We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartments
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Hilton Auckland(Auckland Central)
$274
$267
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
SKYCITY Hotel(Auckland Central)
$153
$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$113
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
SKYCITY Grand Hotel(Auckland Central)
$219
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$141
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
$247
$228
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
$154
$102
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Fitness center
  • Free Internet
VR Auckland City(Auckland Central)
$123
$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kiwi International Hotel(Auckland Central)
$55
$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Stamford Plaza Auckland(Auckland Central)
$188
$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (409)
Filter reviews
409 results
Traveler rating
130
122
66
43
48
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
130
122
66
43
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstudio apartmentwashing machinequeen streetgreat locationnice studioweekly ratefull kitchensmall balconycentral locationvector arenashort stayalbert parkbed was comfortablegood sizecar parkingfew minutes walkstayed nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
365 - 370 of 409 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2009

Stayed at the Waldorf for 3 days in december. Its located in a pretty good location, within walkind distance to the city center. Rooms are a little basic though, and service is a little slow.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
36  Thank AniD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2009

We booked 2 nights at these apartments but only stayed the first night. We could draw a line in the dust on the tv table; there were bits of leftover food in the dishwasher and greasy fingerprints on the kitchen cupboard doors - all of which could be overlooked had the air con worked properly. The room was very warm so we turned on the aircon when sleeping but every 2 hours it switched off of its own accord. When we complained in the morning to the caretaker she said "I forgot to tell you, because it is on an economical setting you have to get up every 2 hours to turn it back on". When asked if it was possible to override this to stop it happening, she said it wasn't. As we had a 19 hour flight the following day, we checked out and booked into a proper hotel. It is certainly inexpensive but in this case you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Globetraveller21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2009

I used Tripadvisor to find the Waldorf Bankside Apartments. They are right in the city center and for the location and the price you cannot beat this accommodation. You are expected to clean up after yourself and empty the trash like you would in a regular apartment but I did not have a problem with this. Since these are actual apartments, you will be disappointed if you expect hotel services. However, I knew exactly what to expect so the overall experience went well.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
39  Thank dnumgis02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2009

Stayed at the Waldorf on Bankside for four nights nights as a stopover from Australia to North America. The price was quite cheap, and well spent.

I had requested a studio room, because other travellers here had noted that the room was the same size whether you got a studio or a one-bedroom, just that a one bed had a buffer up that blocks the light. On my arrival I was given a one-bedroom, and that certainly was the case. Still I wasn't there enough for it to be a worry. Also, if you stay there, request a high level room. Mine was on the 6th floor with a wonderful view of the parking garage across the way. Boring. Higher level ones would have given a much better view of the city.

The room was basic, but clean and it had a full kitchen, including a dishwasher and washing machine. Very convenient!

It is located just up a very steep hill from Queen Street. Here is a trick: if you are coming back up during the day, instead of coming up the hill, walk a block over to Fort street then down Fort to the Lumley Plaza parking garage. Take elevator to 9th floor, then walk out to Shortland street. Bankside is just across the street and you are a few steps to home! Keep in mind this only works during office hours.

The management is very helpful, and obviously care deeply about the property. I did find the gentleman a bit more brusque than the lady, but both were quite helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
42  Thank DragonKaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Waldorf on Bankside for two nights as a stopover from Australia to the USA. We got accommodation for $100 a night on wotif and it was well worth the money. It is basic, but very clean and has everything you need (dishwasher, washing machine, oven, microwave etc)
The managers of the apartments go out of their way to help you and give you directions to wherever you might want to go.
It is just up the hill from Queen street (a steep hill) so very close to everything you need.
A MUST for dinner is the mussels at the Occidental in Vulcan Lane. I have never seen mussels that size in my life.
We also took the airbus from the airport which was only $22 return each, which is much cheaper than a taxi and was very efficient.
All in all, a very good, cheap and conveniently located apartment.
We will not hesitate return.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
42  Thank EileenGoldCoastQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews