We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It could be better!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of VR Auckland City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
VR Auckland City
Ranked #34 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“It could be better!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

It is a good location of the city. But the hotel itself need to improve in some aspects such as: safety and training better the employes in order to provide better services. The breakfest offered is not good it could be better once the hotel offer this kind of service. In other points the hotel is good as the location and the devices provides inside the room all work very well. Ohher point to improve is the confort on the Tv room it is not confortable.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dupetrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    418
    270
    85
    89
See reviews for
314
424
70
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chifley
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights - a great apartment with everything we needed. Glad we took the shuttle from the Airport . I couldn't get over how quiet it was ( we were on the back of the building with nice views over the city). The staff really seemed to enjoy working there - makes all the differance.
And it's close to the CBD - but that end of Hobson street is not too great. But did not feel threatened at all.

Room Tip: Up as high as possible - on the back of the building if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnS1935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

WE STAYED AT THE AUCKLAND CITY OAKS APARTMENTS AND WERE REALLY SURPRISED AT THE FACILITIES AT THE APARTMENTS. THE location is good, close to the shopping and eating joints. The staff were really helpful. I won't mind recomending others to stay at this place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdaiSarin, Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are very glad to hear that you had a very positive experience! We pride ourselves on our friendly and efficient staff, so it is wonderful to hear that they assisted in making your stay even more enjoyable.

Please stay in touch with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

I booked the City Oaks because it had some very favourable reviews, is centrally located in Auckland and was on offer. We had booked and pre-paid for the room plus breakfast using Expedia. We walked from the station to the hotel each towing our 20kg bags - this is not advisable as the hotel is set half way up a steep hill. At Reception we were asked for photographic ID for incidentals - having pre-paid for the room and breakfast we explained there would not be any 'extras' but the receptionist insisted this was hotel policy. N.B. There is no 'mini-bar', nor restaurant on-site where 'extras' might be incurred. We reluctantly allowed a photocopy of my passport details page and requested it was returned when we checked out. The bath towels provided were very thin and grey and had several grubby marks on them. We tried to ring Housekeeping and Reception but there was no answer. The Receptionist did replace these when presented with them at the front desk. The facilities in the room were good, there was a washing machine and dishwasher, soap provided and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was several snacks already in the room on arrival and not to be recommended.

Room Tip: If you do decide to stay then I suggest a room as high as possible to see the view of Auckland City
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SMB2821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdaiSarin, Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I am disappointed to read that you had trouble upon check in with your photo ID. However, It is very clear on our website and all other 3rd party websites that a credit card and a valid photo ID is a requirement upon check in at our property. Please note that this is an industry standard and not property specific. I do apologize for the inconvenience.
We are glad that you enjoyed the facilities in the room.

Take care and I hope next time upon staying with us it is an easier experience.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Title say's it all really - For the location and cost you can't really beat it. I split my stays between this site and two other in central Auckland
I have had one or two bad experiences in the apartments and once this has been advised to the staff it is rectified immediately.
Smell in the apartments can be an issue dependent on what been cooked by previous occupants. I prefer to get the street side apartments as they have a better view than looking at the police station
Rooms - consistent no mater were you stay
Cooking facilities - excellent no need to go to pricey restaurants but there is a very good Chinese down the street
Bathroom - Showers are hot and have okay pressure
Parking - this can be a pain when you have to pick up your keys from the counter however this is a minor complaint
Staff - very friendly and helpful - (Pretty sure they think I am a grump)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kerrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdaiSarin, Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are very glad to hear that you had a very positive experience! We pride ourselves on our friendly and efficient staff, so it is wonderful to hear that they assisted in making your stay even more enjoyable.

Please stay in touch with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

I paid over $300 a night + parking and it was certainly not worth it, first of all there was a foul odor in and around the ground floor, there were lots of marks on the walls and the bathroom showed signs of poor cleaning also when we moved the furnature we found food lying on the floor, one night we complained several times to reception about a loud drunk on the balcony above and nothing was done we were kept awake till 4am. When a shopping bag of our grocerys was taken by the cleaners we informed reception and the manager but nothing was done and they seemed disinterested. Dont be fooled !

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidayreviewers99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdaiSarin, Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback and please accept my sincere apologies that your experience was less that top notch. Any feedback we receive helps to make us better. I would love to have you come back and give us another chance to prove that this is not usual for our hotel. Do not hesitate to contact me directly at aco.fom@vrhotels.co.nz if you might reconsider staying with us again in the future so I can ensure you a more comfortable stay.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luanda, Angola
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Good location in the heart of the city, easy walk to Queen Street and the waterfront.

Rooms are fine, clean and with all the amenities of a small apartment. Slightly tired looking but otherwise good value.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HSR14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
0.4 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
0.3 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#21 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 66 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.9 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VR Auckland City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VR Auckland City

Property: VR Auckland City
Address: 188 Hobson Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — VR Auckland City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your VR Auckland City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland City Oaks Hotel Auckland Central
Oaks On Hobson
VR Auckland City New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing