We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Apollo Hotel Auckland
Ranked #43 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Excellent.”
Reviewed November 29, 2010

Well equipped nice aparthotel with great views of the bridge.

Only downside was after my 27 hour flight, they could find a room for me at 10am, but they let me leave my bag whilst I went out and had (a lot of) coffee.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobWedekind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    38
    25
    17
    9
See reviews for
18
36
10
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hawkes Bay
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2010

Positive - Friendly, helpful staff. Spacious. Self contained.
Negative - Traffic noise. Bathroom badly needed upgrading. Did not enjoying showering in front of a window with a mouldy venetian blind for privacy. Strange burn/blister marks on ceramic oven top, bench and bottom of bath. Rooms were meant to have been serviced daily. We had towells, soap etc replaced daily but it did not appear to have been cleaned during the week we were there.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coffeeluva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nz
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2010

we had difficulty with the check-in process as no outside parking, had to park on the footpath. Undergound parking avail.at a charge but xtremely tight and narrow.
We had 2 rooms 1 on the 5th floor the other on the 6th floor both with views of harbour.The decor is extremely average and getting tatty, also our room had no clips to hold the balcony door open with, had broken off at some stage and never replaced, shower over a very deep bath, some people might find this a bit difficult, had a venetian blind on shower window which had seen better days.
Location is good for being able to walk to downtown and Sky Tower. The receptionist was quiet helpful tho' and very friendly. We booked on an early Internet prepaid deal so got a reasonable deal, from that perspective the cost wasn't too bad but wouldn't pay top price.
Would only recommend this if your NOT looking for a 4star, because we don't believe the rating reflects that in the rooms, only in the location.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
128 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2010

Our family of 5 stayed one night in a Harbour view 2 bedroom apartment. Great location, walking distance to central Auckland, Fantastic views, Quality apartment. Bathroom products nice. Huge lounge, dining, kitchen. Washer and dryer.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandi28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2009

I stayed for three nights and loved it. As soon as I walked in I was blown away by the size of the apartment. It was tastefully decorated, the bedroom (it could be separated from the rest of the apartment by louvre doors) was lovely and the bed very comfortable and the loungeroom had a fantastic sofa. The kitchen was huge and had everything you need to cook. There was a large fridge. The bathroom was good and had a washing machine and dryer INSIDE the apartment!! I found the staff to be extremely friendly and helpful. In terms of the area, I found it very convenient. You have to walk about three blocks to get to the ‘central’ part of Auckland, but I thought it was worth it for the cost and facilities offered. It is situated near a lot of other apartment buildings and there is not a lot else going on in that area but that didn’t bother me. Being away from downtown it’s a quieter and there's a lot of Asian supermarkets and food places (fabulous!). It’s nearish to the Circuit and Link buses if you don’t mind walking a bit to get to them (and giving your calves/hamstrings a workout due to the hilliness of Auckland!) which I didn’t mind. For example it’s an easy walk to SkyTower from there, straight up Hobson St. Here’s a funny thing, there seems to be no DVD player in the room and I asked about it as they offer DVD hire but they directed me to a place nearby to hire a player. Then I worked out I could use the digital receiver to play a DVD. Not sure if I was supposed to do that!! And finally, they don’t service on Sundays and public holidays which was interesting as I was there from Saturday night to Tuesday morning!! I actually prefer the privacy but it’s a bit naughty of them to do that as they advertise as being a serviced apartment. They do though provide anything that you need. You go down stairs during the day and if you need extra towels etc or want to get rid of rubbish they’ll sort that out for you but obviously cut down on the staff at those times for cost reasons.
I loved this accommodation, like a home away from home and I would rush back there again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magnoona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2009

everything you need is in the apartment, from cooking facilities, washing machine, dryer, disc washer, heater, etc, very clean room, bathroom is clean too, in New Zealand, the weather is not so hot through out the year, so I didn't found an air conditioner in the room :) room rate is good too, value for money

Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank AlexBTLek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunei
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2009

We stayed for 3 nights at this hotel/service apartment. It was not too bad, the room although a bit small, but cozy and complete. It has everything we need in a hotel. The washer and dryer is the added bonus, not to mention the balcony. We had the best view of the harbour and sky tower. And we had one memorable view here when we saw the Auckland bridge dissapeared from view by the mist/fog one morning. Amazing. The staff are helpful and friendly, although there are so few of them around.

The hotel was a bit far from Queens Street but if you like peace and quiet this is the place for you. But its still a walking distance to Sky Tower, but you have to be fit to walk around since Auckland is so hilly! We are Asian so we are a bit concerned about getting our food supply but to our surprise we found one Asian supermarket just round the corner, which is great.

Our only setback is the internet which cost so much, cant remember exactly how much, maybe its around NZD5 for half hour. But overall, we are happy and dont hesitate to come back here.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lemongrass08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
VR Auckland City
VR Auckland City
#33 of 67 in Auckland
1,124 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crown on Cintra Lane
Crown on Cintra Lane
#46 of 67 in Auckland
96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.4 mi away
Bianco off Queen
Bianco off Queen
#60 of 67 in Auckland
705 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel Auckland

Property: Apollo Hotel Auckland
Address: 90-92 Nelson Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Apollo Hotel Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apollo Hotel Auckland is situated in Auckland CBD, with in walking distance of city’s most iconic attractions, including sky tower and Queen St and with the short stroll to the Viaduct Harbour and Auckland’s stunning waterfront with an array of restaurants and bars. Apollo Hotel Auckland is Centrally located on Nelson St and Nicolas St, hotel contain 9 levels consisting of deluxe, one and two bedroom apartments, all with full kitchen and laundry facilities. Apollo Hotel Auckland offers good transport links to and from the Auckland Airport. All the rooms are 100% non-smoking. Each room comes with shower over bath and the flat screen TV, DVD player and Sky guest select Channels are one of the standard feature. A continental breakfast is offered on request. The hotel offers on-site parking (surcharge) and FREE Wifi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Apollo Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest On Nelson Serviced Apartments Hotel Auckland Central
Apollo Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing