We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value and location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartments
Ranked #57 of 106 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent value and location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Super self-catering apartments towards the ferry terminal but a short walk from Queen Street. Great value for money and over-deliver at this price. Reasonably priced Internet if you need it, balcony and really helpful staff.

Room Tip: High floors seem to be less noisy and can give a good view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    113
    58
    29
    36
See reviews for
23
163
56
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

My partner and I are travelling around New Zealand and we booked 7 nights at the Waldorf Bankside apartments and we are so glad we did.
Initially we were put on the 5th floor, but we were quickly moved to the 18th floor as the washing machine wasn't working on the 5th floor.
When we complained about the washing machine there was no hesitation about moving us it was done quickly and with no hassle.
The 18th floor room was spacious, light and had amazing views of Auckland. The washer/dryer was a bit confusing to use, but managed to get it sussed in the end. The staff we helpful and friendly and the kitchen had all the pots, pans utensils you needed (except for a can opener)
The bed was extremely comfortable and we are a bit fussy usually :-)
All in all this was a great place to stay when you've had that long plane journey and we would def go back again

Room Tip: The higher floors are def better as less noise, more light coming in and great views of people jumpi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Waldorf Bankside is a great place for both a short and a longer stay. It's centrally located, only minutes away from Queen St, the University of Auckland, etc. As it's on the top of a hill, most rooms come with a great view over either Aukland CBD or the ocean. The hotel itself is very well-maintained with spotless rooms, secure entrance and a clean little lobby. The Waldorf Bankside manager is a lovely, kind and exteremly helpful guy and all the staff are exteremly nice people. I really appreciate their stict anti-party policy (i.e. no tolerance for excessive noise in the building) which ensures a great stay and a peaceful sleep.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnFowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed here just prior to the Rugby World Cup and just after Auckland’s first snowfall in 40 years in August 2011. As you can imagine it was cold and unfortunately the apartment was just that, freezing! There was just one small mobile heater for the whole apartment, which unfortunately didn’t really make too much of a difference. Just provided more reasons to go out and explore Auckland for the first time!

The apartment consisted of a double bed, with a kitchen and living area the other side of a partition. The ensuite bathroom had a decent shower and was well decorated. The living area had a small dining table (too small to be of much use if more than one person) and a futon like sofa which was rather uncomfortable as lacked any structure. That said I was pleasantly surprised by how well stocked the kitchen was, including washing machine and dishwasher and just how much apartment you got for your money, as well as the fantastic views of the area. Likewise the apartments are well situated in the centre of Auckland, close to Queen Street, Wynyard Quarter, Britomart and ferry terminals. For short term visitors there was also a gym that could be used nearby, although I never made it there.

There was a mixture of people staying in the apartments, with short-term lets to long-term student rentals. Thankfully the building was pretty quiet and although you could hear your neighbours, it was never too noisy.

Transport wasn’t an issue for me as there is so much public transport nearby but you did have to pay significantly more if you needed car parking facilities and the car park wasn’t onsite.

The guy who ran the apartments at the time was very pleasant and informative. He was incredibly helpful if there was ever a problem. Booking online was also very simple, but beware, they expect payment at the time of checking in and don’t have facilities for credit cards or international debit cards. This might have changed since my stay (hopefully), as I ended up getting out almost $900 in cash and carrying it back to the apartment.

Overall it was a good place to base myself for my first couple of weeks in New Zealand. The price was reasonable but I was out of season (therefore it was significantly cheaper) and came before the RWC price inflation. The heating is an issue in many places in NZ and not unique to Bankside Apartments. I would certainly stay here again if I ever needed a base in Auckland for a couple of weeks and the price was reasonable.

Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank CadburysFlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

/stayed in October for three nights. Walk up Shortland Street was rather steep especially when we were pulling our cases up as well, next time will catch a Shuttle on the way in and normal bus on way back to Airport. Loved our studio apartment, everything we needed and very clean. Had a slight problem morning of departure, decided to do a load of washing in the front loading washer/dryer, and switched machine off before clothes were dried as we had to check out shortly. Door would not open after a short time so called Reception, two guys arrived to help. Upshot was that as machine was registering hot door would not open but they went beyond the call of duty for us. We were leaving cases with them so they said they would come back when machine had cooled, dry our clothes in their dryers and have them ready when they came back which they did. Really impressed by this. Would have no hesitation staying here again so handy to Britomart, Wynyard Centre, ferries etc.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Handy location for Auckland Harbour, University and the railway / transport hub. Strange 'industrial' style of building with balconies around a central atrium. Noisy air systems in the public areas. Limited opening hours at reception. Room was not so clean with tired furnishings and fittings. A full kitchen but the cooker and oven were dirty and greasy - not cleaned at all for some time, I fear. Cheap for a city centre - but that's no excuse!

Room Tip: Even numbered floors seem to be further from air systems
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shipyardtales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Level Contributor
110 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at the Waldorf Bankside for a couple of nights while hunting for an apartment upon arrival in Auckland from abroad. We paid $87 a night for a studio apartment, for 2 people in the off-season.

Unfortunately, I was so focused on the business of 'moving in' to Auckland that I failed to take photographs of the room. Suffice to say, the room is as advertised. It is a fairly long narrow room. As you walk in the door, there is a bathroom to the side. It is large and modern, with a shower surround, sink, toilet. Then there is the bedroom area with easily accessible open closet, a queen bed, dresser, and night tables.

There is then a kitchen area with microwave, kettle, dishware, full fridge, oven, cooking hobs, and dishwasher. To the side is a small table with two chairs where you can take your meals.

In the kitchen, there is also a combined washer/dryer.

There is then a small living room area with love seat, coffee table, large flat-screen TV with SKY TV. The living room opens onto a balcony with two small chairs, a table, and - in our case - a nice view of the Sky Tower.

The room has a modern heating/cooling system. You can purchase time online for wireless access. And the room came with thoughtful starters: Coffee, tea, sugar, milk, dishsoap, dishwasher detergent, laundry powder, shampoo, soap.

The location is outstanding, right downtown and just a few minutes' walk to Queen Street.

The staff were very friendly, pleasant, and fair. The room was spotlessly clean, bright, modern, and well-appointed. The street doors are secured and have passkey access.

For the price, the Waldorf Bankside offers outstanding accommodations in a great location. Our only (very very minor) quibble is that there is a phone in the room with advertised free local phone access. But the service had been down for some number of months. We hadn't been made aware of this when we checked in and it took awhile for us to realize that our failure to connect wasn't because we were doing something wrong. Nevertheless, without our own cell phone service in place yet, the lack of a local phone service made apartment-hunting a bit more challenging. But this was off-set by the availability of Wi-Fi in the room.

Notwithstanding this minor quibble, I would HIGHLY recommend the Bankside Waldorf. It is a quiet, comfortable, modern, spacious, fully self-catering apartment in the heart of downtown Auckland, with an unbeatable price and excellent staff. I think that as a permanent living situation, the room might start to feel too small especially for more than one person. But it would make very comfortable accommodations for an extended stay of several weeks in Auckland.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IntentToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
0.8 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#31 of 68 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
0.6 mi away
Waldorf Tetra Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel
0.8 mi away
Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
Barclay Suites Auckland
Barclay Suites Auckland
#7 of 106 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartments

Property: Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartments
Address: Waldorf 8 Bankside Street | PO Box 3791, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 106 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Bankside are affordable serviced apartments located in central Auckland City. A short walk to High Street and Chancery shopping quarters, as well as Queen Street and recently upgraded Fort Street areas. With apartments on 18 levels, spectacular city and harbour views can be enjoyed from Deluxe rooms situated on top floors. All of Auckland CDB's main attractions are easily accessible from Waldorf Bankside's central city location. Fully self-contained, Waldorf Banksides in room kitchenettes allow residents to cook for themselves as cutlery and cooking equipment provided in room. Residents can purchase groceries from a major Supermarket 10 minutes walk away or enjoy some of the great fine or casual dining options available throughout Auckland City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bankside Waldorf Serviced Apartments Hotel Auckland Central
Bankside Waldorf Serviced Apartments Auckland
Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartments Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing