We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will not go back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Columbia Apartments
Ranked #76 of 120 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I will not go back”
Reviewed August 14, 2011

The apartment is in poor condition as if the management team is not taking good care of the units. The bathroom is in very bad condition, there's a wood plank attached down the sink which isn't good idea because it gets damp every time one is using the sink.

Worst thing is if you forget your keys or left in your room, you will have to pay $15 dollar and they'll just give the keys to you without even assist you to your room. I have checked my account and they charged it in different account which is not columbia apartment's one. I don't know where the money goes to but if they keep charging the tenants $15 dollar everytime they forgot they keys, they should have accumulated a great amount of money and I would expect a better condition of the units.

unsatisfied tenant

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Farzana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    7
    8
    8
    15
See reviews for
2
13
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2010

started off terrible from the moment we entered the door, no one on reception and no buzzer to call, after about 5 mins someone turned up, could barely speak a word of english and then while we were filling out forms he buggered off for 10mins with no explaination of where he was going or when he would be back, came back with no apology or anything. then once in room great by a scungy dirty little hovel that hadnt been cleaned, no toliet paper or tv as advertised, dirty unclean beach and stove still with food stuck to the element, a massive hole in the wall and bare electric cable poking out of a socket, window had no latch so couldnt be latched shut,beds had been made but barely, hadnt even been tucked in. one bed was placed squarly in the middle of ther room with desk on far side but you couldnt walk around the bed as it was the same width as the room. a double no less. walls were covered with scuff marks and abrasions and massive stains on the carpet..
when confronted the man at the desk said the room was "under construction". i have never known a hotel/motel/hostel of any kind to rent out a room whislt it was under rennovation or construction, its is plain dangerous not to mention unprofessional. when i complained i was offered a 10% discount or my money back and for us to find alternative accomodation in downtown auckland...impossible the night of a big concert. so we had to keep the room.
next morning at checkout the owner/manager or whoever had no excuses for the state of the room and i demanded at least he give us a 25% discount it was horrible. i definately do not recommend staying in this disgusting pit. a wonder we didnt get sick. also the rooms only utensils were chopsticks and 1 knife and 1 fork...um we live in NZ not asia. dont know if the owners were aware of this...

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank boru_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2010

We had seen the other reviews on here before we booked... but we decided to take a chance at it was so cheap and the were very few hotels available for Auckland the weekend we wanted to go. We were prepared for the worst... and I think we pretty much got it.

The room was small and dark, and hadn't been cleaned properly. There was marks on the walls and the furniture looked like it could fall to bits any minute.

The bathroom was tiny... the sink was gross and the floor hadn't been cleaned. (There was even left over cotton buds on the floor... and a big sticky patch... not stuff you might miss if you had actually tried to clean... it really just wasn't cleaned.) The shower curtain was mouldy and fell down when I tried to pull it accross to screen myself. The plug was - yuk!

The sofa / seat was bright green - but had a massive grey stain all over the seat - like foundation or something (but the wrong colour) - it didnt look like anyone had tried to clean this off at all. And really, why would you leave it in the room - not try to cover it with something - or swap it for a cleaner one? There was also a couple of marks on the floor that looked like someone had spilt hot fat on it so the (cheap suede material) carpet had burnt together.


On the positives:

The sheets were fresh and clean and the bed was comfortable.
It's not far from Central Auckland, so handy for the sights.

Its cheap - and we did sleep well....

So, don't take your girlfriend (or your mother) - she'll be horrified!

But if you're in town to see a mate and not going to spend much time in your room.... you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pepsicolamax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2010

I'm staying there at the moment, room is clean and quiet, fairly freshly painted, sheets and towels are clean, bed is comfortable staff have been friendly and happy to provide a loo roll. I have a double room with TV and phone and there are 2 very pleasant Brazilian language students in the next room and we share toilet/shower, and small kitchen area. I'm in my 50's and on my own and feel safe there. Basically it seems to be full of foreign, mostly oriental students. Some of the other reviewers really put me off as I didn't book through tripadvisor but frankly, if you only want to pay 40 dollars a night you are not going to get the Hilton. It's like a student hall of residence. The only small gripe I have is the lack of a mirror. So the moral is take some of the reviews with a pinch of salt. Its about 10 minutes walk from downtown and close to the circular Link bus which goes round the city to major sights.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anacamotes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaduz
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2010

I didn't expect too much for this price, but caught me by total surprise - I didn't expect anything like that - as you can get it quiet oft in New Zealand.

The positive sides: the front desk was friendly and very helpful

OK, how to start now: The rooms are just horrible - cobwebs everywhere, a lot (really a lot) of mildew in the bathroom, the carpets weren't proper cleaned for approx. one to five years and I don't want to talk about the mattresses. When we said, that we didn't expect this standard, we were offered a free upgrade to a larger room. This room was in fact a little bit cleaner, but we didn't want to exposure our lungs to the fungus spors.

This place is below 3rd world, budget accommodations in Brazil, post soviet Russia, Nepal,... had always higher tidiness standards.
(Don't remember me of the kitchen of this place)

So if you want to see an Eastern Germany style Plattenbau (high-rise made with precast concrete slabs) from inside (pray, that there is no fire), you will be satisfied - other than that AVOID with all costs. I would not stay for free there and was happy to pay the cancelation fee of one night.

P.S. I feel really sorry for the (mostly Asian) students, which have to live there on long term :-(

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maalesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2010

I stayed for two nights and although I did not have high expectations, it turned out to be one of the most dirty hotel/apartments I have ever stayed in, it was disgusting, rooms look like the get cleaned once every year, dirt everywhere, have a look at the pics I have uploaded to this site, just dont stay here it is horrible, they didnt even have my booking when I arrived to top it off!

I have stayed in beach huts, hostels in India etc etc etc and this place was the worst ever.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank energycontent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2008

When I arrived to my 'apartment' it was a disappointment to say the least. The rooms were dirty and the hallways were badly stained. Things obviously hadn't been vacuumed and I'd hate to know when the kitchen and bathroom had last been properly cleaned.

On the plus side, when they put me in an apartment with a guy (after saying I was staying with a girl), they did move me. The downside was that this apartment had even poorer ventilation (if that is possible) leading to a very nasty smell permeating the kitchen.

The positive thing I can say about this place is that it is an afordable price for the location. It was reasonably quiet, so that was a bonus. It's not somewhere I would stay again if I had other options. It reminded me of the hygene of an undergraduate university dorm, complete with vomit stains on the carpet. I just feel sorry for people who have to live here long term.

  • Liked — Location and price
  • Disliked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank penguin79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.3 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 67 in Auckland
684 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crown on Cintra Lane
Crown on Cintra Lane
#45 of 67 in Auckland
96 reviews
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#49 of 67 in Auckland
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
#30 of 67 in Auckland
215 reviews
0.6 mi away
Haka Lodge Auckland
Haka Lodge Auckland
#3 of 120 in Auckland
316 reviews
0.8 mi away
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbia Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbia Apartments

Property: Columbia Apartments
Address: Columbia Apartments 15 Whitaker Place, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 120 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Columbia Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Columbia Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbia Serviced Apartments Hotel Auckland Central
Columbia Serviced Apartments Auckland
Columbia Apartments Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing