We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartments
Ranked #58 of 123 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Wellington
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This place is simple, but for the $$$ it's a great stay - and even has some views of the harbour! Location is great, very handy to waterfront and Queens Street, although it is at the top of a hill, so calves get a work out! Rooms have good facilities, clean and comfortable, quiet and secure - and staff friendly. Recommend for budget stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZGirl69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    117
    63
    33
    42
See reviews for
26
174
58
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Thank you for a great stay. We enjoyed our stay at Bankside apartments. The service was more than we expected. We just asked and we were sorted. The manager and his staff were great. The apartment was clean and nicely set out, everything we needed. We will be back and will be recommending to all our family, friends and colleagues.

Room Tip: Just ask for what you need. We did and were sorted right away instead of waiting hours/days or not a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevmarst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, QLD, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

This apartment block made me feels like I was in a student Accom when I first arrived but it was quiet, clean, reasonable location and very well priced. Reception is on 2nd floor and the buzzer wasn't working to let us in.

The only issue, was we were there 4 nights and we weren't serviced (that means running out of toilet paper), the tv is so ridiculously old and clunky it takes up half the lounge room and the tv can't be seen from bed and the couch is so uncomfortable. They should buy a small cheap tv, pop it on an arm on a wall so you can swivel it. Other than that it was a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirra99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2012

great Auckland City location near Quuen street & university.nodern,basic but fully equipped accommodation at a very good daily rate (weekly rate are better!). we stay for 5 night and found this apartment hotel very suitable and good quality

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laradons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

My husband and I visited Auckland for 1 week on our honeymoon.

We stayed in one of the studio apartments of this property and for the price we paid, cannot complain. This property is in an EXCELLENT location, a short walk (down hill) from Queen Street and the main transport hub and harbour and there are some great little restaurants in the laneways nearby.

The amenities were basic but clean and the bed and pillows were extremely comfortable- probably the best week worth of sleeps we have had all year! Well equiped kitchenette, although the washing machine was difficult to operate, but the manager was more than happy to come and assist us. The building is secure and we felt very safe in the area. Given that we were on our honeymoon, I now wish we had of stayed somewhere with a bit more space, as the apartment is quite small.

Auckland is a VERY hilly city and the only downside I found was that this place is situated in a small street lying between two streets that are quite hilly- one was extremely steep, we didn't even bother to walk up that one. Shortland Street is more of an incline when walking, but we got over walking up it every day, very quickly. There are some great little cafes and bars along Shortland St to stop off along the way.

Overall, highly recommended for location and price!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alethea1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

We stayed in a Studio room for 2 nights. Everything was of good quality. We had quiet nights sleep, and the apartment is only 5 minutes walk to Queen Street, the main street of Auckland City. It is let down by the fact that the window located by the kitchenette is quite large yet does not feature any curtain or blinds of any description. When the sun rises the light floods into the room and you will have no choice but to wake up. I highly recommend the manager to fit the rooms with curtains or blinds in that window. Also, the lighting in the bathroom seems to be using very weak light bulbs, I found it a pain to get ready to go out using the mirror in there with that level of lighting. Regardless, I would stay here again given an appropriate price.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank linkste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.3 mi away
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
#30 of 67 in Auckland
215 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
0.6 mi away
Waldorf Tetra Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel
0.1 mi away
Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel
0.2 mi away
Quest on Queen
Quest on Queen
#53 of 123 in Auckland
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartments

Property: Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartments
Address: Waldorf 8 Bankside Street | PO Box 3791, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 123 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Bankside are affordable serviced apartments located in central Auckland City. A short walk to High Street and Chancery shopping quarters, as well as Queen Street and recently upgraded Fort Street areas. With apartments on 18 levels, spectacular city and harbour views can be enjoyed from Deluxe rooms situated on top floors. All of Auckland CDB's main attractions are easily accessible from Waldorf Bankside's central city location. Fully self-contained, Waldorf Banksides in room kitchenettes allow residents to cook for themselves as cutlery and cooking equipment provided in room. Residents can purchase groceries from a major Supermarket 10 minutes walk away or enjoy some of the great fine or casual dining options available throughout Auckland City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bankside Waldorf Serviced Apartments Hotel Auckland Central
Bankside Waldorf Serviced Apartments Auckland
Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartments Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing