We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but room for improvement”
Review of Masu

Masu
Ranked #14 of 2,276 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: "A passion for flavour and dedication to detail" Welcome to MASU, the exciting Japanese robata restaurant and bar located in the Federal Street dining precinct. MASU brings atmosphere, passion and a contemporary twist to the traditional robata style of cooking over an open charcoal grill. My philosophy is simple - use fresh local ingredients, enhance the natural flavours of each dish and let the food speak for itself. This pure approach to cuisine is reflected in our clean, natural decor. Add to this a lively, informal atmosphere and you have a beautifully bold and dramatically different style of Japanese dining in the heart of Auckland. Nic Watt
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good but room for improvement”
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

I had tasting menu. Some dishes are good & some are average. The desert was great but we waited for an hour. That was actually after 9pm. If you eat out a lot, it is worth a try (something different for a change). But if you only eat out very occasionally, it could do better somewhere else.

Helpful?
Thank Travel_Chiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    443
    141
    60
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Took an overseas friend who knows Japanese cuisine. He ordered including Wagu and we had an embarrassingly average meal. The Wage was$1000.00/kg and we had a right to expect something special which it most certainly wasn't . I've had way better Sirloin! There were some tasty dishes and the waiter was great but we came for great Japanese food and were very underwhelmed. Embarrassing for me and I would not recommend, there are much better Japanese restaurants out there

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mixed bag - some great food, some not so good”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

This restaurant is part of the SkyCity hotel/complex. NZ people tend to eat earlier than Europeans, therefore, the restuarant was busy when we entered at 9pm but soon quietened down. We went for the tasting menu which was a bit of a hit and miss. A couple of great dishes - prawn tacos beautiful and dessert, according to my wife, one of the best she's had. However, in between was a bit disappointing. In particular, the sashimi was poor, cut thick and the snapper had skin/sinew making it inedible. Service was efficient but unspectacular. There seemed to be a lack of cohesion between waiting staff and the 3 kitchens. We had 4 dishes arrive at the same time and as the restaurant was quietening down they seemed to want to rush the food out. Prices are at the higher end and as such our expectations were not met. My experience seems to be different from the majority of other reviewers, however, good restaurants are good every day and don't have off days.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ExiledSc0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
452 reviews
450 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“The best Sushi I had in Auckland”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Compared to other sushi restaurant, I feel that Masu have better design sushi and better consideration for the starters . I ate the green soybean here and felt very delicious, also the sashimi and crayfish from South Pole. I really enjoyed the place and feelings.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yueyingxiong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food and great service”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Very impressed with this new restaurant in town. Service was fast, friendly and personable

Every dish was beautifully cooked and presented

We sat at the bar and got to see everything being prepared- so got dinner and "show"

Dishes are served for sharing, between the 2 of us we ordered six dishes, some small and some larger. Plenty to eat.

I had the ginger tonic-wow an amazing ginger hit!

Definitely will be back

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 01foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Masu also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Masu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing