We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location! Location! Location!”
Review of Abaco On Jervois

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Abaco On Jervois
Ranked #2 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
383 reviews
269 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 391 helpful votes
“Location! Location! Location!”
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Really well situated close to Ponsonby Road and fairly close to the CBD. It is a bright modern motel at a reasonable price for Auckland. We had a standard room which however turned out to be very small. The 'king bed' we had listed on our booking was barely a 'queen'. However the small kitchenette and bathroom were good. The walls were very thin and you could hear conversations from other rooms. There was free unlimited internet but no laundry. Overall as long as you know the drawbacks it is worth staying here

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    117
    18
    0
    3
See reviews for
55
188
18
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lewistown, Montana
Level 6 Contributor
323 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

This motel had a clean, comfortable room, free parking, and above all, a great location for wandering/shopping/eating. The many shops and outdoor cafes on Ponsonby were just a few short blocks away. Can't complain about the studio room except that since it was located in the basement it made me feel like a mole. I like lots of light. Overall, a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Pay a few extra bucks to get a room on the main or second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Very clean and quiet. Great location, couple of minutes walk to Ponsonby - great area for cafes, restaurants and trendy shops. Well located for easy access to both city centre and main roads to the north and south

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank macca99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2014

The room was modern, immaculate and spacious. The price was certainly right. The staff went out of their way to be helpful, even finding us the cheapest transport to the airport at a very, very early hour. The neighborhood has most amenities, but during the week things seem to close rather early. You feel like a local in the neighborhood rather than a tourist. the area has most amenities, but things seem to close early on week days.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

After 2 nights spent in the city at the Quadrant Hotel, my wife and I had to stay an extra night in the city for work so checked out other hotels to see if there was a better deal going. We found Abaco on Jervois & I remembered (from when I was a tour operator), that it was in a great location with onsite free parking. It was also $10 cheaper than the Quadrant so we thought we'd give it a go. We'd stayed at the Quest in Ponsonby about a month earlier and it was filthy so we wouldn't return there.
Abaco was perfect from the easy parking, to the friendly host who not only walked us around to our room but also didn't bat an eyelid that we were two women. (Unlike many other experiences we have had in NZ.)
The rooms are very nice and immaculately, immaculately, immaculately clean! There was nothing in a shabby state at all, the decor was classy and (as opposed to the Quadrant) they had thought of things like hand towels, dish washing brush etc.
The only tiny thing that we needed to mention was that the plastic strip under the shower door had ripped so quite a bit of water leaked onto the floor. The host immediately thanked us for mentioning it (& was out buying a new one when I checked out just now), and not only brought us over a new bathmat, but also 2 extra clean bath towels :-)
They have mysky, so unlike the last few hotels I have stayed in, they have all the channels available rather than just 3 or 4 sky channels.
I'm sitting in my car writing this using their complimentary free wifi as I wanted to give them credit for a great stay ASAP.
Finally - the bedding was (of course) immaculate, and great quality. The bed looked like a queen (rather than the king mentioned on their site but I may have mixed that up?).
All that for $135 for a standard room. We'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaoriWahine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands TX
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

We chose this location because it was within walking distance to my daughter and close to bus stops. Little did I know how much more is nearby such as eateries, coffee shops, boutiques and the wharf. The rooms are very nice and updated. Parking seemed to be ok. Janine was very helpful. We had an early arrival flight so we were able to store our luggage in the front office until our room was ready. Kitchenette was nice as well as air conditioning. There was nothing negative about our stay. We stayed 4 nights

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

I have stayed at the Abaco almost every week over the past 12 months. The hosts are second to none and always go out of their way to accomodate and help. Really good beds and comfortable lounges for an excellent stay. Right in Ponsonby this place gives access to some of the best restaurants and casual bars in Auckland

Room Tip: 3rd level for great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
1.8 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
2.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#18 of 67 in Auckland
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,492 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#6 of 67 in Auckland
4,305 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 67 in Auckland
1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abaco On Jervois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abaco On Jervois

Property: Abaco On Jervois
Address: 57 - 59 Jervois Road | Ponsonby, Herne Bay, Auckland 1011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Auckland
#4 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#14 Family Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abaco On Jervois 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Abaco On Jervois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abaco On Jervois Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing