We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for short term, Bad for long term”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartments
Reviewed April 9, 2014

I stayed here for 2 weeks. According to the building manager, the room will be cleaned up once a week, but no one came to clean up my room.

The worst thing ... the washing machine was broken since day 1.
I asked the building manager to repair it ASAP, cos I am gonna need to wash my laundry. He said yes he will contact the technician. After 2 days, no update from him. I texted him and the reply was the technician was busy, wait for a couple of days.
I ended up staying in that apartment for 2 weeks without washing machine.
I was allowed to use the washing machine in the housekeeping room. But it was not convenient cos I needed to arrange an appointment, went down to wash.
When I was checking out, there was a guy came to the building manager complaining about his washing machine. Apparently his washing machine didn't work as well.

Overall, the only good thing was the location.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keylogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banksideauckland, Manager at Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback, it is most appreciated. I would like to apologise for the inconvenience of the washer/dryer not working also not getting it working within a timeframe as there is more to it than it seems. We do not have a time limit for the use of the laundry room on level 2. We do ask that we are informed when guests would like to use the laundry room so that we can leave the door open when they are ready to use the facility. As we do have linen in the room it is more for security to know when.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (386)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 386 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2014

Very affordable quality accommodation based on weekly rate in a great Auckland central location.We stay for 4 weeks in a modern apartment with good kitchen.laundry and nice veranda.Very secured Auckland accommodation

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xxxxchris7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banksideauckland, Manager at Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback. It is great to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

The apartments are certainly compact but are well designed, clean and have everything for a stay of a few days to weeks. Ours had cable TV, a clothes washing machine and dryer, everything to self-cater plus harbor views from the 14th floor. Great value!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave_of_Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banksideauckland, Manager at Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Dear Dave

Thank you for your review. It is always a pleasure when our guests enjoy their stay with us and look forward to any return visits to Auckland.


Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

On the high floors you will have a great view of CBD and the harbour. Very helpful staff in the reception, good size rooms with all appliances you need, including a big flat screen
Television, dishwasher, washing machine, etc. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikael555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banksideauckland, Manager at Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Dear Mikael

Thank you for your comment. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Auckland New Zealand.


Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

very good location in a central Auckland location.Lovely spacious,clean fully equipped studio apartment with veranda and nice views over the city of Auckland. Plesant management and very very good weekly rate for this quality of accommodation.We enjoyed our 4 week stay and find it exception value for our $

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nogga0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banksideauckland, Manager at Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback. It is always a pleasure when we hear that our guests enjoy their stay with us.
We look forward to any return visit in the near future.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

I had booked into this accommodation for a three night's day whilst staying in Auckland for work. I was disappointed with my first room offered on the fourth floor a one bedroom unit 4B.. Despite the website stating all rooms are offered air conditioning this little room didn't. Taking all in this room was definitely needed refreshment. On the positive front if one had a lot of washing to do room for being certainly it has a super-sized washer dryer by Samsung which would cover most eventualities. Nevertheless I needed a room with air conditioning and so asked if I could be moved to a room with a air conditioning unit. This was offered immediately and with good grace and I made the shift the following day to 12 A. Although this room has the configuration of open plan in actual fact the layout worked significantly better and there was a far more recent refurbishment of the room with better carpet , cleaner walls, nice curtain material. Obviously the higher up you go you are afforded more interesting views but essentially what I wanted was a room with cool air and with less dowdy furniture and carpets was a bonus. Another bonus was what felt like a new bed which was extremely comfortable. For me as a likely return visitor to this accommodation I will always now ask for room 12 A or similar or better. Great location very close to Queen Street and even closer a substantial sized dairy/Pharmacy which you can access from the Wilson car park which is directly across the road.

Room Tip: Check if your room as an AC unit installed, and ask when the room was refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Timothy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banksideauckland, Manager at Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the staff sorted any issues out promptly and efficiently.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Waldorf Bankside.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Despite some of the previous reviews we found this accommodation extremely good value for money. Admittedly it was not 4* but neither was the cost. The lay out is rather strange and the entrance bazaar but the rooms are well appointed with our studio apartment boasting a washer/drier and dishwasher. We also had a lovely view towards the sea. Within a two minute walk there is a car park, car hire company, barbers shop, and numerous restaurants. The harbour where you can get various ferries to nearby islands etc is only a 20minute walk away and the main shopping area is even closer.

Room Tip: Always request a room on a higher floor with a sea view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevesyred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banksideauckland, Manager at Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. It is a real pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at Waldorf Bankside and look forward to welcoming you back when you are visiting again.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
#32 of 66 in Auckland Central
224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
#20 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,681 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#35 of 66 in Auckland Central
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#51 of 66 in Auckland Central
343 reviews
0.6 mi away
Waldorf Tetra Serviced Apartments
Waldorf Tetra Serviced Apartment...
#25 of 131 in Auckland Central
583 reviews
0.1 mi away
Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel
Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hote...
#8 of 131 in Auckland Central
1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartments

Address: Waldorf 8 Bankside Street | PO Box 3791, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 131 Specialty Lodging in Auckland Central
Price Range: $71 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Bankside are affordable serviced apartments located in central Auckland City. A short walk to High Street and Chancery shopping quarters, as well as Queen Street and recently upgraded Fort Street areas. With apartments on 18 levels, spectacular city and harbour views can be enjoyed from Deluxe rooms situated on top floors. All of Auckland CDB's main attractions are easily accessible from Waldorf Bankside's central city location. Fully self-contained, Waldorf Banksides in room kitchenettes allow residents to cook for themselves as cutlery and cooking equipment provided in room. Residents can purchase groceries from a major Supermarket 10 minutes walk away or enjoy some of the great fine or casual dining options available throughout Auckland City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bankside Waldorf Serviced Apartments Hotel Auckland Central
Bankside Waldorf Serviced Apartments Auckland
Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartments Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing