We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just don't go”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Columbia Apartments
Ranked #74 of 113 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just don't go”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Yes, it looks wonderful on the internet, the photos are lovely and it is very cheap! It looks clean and is in central Auckland, near the university and shops.
My room was small, no curtains with university students watching me as I dressed. It was cold as the heater didn't work, it was VERY dirty and the sheets had not been changed. I couldn't get any service and when I did I couldn't understand the hotel manager.
My phone did not work, the shower was full of spiders, the stove worked when it wanted to and the room smelled of urine and mold.
Just don't go, pay a little more and get a decent place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank alex4eva9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    7
    7
    8
    14
See reviews for
2
12
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed there around month back, room was nice and tidy and staff was friendly.

Location was very good, only take 10 mins walk to the City.

Really, for 45 dollars a night, you get a double bed in lockable room. You get what you pay for.

internet was very fast too.

Will stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theboy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I hired the apartments by internet. I sold as a residence clean and comfortable but is a place not recommended. It is a very dirty and smells really bad. I bought two air fresheners and not with them could disguise the odor. An horrible experience. If in doubt hiring and on time, do not do it or regret it!

On a positive note that is quiet place and friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank skansen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Auckland hotels

New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

We weren't expecting much but it was fine for what we wanted, which was basically a cheap bed for the night, not a luxury hotel. We weren't told that you have to swipe your keycard in the elevator so when we went to join friends on another floor, the lift just keep going up and down, missing our stop because we hadn't swiped. The room was incredibly small with a communal bathroom and kitchen but we had expected there to be about 4 other adjoining rooms instead of only two. There was no cutlery, plates or glasses in the kitchen but we did have toilet paper. There was also no duvet or bedspread but it was so hot and muggy we didn't need one anyway. The view was cool from the 13th floor and the Superette down below was handy for supplies. All in all, it was clean, affordable and a great location so a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mkmtkrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

the hotel experience is terribly horrible, the stuffs will sneak into your room will your away and steal your stuff, the reception manager with poor English always protect their stuff no matter whatever they do

Room Tip: just give up on this option
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

The apartment is in poor condition as if the management team is not taking good care of the units. The bathroom is in very bad condition, there's a wood plank attached down the sink which isn't good idea because it gets damp every time one is using the sink.

Worst thing is if you forget your keys or left in your room, you will have to pay $15 dollar and they'll just give the keys to you without even assist you to your room. I have checked my account and they charged it in different account which is not columbia apartment's one. I don't know where the money goes to but if they keep charging the tenants $15 dollar everytime they forgot they keys, they should have accumulated a great amount of money and I would expect a better condition of the units.

unsatisfied tenant

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Farzana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2010

started off terrible from the moment we entered the door, no one on reception and no buzzer to call, after about 5 mins someone turned up, could barely speak a word of english and then while we were filling out forms he buggered off for 10mins with no explaination of where he was going or when he would be back, came back with no apology or anything. then once in room great by a scungy dirty little hovel that hadnt been cleaned, no toliet paper or tv as advertised, dirty unclean beach and stove still with food stuck to the element, a massive hole in the wall and bare electric cable poking out of a socket, window had no latch so couldnt be latched shut,beds had been made but barely, hadnt even been tucked in. one bed was placed squarly in the middle of ther room with desk on far side but you couldnt walk around the bed as it was the same width as the room. a double no less. walls were covered with scuff marks and abrasions and massive stains on the carpet..
when confronted the man at the desk said the room was "under construction". i have never known a hotel/motel/hostel of any kind to rent out a room whislt it was under rennovation or construction, its is plain dangerous not to mention unprofessional. when i complained i was offered a 10% discount or my money back and for us to find alternative accomodation in downtown auckland...impossible the night of a big concert. so we had to keep the room.
next morning at checkout the owner/manager or whoever had no excuses for the state of the room and i demanded at least he give us a 25% discount it was horrible. i definately do not recommend staying in this disgusting pit. a wonder we didnt get sick. also the rooms only utensils were chopsticks and 1 knife and 1 fork...um we live in NZ not asia. dont know if the owners were aware of this...

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank boru_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.0 mi away
Crown on Cintra Lane
Crown on Cintra Lane
#45 of 67 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 67 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.1 mi away
Waldorf Tetra Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
YHA Auckland City
YHA Auckland City
#20 of 113 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel
0.8 mi away
Verandahs Backpackers Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbia Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbia Apartments

Property: Columbia Apartments
Address: Columbia Apartments 15 Whitaker Place, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 113 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Columbia Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Columbia Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbia Serviced Apartments Hotel Auckland Central
Columbia Serviced Apartments Auckland
Columbia Apartments Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing