We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Montreal in Auckland”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of al's deli

al's deli
Ranked #189 of 2,231 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $14
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: We make beautifully hand crafted deli food. If you are craving freshly baked bagels, Smoked cured brisket on sourdough rye, home cured maple and cherry smoked bacon, home made lox, home made cheese curds and poutine, we are the best place in Auckland for it. We are also the only establishment in New Zealand to serve Canadian beers.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Montreal in Auckland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

We discovered Al's Deli when a nice waitress offered us a free bagel in the street. We are big fans of bagel, Montreal style. The bagel was better than the one we eat in Montreal ! So it was a good surprise and we wanted to taste more food.
We decide to come try the poutine, moose ear and smoked meat.

The poutine was very good, with a cheese very fresh. It was not exactly like the canadian cheese curd but the difference is interesting. This one is more creamy.
The smoked meat is delicious, one of the best we had the chance to eat.

Too bad we discovered this little gem when we had to leave New-Zealand...
Some waitress are very nice (some not. No smile. No help to choose. Minimum service.)

We also liked the atmosphere. Nice decoration, cantine style ! Very canadian, we felt like home.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cassoulol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    54
    20
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
118 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“A True Taste of Montreal in Auckland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

Having been born and raised in Montreal, I always miss those tastes when traveling. Well, I just found a bit of Montreal in Auckland, NZ. From its "Main", a smoked-meat inspired pastrami sandwich to its Poutine (tastes spot-on by the way), stop by and try them out. The bagels are hand made, and delicious!

Helpful?
Thank Mark Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“More than just bagels”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

Took my youngest daughter there for brunch over the weekend. Had the breakfast. The bagels were great, but the (not so) hidden gem is the bacon and brisket. Mmm the meat is to die for! The poitine topped with brisket is a definite must! Look forward to trying out their other menu items soon!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gjtripper77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best bagels and poutine!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

Awesome food - quite unique in Auckland. Bagels taste like real bagels should, and poutine with smoked brisket is delicious! Will definitely be back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cvdwcvdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Love the Bagels & Cronuts!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

Was very happy to have Al's Deli open up to meet the need for really good Canadian bagels! These keep you coming back. And the cronuts!!! These are amazing, must have!
The first time I went was right after opening and we had a delicious breakfast with friends. Gluten-free bagels were a big draw for my gluten-free friend, and she really enjoyed them.
I like to stop by to pick up bagels to take home or to the office. When in the mood for a treat I will get a cronut - but they sometimes sell out!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank redandwhite1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed al's deli also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland Region, North Island
 

Been to al's deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing