We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy, dark, fusion eatery”
Review of Mandarin Dumpling & Bar - CLOSED

Mandarin Dumpling & Bar
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Trendy, dark, fusion eatery”
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

Set in a dark, Chinese decored 'cavern', the food here isn't great authentic Chinese food but it is great fusion/White Chinese food. Dishes are a bit pricey, however they come out real quick. Get the spare ribs and the xiao long bao because they are yum.

Helpful?
Thank manic_cornflakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    8
    0
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great restaurant - yummy food”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

This is our second visit to Mandarin Dumpling Bar in Fort Street. Briefly:

PROS:
Food very tasty. We delighted with the Fried rice with prawns [will definitely have this again - delicious, flavoursome and non-greasy] and the Deep Fried Tofu [absolutely delicious and tofu like silk]. quality of food very good

Very good service and we had completed our meal within 1 & 1/2 hours which suited us fine [entrees and mains]. Waitress always checked if we needed anything else [top marks to her]

Ambience is great [love it] and lots of people dining

Restaurant is happy to take your Grab One vouchers and treat you as a regular customer [some places don't like the Vouchers but this place treats you well regardless]

NEGATIVES:
The lighting is extremely bad in conjuction with the light script of the menus [we had to ask for a second candle so I could hold on the menu to be able to read the writing - I then gave candle to another customer who did exactly the same]. "Come on management put in some more overhead lighting or have table lights and darker script of menus so people can read to be able to order your food - this seems to be a common negative by lots of customers " - management please do something about this.

Needs a door at reception level as a cool wind blew down stairs and along seats {curtain not good enough as people push it back} - ok for summer but management needs to action this before winter for customer care at least.

Overall, - loved the restaurant - well designed - food very tasty and good service. Will definitely diner here again and again. Definitely worth a visit

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Expensive but good food”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We bought a voucher and went there on a Wednesday evening. Even though it was a Wednesday evening, the place was quite crowded.

The place is down some stairs and very dark. They could do with a bit more lighting to help diners read the menu and see the food.

The menu is interesting and quite unusual and food the quite good if pricey.

Service was very quick and friendly.

Overall we would go again and try other items on their menu.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank T5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Very good, potential to be excellent”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Lunch last week was very good - some small service lapses and a disappoint Xiao Long Bao did not detract from the overall experience; good ambience and very interesting food.
Will definitely return.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank sinbarambam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very poor service!”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Went for dinner last night (weds night) and the restaurant was very busy - service was terribly compromised as a result! For some reason, they kept us waiting at the door for 10minutes before letting us sit at the bar, despite there were tables available! We waited for another 15minutes at the bar, during which no one came to take our order for drinks. Finally got to a table and had to ask twice before we got a food menu - the poor waitress had to search all over the place to find one! Food came pretty quick after we ordered though. But the food was very average - flavours weren't special and the dumpling pastry was quite dry. At the end, waited another 5 mintues to pay the bill. Oh, and also, the waiter asked us if we wanted "sparkling water or rain water"! What a terrible way of coercing customers into paying for sparkling water.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OpieOP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mandarin Dumpling & Bar also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing