We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could not believe the reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quest Newmarket Serviced Apartments
Ranked #11 of 113 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Could not believe the reviews”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

This has to be one of the noisiest hotels I've stayed in. The other reviews said how quite it was but the trian and sourounding noise is unbelivable.

The hotel is ok but over priced for what you pay. Service was not great but to be fair was tired and grumpy.

Don't stay here if you want to sleep,,

Room Tip: Very noisey and far to exspensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daviscres, Owner at Quest Newmarket Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Ed S. Thank you for your feedback. Sorry you arrived feeling grumpy. I guess one's ability to sleep in a new environment has a lot to do with how light we sleep and how quiet it is at home.

The hush glass when the windows are tightly shut is very effective. The fact that our windows open can lead guests to ignore the recommendation to close them tight when one goes to bed and rely on the air con.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    57
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
33
37
10
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Whilst the Quest in Newmarket is well looked after and the rooms are very comfortable and spacious, with a full bath in the bathroom, all of this is totally destroyed by the horrendous noise levels around the hotel.

One side of the hotel is around 10 metres away from the railway line to West Auckland, Trains rattle by here from 5am to midnight. At peak times there are two every 10-15 minutes. Unfortunately Auckland still uses extremely loud diesel engines on commuter trains

The other side of the hotel is no better, opening onto central Newmarket, with various bars and pubs that play music until 2.00am. Local traffic also starts around 5.30am, and unfortunately during my stay, nearby roadworks started at 6.00am.

I was a bit puzzled on arrival to find ear plugs in the bathroom, but soon discovered why they were there.

Unbelievably you can pay $210 a night plus for all of this. Even sleeping with the air con on all night to try and get some fresh air didn't make the experience beareable.

Although this was a business trip, I have to say that I would never stay here ever again. It is by far the worst hotel experience I have had to date.

Room Tip: Find another hotel, away from the noise...........
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daviscres, Owner at Quest Newmarket Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, February 19, 2012
aginnz. I am sorry you found the city noise so loud you couldn't sleep. Newmarket is close to the CBD and well served by restaurants and cafes, as well as public transport.
When the windows are tight shut, as we recommend on the notices posted, the hush glass works miracles!
Fortunately a lot of your fellow travellers listed here found the secret.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

We stayed two nights last week in a studio apartment. This was a good size and very clean and well maintained also very quiet. It is always nice to have a washing machine and dryer and the kitchen had everything you needed. The location was great and easy parking. I would definately recommend these.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharee0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daviscres, Manager at Quest Newmarket Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, February 19, 2012
Sheree0123, Thank you for your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Ditto for all the positive comments made here. No negatives at all.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolynWellingtonNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daviscres, Owner at Quest Newmarket Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, February 19, 2012
Thank you NZ09. We would like to host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

The apartment was clean and modern. It is located very close to Broadway (main street of Newmarket). Parking was very easy (within the building). Easy walking distance to Parnell. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZ09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
Level Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We stayed in a studio apartment here last weekend. As we had read in previous reviews to ask for a room away from the railway line, and away from the lift lobbies, we made these requests when booking. I am pleased to report that the Quest Newmarket honoured these requests and we were very happy! We were not woken by noise at all that night (and it was Guy Fawkes!) so the hush glass worked a treat. We found the room to be very clean, modern, and perfectly located. We paid $15 for an overnight secure carpark which was great. They even let us leave the car in their carpark (at no extra charge) until 2pm the following day, as we wanted to continue shopping in Newmarket.

Room Tip: Request a room away from railway line, and away from lift lobbies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCJ66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daviscres, Owner at Quest Newmarket Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, November 13, 2011
MCJ66. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to hosting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Never stayed at a Quest Apartment property before but glad we did. Location is convenient and the property is well maintained. The convenience kitchen is great to have.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daviscres, Owner at Quest Newmarket Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Ken J
I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope its not a one of!
David Compton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.5 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,233 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
1.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
1.5 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Newmarket Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Newmarket Serviced Apartments

Property: Quest Newmarket Serviced Apartments
Address: 31-39 Davis Crescent | Newmarket, Auckland 1023, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 113 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quest Newmarket Serviced Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our location and serviced apartments offer guests to Auckland City a refreshing alternative to traditional hotel or motel accommodation.Our apartment accommodation is rated 4 star plus by Qualmark and offers a selection of serviced apartment sizes; studios, 1 bedroom, 2 bedroom and 3 bedroom apartments. All of which are tastefully decorated and spacious, making them ideal for a range of uses by guests. From business accommodation, whether travelling alone or with a co-worker; leisure accommodation for couples, families or groups of friends; through to long term accommodation for relocations or home insurance jobs; we have an apartment that will provide you the comfort, privacy and security of a home away from home.Each apartment offers great amenities including its own well equipped kitchen and laundry. The one, two and three bedroom apartments offer separate sleeping and living areas for ultimate comfort and privacy. Perfect for travelling with a family, friends, or with co-workers.Our handy location is in a quiet street located just off Broadway in the heart of Newmarket, Auckland. Newmarket has been voted Auckland's Best Shopping Area for the past 5 years and is the heart of NZ fashion. Featuring over 500 shops covering a large range of goods and styles, along with cafes, restaurants serving meals of many nationalities, bars, cinemas, health and recreational facilities, and the Newmarket business area on its doorstep, Quest Newmarket is an ideal choice for your next business or leisure stay.Newmarket is only minutes away from Auckland's Central Business District, Viaduct Basin or the many pleasures of Auckland Harbour. It is also the centre of the major hospitals and medical specialist precinct including Auckland City, Mercy, Brightside Hospitals and Starship Children's Hospital. Vector Arena, Eden Park, The Edge, The Civic, ASB Showgrounds and Ellerslie Race Course are all within a 10 minute radius of Quest Newmarket.Whether you are looking for accommodation near Vector Arena, Auckland Business Accommodation, Holiday Accommodation, Relocation Accommodation or Temporary Accommodation you will find everything you need at Quest Newmarket with the ideal location, a great selection of modern and spacious apartments and great service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quest Newmarket Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Newmarket Serviced Apartments Hotel Auckland Central
Quest Newmarket Apartments Auckland
Quest Newmarket Serviced Apartments Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing