We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and friendly hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Braemar on Parliament Street B&B Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2014

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at Braemar. 5-7 min walk to CBD, and close to parks. John and Mel were very helpful in suggesting spots to view the fireworks for New Year's Eve, as well as with information about the surrounding islands and ferry rides. Generous breakfasts.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room with shared bathroom - no complaints.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 217 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2014

Braemar is a great place to stay in Auckland. It is central and easy to access all that the city offers. John is so helpful and accommodating. It was pouring rain one day and he drove me to the museum so I wouldn't get soaked. The next day he gave me a ride to the ferry terminal. Breakfasts were so complete and generous I usually didn't eat lunch. The house is a gem and you can tell John is very devoted to retaining a piece of Auckland history. Quiet, clean and all sorts of advice about what to see and do in Auckland and NZ.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taite D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We got into auckland and found that other hostels were booked out and found braemer online. We went with it because of the central location. Just so happy that we stayed here - the place itself is an amazing historic gem with period era furnishings - it kind of feels like you are in Paris. The pictures don't really do it justice. The little details were great as well like the claw-legged baths and the Eco store soap and shampoo's. Probably the best location in auckland near other historical buildings and the university. For dinner we walked downtown through a park through to o'connell street - we were going to the o'connell street bistro for dinner - but instead found a little Italian place for dinner called ' that's amore' which - we can confirm - does have the best pizza in auckland as per the newspaper cuttings on the wall. The hosts could not have been nicer and more informative. John is an cool, interesting guy with great local knowledge. Just a really great to stay, can recommend wholeheartedly.

Room Tip: We went with the room that had a bath in it.
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Myself and my girlfriend had a very nice stay the room was ok, the breakfast was five star and the service from John and Jackie made us feel very welcomed. An absolute delight highly recommend and I will be making it my first choice when i come back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is a wonderful little B&B right in the centre of Auckland in a lovely, quiet neighbourhood, yet 10 minutes from the centre of town with a number of parks and interesting visits along the way. We stayed here in March after not being able to find anywhere else and are so glad we did! Nestled between modern and much lager buildings this is a fascinating old building full of history. The interior and rooms are gorgeous; the owner has restored the building as much as possible to it's former glory and the decoration and furniture are all wonderfully evocative of historic New Zealand. Wood, brass and porcelain abound! We were on holiday from the UK and staying here really brought out the feeling of travelling in foreign lands. The owner is also lovely and extremely helpful and informative, he upgraded us to a larger room for free and made sure we had a wonderful time in Auckland. Breakfast was also fantastic and included homemade yoghurt and a myriad of interesting local delicacies. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All the rooms are slightly different, ring them and ask for the best match
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeteWray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Beautiful Victorian detached house with a history, magnificent interior, delicious British breakfast, welcoming host with a magnetic sound, everything is just what I thought it should be!
Thanks John & Jackie! I'll definitely stay at your house if ever I would visit Auckland again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

This very much felt like a home away from home. Our house in Sydney is the same age but smaller so it was lovely to experience the grandeur of this old lady. John and Jackie were great hosts, the breakfasts were elegant and delicious, and thankfully there was free off-street parking as they give out tickets on Parliament Street. Very comfortable stay, only downside was the intermittent WiFi. We will be back.

Room Tip: One of the rooms has the bath, basin and toilet in the actual bedroom, two are bedrooms only with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,980 reviews
1.7 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
349 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,011 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland Central
178 reviews
0.5 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Braemar on Parliament Street B&B Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braemar on Parliament Street B&B Auckland

Address: 7 Parliament Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland Central
Price Range: $188 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Braemar on Parliament Street B&B Auckland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's nothing else like it. Braemar is the only heritage home right in town you can sleep in. A lovingly restored 115 year old Victorian town-house, in park like surroundings with all the attractions of NZ's largest city just a short walk away. On the University of Auckland campus, up the hill from Vector Arena, the Auckland SkyTower, ASB Tennis Stadium and over a hundred of the finest restaurants in New Zealand. We include FREE; full breakfast, valet parking, high speed wifi and run of the house lounges. Your host John is a born and bred Aucklander and loves to share his local knowledge and great life stories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Braemar on Parliament Street B&B Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braemar On Parliament Street B&B Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing