We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for several Nights”
Review of VR Auckland City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
VR Auckland City
Ranked #33 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
287 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Excellent for several Nights”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

This hotel is convenient, comfortable,and extremely affordable hotel with extras such as discounted taxi fare to airport and breakfast supplied in refrigerator the night before. Simple and highly functional

Room Tip: upper floor facing harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethesdashrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    423
    273
    88
    92
See reviews for
322
427
71
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
202 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We had stayed here 3 1/2 years ago and had a big two bedroom room with a breakfast of toast & jam, cereal, milk and a large carton of good orange juice at a reasonable price. So this trip we figured we would stay there again. Our flight came in very early, so they stored our luggage and told us to come back about 1:00 p.m. to get one of their first rooms cleaned. We got a room near the lobby on the first floor. There was a lip on the floor entrance to the bathroom that I tripped over it. (We were coming through again and complained about the lip and got another room on an upper floor). We only got one bed this time for the price we paid 3 years ago. That was okay. The bed was comfortable. The shower fine. But we were very disappointed in the breakfast. We received a boxed piece of fruit cake, a granola bar, a banana, yogurt and small juice containers of sugary sweet orange drink. Thankfully, there is a kitchen, so we bought some milk and cereal. We have one more night booked and paid for but we won't be staying there anymore in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We were greeted by friendly and courteous staff who were very helpful with all our questions. The hotel is located close to Sky Tower and has nice restaurants not too far away. The room was very cramped. We had to put one suitcase on the writing desk because there was no spare space anywhere. The small kitchen was well equipped. Fittings were tired and none too clean, but the linen was good and the bed comfy. Although many other reviewers have commented on the City Mission nearby, we found no problem at all with this.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

Positive:
Stayed here for 1 night on a 1BR apartment. Comfy beds, very central locaton. Good showers with ample pressure, well equipped with a functional kitchen and enuf glasses to entertain a few frnds.

Negatives:
It ran out of hot water in the morning!!! Just after 1 short shower by my wife. Had ample in the night before, but morning is when u need it most!Not really acceptable.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pramodhk30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmacolm, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2014

My wife and I spent two nights in City Oaks on first arrival in NZ from the UK. We thought it was fine for our purpose, room was clean, staff helpful, bed very comfortable, we can't really find anything to fault. I don't think I would stay there more than two or three nights, but it is ideal for a first call into Auckland if you need to lay up to recover from long-haul fllghts and don't want to spend a great deal. It's walking distance down to the city centre or the marina and harbour area. Good value, I will give it four out of five.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2014

It was terrific to have a decent-sized fridge, and a washer and dryer, and the set up was very nice. However the cookware consisted of a small frying pan and 2 tiny saucepans (only 1 lid for 2 saucepans), with no mixing bowls and nothing for microwave cooking. There are only 2 each of plates and cutlery, so unless you use the dishwasher every meal you will run out, and obviously no guests for meals.

We were there mid week and the noise from drunks spouting nonsense, abuse and obscenties all night long in the street below, right up till dawn when this was replaced by roaring traffice noise, prevented any chance of even one night's sleep. I hate to think what it would be like on a Friday or Saturday. I'm writing this with one night to go and am dreading it. It's a nightmare and a low end to our holiday.

There is no air-conditioning, so on a hot night you need the windows open and will get the noise below full throttle.

I imagine it's much the same for every hotel in the city and would never stay in central Aukland again, unless the place had air conditioning and was sound-proofed from the street noise.

Room Tip: Wait until they get air conditioning and sound proofing, and if you want to cook for yourself, be pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We actually enjoyed our stay at Auckland City Oaks.
Nothing fancy about the room but our room ( 2 beds apartment) was clean and well furnished.
Really good location.
Car park is limited so make sure you book in advance.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilly87_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
0.4 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
0.3 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#19 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 67 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
0.8 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VR Auckland City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VR Auckland City

Property: VR Auckland City
Address: 188 Hobson Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — VR Auckland City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your VR Auckland City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland City Oaks Hotel Auckland Central
Oaks On Hobson
VR Auckland City New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing