We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartments
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed at the Bankside for almost two weeks in November. It was a great location, just a couple of blocks to Queen Street, the Britomart and the waterfront. The University was just up the hill and there were two grocery stores within easy walking distance. Not being on Queen Street meant we were out of the busy vehicle and pedestrian traffic. Our room faced away from downtown so that also helped. We were just high enough that we could enjoy the morning sun, see the outer harbour and watch ships being unloaded at the container port.

Our room was fine for two people. Our only complaints would be minor; a loose floor tile in the "kitchen" area and a wobbly chair which the manager swapped for a better one. Also, the building next door left the office lights on all night. There is only a small window over the bed which has a blind which isn't tight to the frame so light came in all night long. It wasn't really bright, more like a night light, but annoying in the sense that they wasted so much energy every night. The room also has a very long blank wall. A picture or two would make it nicer. The bathroom was fine but a shelf over the toilet for personal stuff would help.

Overall, it turned out to be an excellent location, comfortable, quiet and had a decent view. The managers and staff were helpful and pleasant. We'd definitely recommend them for a short term stay.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better views. We liked our harbour view and not facing the busy downtown streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hydehaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banksideauckland, Manager at Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. It is always a pleasure to hear that the staff were friendly and helpful.
The tile in the kitchen area has since been remedied. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (387)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 387 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

The apartments are, at the top of a steep hill, but it's in a quiet part of the city and within walking distance of everything (the Harbour, downtown shops, queen street). Vulcan lane is only a block away and has heaps of awesome cafés and restaurants there. If you drive there is a pay and display park open 24/7 across the road. The apartment itself was clean. A little sign of age but nothing terrible, just some scuffs. There were some thoughtful touches such as make up wipes in the bathroom that I liked. Staff were friendly and were prompt at replying to emails and giving helpful suggestions. I would stay here again. Thanks.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
Thank AliArchAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banksideauckland, Manager at Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. It is a pleasure to see that you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of the sites, cafes and restaurant in the vicinity of Waldorf Bankside. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

These apartments are in a good location within walking distance of several of Auckland's attractions but are relatively quiet. They are all in all OK value and have all you need for a short stay, but the apartments are small. Our apartment showed definite signs of wear and tear and just seemed dirty, which was disappointing as the staff seemed very friendly and happy to rectify any issues. There were patches of something sticky on the carpet, blood spot on the venetian blinds (which were bent in several places) and the shower head leaked water over the rest of the bathroom. There was also a bad stale smoke smell in the hallway (floor 4).
Reading the other reviews I wonder if we got a 'dud' apartment. It was all we needed and all in all OK, but we wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fraserandkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banksideauckland, Manager at Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. It is unfortunate that the apartment had not been as clean as hoped. This has been addressed and followed up.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

After 6 nights touring in a camper van we booked The an apartment in Bankside apartments,Auckland 3 nights and a look around Auckland. We nearly walked past the reception but once we checked in at the small office on the first floor,we were very happy with out view from the 14 rd floor. We overlooked the water and found a supermarket which was open all night . The apartment was perfect for our needs.... A washing machine/drier for post touring laundry catchup, microwave and hot plates for a soup dinner when we couldn't be bothered going out, and a tele for a night in. Everything spotless. Coffee shop next door has a great coffee and bakery down the street did a good brekkie. Excellent value and quality of accommodation

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cordav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banksideauckland, Manager at Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, it is good to see that your stay here at Waldorf Bankside was enjoyable and you enjoyed the views. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

On our last trip we stayed in two locations and this was the second - certainly better than right in the heart of the Viaduct but the apartment was nothing like the picture! Everything was showing well worn signs of use and needs a major spruce up!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcbrideau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banksideauckland, Manager at Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments, I apologise that the apartment was assigned was not acceptable to yourself. We endeavour to give our guests a great experience

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Clean, central and large enough for two, we stayed in two different rooms at the start of our stay in NZ and then again before we flew out. If we could do it again we would go for the extra level up from the basic apartments as we had on our night before flying home. Slightly nicer furnishings, fresh paint and a better TV and satellite service made it much more relaxing. Leather couch and upmarket furnishings just made it feel more special. Service was great with late night key retrieval possible for late check in.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drazaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banksideauckland, Manager at Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback. It is a pleasure to read and we do look forward to your return visit.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed here for two nights and the best thing about it were the staff. Incredibly helpful manager who came up to the room immediately on two occasions to sort the wi-fi and the washing machine. Polite and un-posey, nothing was too much trouble. The next best thing was that the apartment was clean. Then there was the city and harbour view from the balcony. But other than that, I didn't care for the Waldorf Bankside apartments. Skinny, squished lounge with no feng shui and a really bad smell in the lifts and central stairwell. Parking in the area is difficult and expensive. I wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banksideauckland, Manager at Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Dianne

Thank you for your feedback it is much appreciated. I am glad that the staff and I were able to accommodate you with the wifi and washing machine. It is a value to see that our guests enjoy the service. It is unfortunate that there was a smell in the passage way and lift. I will look into this further to see how we can prevent lingering smell of our other residents cooking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
#20 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,692 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#19 of 66 in Auckland Central
724 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
#33 of 66 in Auckland Central
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Best Western President Hotel Auc...
#31 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,164 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#35 of 66 in Auckland Central
716 reviews
0.6 mi away
Waldorf Tetra Serviced Apartments
Waldorf Tetra Serviced Apartment...
#26 of 131 in Auckland Central
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartments

Address: Waldorf 8 Bankside Street | PO Box 3791, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 131 Specialty Lodging in Auckland Central
Price Range: $71 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Bankside are affordable serviced apartments located in central Auckland City. A short walk to High Street and Chancery shopping quarters, as well as Queen Street and recently upgraded Fort Street areas. With apartments on 18 levels, spectacular city and harbour views can be enjoyed from Deluxe rooms situated on top floors. All of Auckland CDB's main attractions are easily accessible from Waldorf Bankside's central city location. Fully self-contained, Waldorf Banksides in room kitchenettes allow residents to cook for themselves as cutlery and cooking equipment provided in room. Residents can purchase groceries from a major Supermarket 10 minutes walk away or enjoy some of the great fine or casual dining options available throughout Auckland City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bankside Waldorf Serviced Apartments Hotel Auckland Central
Bankside Waldorf Serviced Apartments Auckland
Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartments Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing