKYCITY Grand Hotel(Auckland Central)
$219
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$245
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Heritage Auckland(Auckland Central)
$190
$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Grand Millennium Auckland(Auckland Central)
$134
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
$122
$102
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Fitness center
  • Free Internet
Kiwi International Hotel(Auckland Central)
$55
$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,206)
Filter reviews
1,206 results
Traveler rating
248
443
298
108
109
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
248
443
298
108
109
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswashing machinesky towerhobson streettwo bedroom apartmentcomplimentary breakfastself containedqueen streetauckland citycooking facilitiesfull kitchenoakswasherkitchenetteovenharbourstovelaundry
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,042 - 1,047 of 1,206 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2010

After reading a few other reviews about this accommodation i have to agree with the safety issue. There are a lot of "undesirables" hanging around and the stench of urine on the street was quite noticable. Staying with my mum and my 6 yr old son, it will be something we take into consideration with visiting Auckland again.
The accommodation itself was comfortable and modern. The staff were friendly (even after waking a young girl for a 6.30am check out). The halls were stuffy, as was the bathroom with no exhust fan. The room was airconditioned but took a while to cool.
Overall its fine for a night but a lengthy stay, i believe would be quite tedious.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaxxy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2010

stayed in a 2 beddy [asked for 1 bed]..highlight of stay.
tiolet hadnt been cleaned.
door handle fell off.
deck was filthy.
poor light in WC.
niosey as at night..party central next door!
cook top filthy.
no condiments included.
last peoples rubbish still partially in room.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trevorg01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2010

We stayed in a 2 bed apartment that was clean, modern and comfortable. As we were on a driving holiday we pre-booked a car park and glad that we did as there are not many bays in the basement car park. The location is very close to the main CBD and only a short walk to the sky tower complex. Walking to the main shopping area is not a problem but be prepared for a walk up a hill on the way back.

There was a washing/dryer machine in the bathroom but ensure you have plenty of time to use it. 1 load took us about 4-5hours. And that was after spending about 40 minutes trying to work out how to use it.

On the whole this apartment represents good value for money and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ajawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2010

I stayed here with my parents, husband and 5 month old daughter for one night in the end of Dec 2009.
We booked a two bedroom apartment and it was very nice inside, modern and clean. The only strange thing that we found was that there was a frosted glass panel between the two bedrooms, letting light between them. The price appeared fair.
The problem that we had was that their online booking system (a third party provider) did not pass on our request for a port-a-cot and they did not have one on site (they hire one themselves). The front desk man did ring around other hotels (at my request) and eventually tracked one down, however this took time and it was a long time past my daughter's bed time by the time we got into the room. I understand that this was a problem with the booking system, rather than the apartments, but i would recommend phoning ahead to confirm any special requirements before turning up.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nimsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2009

Have just come back from 3 nights at the Oaks Smartstay on Hobson with husband and 2 kids (aged 6 and 9). Stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment with balcony. Modern decor, clean, kitchen with basics (fridge, dish washer, stove top etc), tv and dvd player, washer/drier. Perfect for our short stay with kids. I found receptionists to be friendly and efficient but I didn't need to ask any advice so can't comment on that. Location is fabulous if you wish to be downtown. Free city circuit bus stop one (two?) blocks away. Paid extra $20 night for parking which was worth it to not have that hassle and to be able to come and go easily.
Highly recommend it. Would stay again gladly. Perfectly suited to our needs.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ameriwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews