We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartments
Ranked #50 of 115 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
auckland
2 reviews
“Terrible!!”
Reviewed April 20, 2012

The only one thing good about this apartment is the central location, other then that really don't waste your money. The apartment is nothing like the photo's advertised on their website.
The hotel is worn and unwelcoming.Our one bedroom apartment was very unclean, the bathroom had body hair wiped across the door/floor of the bathroom, shower cubicle dirty, sink area. The kitchen area was worse no working kettle, dirty utencials, food stains on the walls, work surfaces greasy, fridge didn't work properly in the end we had to go buy our own cleaning products and clean the room ourselves. No cleaning service at all in the days we were there. Would not go back, very disappointed!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigal648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    117
    59
    32
    39
See reviews for
26
170
58
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
62 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

This is basically all about it. The hotel is pretty average, but the rate you can reach (94 NZD when I went there) makes it a very good value. The location is OK, a bit uphill but close to central Auckland. Hotel itself not so nice, quite small and let say, minimalist, with apparent piping, and a frontdesk only partially open (and a bit difficult to find). Quite clean though. As for the room, a bit cramped, but clean. Small bathroom, no individual soap or shampoo but just a small soap dispenser. Bed quite confortable. A well equipped kitchen and a nice living room, with sofa and plasma TV with cable. Photos attached. Overall an OK stay at a very good price.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnZ05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Nice hotel suite on the9 th floor.modern,clean,pleasant management.central Auckland location near Queen street and the court area.reasonable price

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dannyray66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vientiane, Laos
Level Contributor
124 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

I was really looking forward to staying in this centrally located apartment block, this did not disappoint.

What did was the level of cleanliness which made me spend as little time as possible in there.

The cooker and dishwasher exterior had been wiped with a greasy cloth and the shower cubicle floor looked like it needed a good scrub. The floor needed a good Hoover. I stayed for 3 nights and there was no cleaning service during this time at all.

The tv was a big old unit that appeared to be on it's last legs. I probably won't stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracie0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Cairns, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2012

I have been here several times, each time has been a real enjoyable experience.
This time it was the worst experience I have ever had.
They have a new manager, Peter?, cold person.
The atmosphere in the entire building had changed from my other visits, it felt cold and regulated.
The rooms were poorly kept.
I did not stay.

Room Tip: I found out the regular manager is away on leave, I will be back when he comes back!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xavier250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 27, 2012

very central Auckland city accommodation,close to all important area that one wish to visit.Clean,nicely decorated studio hotel apartment 'limited service at very reasonable rate.Recommended as very good value

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dannyray9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

very central Auckland location in the City center.Near Queen street and the main train station. We had a studio apartment on the 12 levels with nice veranda and good water views. modern refurbished apartment with good size kitchen.Very good value and good management

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reach0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.3 mi away
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
#30 of 67 in Auckland
214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel
0.6 mi away
Waldorf Tetra Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel
0.2 mi away
Quest on Queen
Quest on Queen
#54 of 115 in Auckland
194 reviews
0.8 mi away
City Lodge
City Lodge
#5 of 115 in Auckland
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartments

Property: Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartments
Address: Waldorf 8 Bankside Street | PO Box 3791, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 115 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Bankside are affordable serviced apartments located in central Auckland City. A short walk to High Street and Chancery shopping quarters, as well as Queen Street and recently upgraded Fort Street areas. With apartments on 18 levels, spectacular city and harbour views can be enjoyed from Deluxe rooms situated on top floors. All of Auckland CDB's main attractions are easily accessible from Waldorf Bankside's central city location. Fully self-contained, Waldorf Banksides in room kitchenettes allow residents to cook for themselves as cutlery and cooking equipment provided in room. Residents can purchase groceries from a major Supermarket 10 minutes walk away or enjoy some of the great fine or casual dining options available throughout Auckland City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bankside Waldorf Serviced Apartments Hotel Auckland Central
Bankside Waldorf Serviced Apartments Auckland
Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartments Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing