We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Abaco again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abaco On Jervois

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Abaco On Jervois
Ranked #2 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Rarotonga
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Abaco again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Having stayed at Abaco 4 times over the past year felt it was time to enter a review......location is excellent - the rooms fully and tastefully refurbished - and scrupulously clean.......thanks guys see you again during the year

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jillymae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    106
    15
    0
    3
See reviews for
44
174
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

My wife and stayed in the Abaco for one night in early April on a layover. It was really pleasant. The room was very nicely appointed. The kitchen was incredibly handy for breakfast. The area is quite nice for bars and restaurants. It is a little quiet, but in a good way. If you want a pleasant dinner with some good wine or beer, then there are lots of nice places for you in this area.

The hotel were really good to us as well, letting us check in early and check out an hour later than normal because our flight didn't leave until the early afternoon. In all, we really couldn't fault this hotel. A great choice for a stay in Auckland!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tom J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

We have just stayed at Abaco on Jervois for the second time - praise in itself. It is convenient for us to stay near family in Ponsonby, but the location is great for anyone visiting Auckland - close to transport - link buses to the city - free if you are a Senior (!), restaurants and shops - and parking is free. The owners even let our friends park there for no charge. We were upgraded because the motel was not full and given a choice of one bedroomed unit. We chose the 2nd floor because you get a better view of the city - sky tower looks great at night. The motel is clean and owners delightful. We were offered help with our bags - not something you always get. We'd go back again and cannot rate it highly enough.

Room Tip: We had a one bedroom unit and had the choice of first or second floor. Chose the second for the vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrienne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed at Abaco on Jervois in October, and it was a great choice. We booked the "executive studio" which was plenty big for a couple. I liked that it was on the top floor, and the lovely little kitchen was a nice bonus. The owners are great - they are so accommodating - offering recommendations on whatever you need. We were in Audkland at the start and end of our trip and they let us leave a bag behind, which was a big help. Loved the location. So convenient, nice restaurants nearby. The hotel was quiet.
If I were going back to Auckland, I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Spend a little more and book one of the rooms that is on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canoeberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed six nights in this clean, comfortable and welcoming motel which had all the amenities you could need - free parking, wi-fi - and a great location close to the shops in Ponsonby. It was just what we needed - and our hosts there couldn't have done more for us.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
385 reviews
271 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 394 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Really well situated close to Ponsonby Road and fairly close to the CBD. It is a bright modern motel at a reasonable price for Auckland. We had a standard room which however turned out to be very small. The 'king bed' we had listed on our booking was barely a 'queen'. However the small kitchenette and bathroom were good. The walls were very thin and you could hear conversations from other rooms. There was free unlimited internet but no laundry. Overall as long as you know the drawbacks it is worth staying here

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank NLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewistown, Montana
Level Contributor
193 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

This motel had a clean, comfortable room, free parking, and above all, a great location for wandering/shopping/eating. The many shops and outdoor cafes on Ponsonby were just a few short blocks away. Can't complain about the studio room except that since it was located in the basement it made me feel like a mole. I like lots of light. Overall, a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Pay a few extra bucks to get a room on the main or second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
1.5 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,977 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,374 reviews
1.8 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
1.6 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abaco On Jervois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abaco On Jervois

Property: Abaco On Jervois
Address: 59 Jervois Road | Ponsonby, Herne Bay, Auckland 1011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Auckland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#15 Family Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abaco On Jervois 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Abaco On Jervois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abaco On Jervois Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing