We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well appointed appartment”
Review of VR Auckland City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
VR Auckland City
Ranked #41 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed at the City Oaks on our last 2 nights in New Zealand. We were pleasantly surprised with the quality of the accommodation including 2 bedrooms, a bathroom and a kitchenette all of a good standard plus free WiFi, which was unusual during our month's stay. Downsides were the view of the Police station car park from our windows and the poor breakfast but that really didn't matter as we weren't expecting anything! Others have commented on the location but for us it was absolutely fine - within easy walking distance to the Skytower (7-8 minutes), shopping centre 10-12 minutes) and the port (20 minutes).

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davethewasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdaiSarin, Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We are so glad to see that you embraced what we offer here at our property. Great rooms, Great price, Great location – there are no properties in Auckland that can match what we offer with complimentary breakfast and Wi-Fi.

Take care and I hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

644 - 650 of 1,183 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2013

We had a 2 bedroom on the 5th floor facing the street the view was ok with no outdoor furniture on the balcony, the room had marks on the walls, furniture was old & marked and a few small holes in the wall didn't help with the high price tag we paid for this room!
The hotel is just up from a mission and people were lying in the street and just made the whole experience a little uncomfortable and felt we were a little ripped off.
We would not recommend this place unless they reevaluate their prices or start a little refurbishment?

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank macka28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdaiSarin, Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments about the standard of maintenance. This is of a major concern to me. You can see by our other reviews that we take great pride in our property standards – we invest a lot of time and money to ensure our building remains spick and span. I have addressed your concerns with our Maintenance Manager and will follow up personally to understand what we can do better as a property.
As you have rightly mentioned, Auckland City Mission is a government organisation that is located 500 meters away from us close to Auckland Sky Tower - we have no control on where the City Mission is located and instead encourage the Mission that is in place by the government by donating items weekly instead of shying away from the organization in which we have no control over. We do not see the Mission as a problem as it is over 10 minutes walk away from us and we have no instances thus far during the properties life.

Take care and I hope next time upon staying with us it is an easier experience.

Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

2 bedroom apartment was neat clean and well maintained. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. I'm a walker so the hills and the walk down to the harbour didn't worry me. Only took 12 to 15 mins. Even other family members who are not walkers coped really well.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deb367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdaiSarin, Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

It is great to hear that you had a first class stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We hope you will come back and visit us soon!

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We had a 2 bedroom apartment on the ground floor. The view was the brick wall of the police station. The towels and face cloths were stained and thin. The breakfast was disappointing, delivered the night before in a basket, not one bit interesting. Who wants a chocolate chip muffin for breakfast. We were hesitant to go out after dark in this street, apparently the homeless mission is just nearby, so that accounts for the people sitting on the footpath. We had a 14 year old with us so didn't risk it. My advice, check which floor the view apartments are on, otherwise forget it, you still pay the same price for what we got. Would not recommend this hotel. Find one near the waterfront, where there are nice restaurants around you, and get a better impression of Auckland than we took away.

Room Tip: Don't accept anything other than a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Priscilla2589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Spent two nights after arriving in Auckland onboard a cruise ship. Convenient location, with an easy walk to the harbor. The neighborhood might not be the best at night. We had a very nice two bedroom apartment, however it was on the first floor and we would have preferred one on a higher floor with a view/balcony. A well equipped kitchen and nice comfortable beds. The complimentary breakfast is minimal, delivered to your room the night before (muffin, banana, juice, yogurt). A good value, however the furniture needs replacing.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolMCleveland_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdaiSarin, Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

It is great to hear that you had a great stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We hope you will come back and visit us soon!

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Easy to find from airport, make sure you reserve underground parking.
Short walk to harbour area.
Upgraded to two bed apartment, well equipped inc wash machine, cooker etc
$75 per night , good value and you get adequate continental blast delivered night before.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Getaway247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

The advantage of Auckland City Oaks over other hotels in Auckland, is the fact that it's a well furnished apartment. We stayed in the two-bedroom apartment that had a microwave, dishwasher, stove-tops, ironing board, pots and pans, and an array of cutlery, so it's really easy to prepare your own meals. There is also an asian grocery store nearby, and a (well placed) police station is just round the corner. You also get a breakfast of yogurt, banana and a muesli bar - not the best breakfast, but adequate. So it's really a home-away-from-home type of apartment.

For the price, we could've stayed at the Rendevouz close by, or the Crowne Plaza, but they don't offer the same amenities as the Auckland City Oaks. So if you are travelling with 3 or more people and prefer to eat in, then Auckland City Oaks will do just fine.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for any special request before you arrive. The hotel doesn't have too much fle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eugoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdaiSarin, Front Office Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed the apartment and all that it offers as compared to a traditional hotel that offer smaller rooms at higher prices. We do apologize if we could not meet your last minute request due to our high occupancy, however our staff always go out of their way to ensure that our guests will be look after. Please stay in touch with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#23 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,023 reviews
0.1 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
#25 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,017 reviews
0.3 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#24 of 66 in Auckland Central
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
#22 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,741 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Au...
#32 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,273 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Best Western President Hotel Auc...
#30 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VR Auckland City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VR Auckland City

Address: 188 Hobson Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $94 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — VR Auckland City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your VR Auckland City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland City Oaks Hotel Auckland Central
Oaks On Hobson
VR Auckland City New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing