We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, basic but well worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartments
Ranked #54 of 108 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Clean, basic but well worth the money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Waldorf on Bankside for two nights as a stopover from Australia to the USA. We got accommodation for $100 a night on wotif and it was well worth the money. It is basic, but very clean and has everything you need (dishwasher, washing machine, oven, microwave etc)
The managers of the apartments go out of their way to help you and give you directions to wherever you might want to go.
It is just up the hill from Queen street (a steep hill) so very close to everything you need.
A MUST for dinner is the mussels at the Occidental in Vulcan Lane. I have never seen mussels that size in my life.
We also took the airbus from the airport which was only $22 return each, which is much cheaper than a taxi and was very efficient.
All in all, a very good, cheap and conveniently located apartment.
We will not hesitate return.

  • Liked — clean, affordable
  • Disliked — the hill leading uo to it
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
42 Thank EileenGoldCoastQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    115
    58
    31
    36
See reviews for
24
165
56
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2008

I stayed at this hotel for three weeks and it was completely trouble-free. Room was clean, well equipped, and amenities were as promised/advertised. Kit and Jeanette (the building managers) were very helpful, available, and kept the building in spotless order. You can pay a lot more for a lot less in Auckland - give the Waldorf Bankside a try, you won't be disappointed.

  • Liked — Simple, easy, clean, neat, and accessible, competent management
  • Disliked — It wasn't free!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
39 Thank WrldTrvlr007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
203 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2008

We stayed 2 nights at the Waldorf and were very happy with our stay.

After reading many reviews for hotels from backpackers to 5 star resorts with terrible reviews, we were relieved to read the consistent good reviews for the Waldorf.

It has a very convenient location , 5 mins up a fairly steep hill from Queen street in central Auckland.

The building has no reception, you phone through the security system and get buzzed in. We quickly received our keys and made it to our room.

The room was clean, functional and spacious. There was a double bed, work desk, kitchen with washing machine and cooking facilities, living area with tv and sofa. Dining table.

The bathroom was spotless with a great power shower.

At 90 dollars a night on Wotif, you cannot fault these apartments and we would definutley stay here again.

The photos on the website and from fellow travellers are spot on, you get exactly what you see, clean, functional, does the job

Why pay more?

  • Liked — price, location
  • Disliked — slightly steep hill
  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
41 Thank antibes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2008

We stayed for 6 nights at the Waldorf Bankside apartments after reading some very good reviews on tripadvisor. We paid around £40 per night using their website. If you want good quality accommodation with cooking facilities and at a great price, this place ticks all the boxes. The apartment was clean, very airy and really well equipped. We took the studio apartment rather than the 1 bedroom apartment after seeing both. The only difference between the two is that the '1 bedroom' has a 6 ft high partition in the middle of the apartment to artificially create a separate area for a bedroom. However, the partition blocks a lot of light and makes the a 1 bed apartment much darker than the studio.

The team that manages the apartments was excellent - being both really helpful and very efficient. They really made us feel at home.

There are about 100 apartments in the building of which around 20 are available for a short stay. The rest are longer term lets. The apartments on the corners of the building are much more airy as they have side windows. Would definitely ask for one of the higher floors for the best views. The apartments are located very close to Queen St and a 10 min walk to the sky tower.

  • Liked — Price, cooking facilities, great views, staff
  • Disliked — Uncomfortable sofa
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
44 Thank Londoner100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2008

I stayed in Bankside Apartments in May 2008. These apartments are excellently located in the CBD, just a few moments from Queen Street and even closer to Vulcan Lane for breakfast!

The apartments are very clean, well maintained and well stocked with items which you may (or may not) require, such as a full array of cooking utensils, fridge, a washing machine and powder, and a hairdryer.

If you're looking for a competitively priced, well-located, clean and functional place to stay while you're busy seeing the sights around Auckland, I'd highly recommend Bankside Apartments.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — N/a
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
43 Thank 8arry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auvckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2008

Good location- within easy walking distance to most of Auckland attractions.
The apartments are modern & fully furnished & equipped with good high speed internet service. Car parking was acros the road (100 meter only).
The apartment was spotless and serviced once a week inclusive of linen change. The caretaker was helpfull and polite almost 24 hours a day.
We stayed 16 days and will recomend it !!!

  • Liked — Location, spotless & view
  • Disliked — weekly service only
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
45 Thank Gershy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2008

Stayed here 2 nights at the start of a Grand 2-month Tour. Although our apartment was basic and not a lot of storage space, it was spotlessly clean - at the price it was excellent value. As the airline had managed to lose our suitcases at Los Angeles airport, storage wasn't a problem but I wouldn't like to have stayed here for any length of time. Location brilliant - short walk to everything in Auckland. Car park across the road. Would stay here again though as it was great value.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — cramped
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
44 Thank WorldTraveller2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
0.6 mi away
Waldorf Tetra Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel
0.6 mi away
Quest Auckland Serviced Apartments
0.8 mi away
Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartments

Property: Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartments
Address: Waldorf 8 Bankside Street | PO Box 3791, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 108 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Bankside are affordable serviced apartments located in central Auckland City. A short walk to High Street and Chancery shopping quarters, as well as Queen Street and recently upgraded Fort Street areas. With apartments on 18 levels, spectacular city and harbour views can be enjoyed from Deluxe rooms situated on top floors. All of Auckland CDB's main attractions are easily accessible from Waldorf Bankside's central city location. Fully self-contained, Waldorf Banksides in room kitchenettes allow residents to cook for themselves as cutlery and cooking equipment provided in room. Residents can purchase groceries from a major Supermarket 10 minutes walk away or enjoy some of the great fine or casual dining options available throughout Auckland City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bankside Waldorf Serviced Apartments Hotel Auckland Central
Bankside Waldorf Serviced Apartments Auckland
Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartments Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing