We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

It's a very large building smack in the middle of the city. Excellent location. Stayed here for two nights in an en suite room. Room was neat and clean and the bathroom was also very decent. At 80 dollars for the night, a very decent option. Would stay here again

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Hassan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadine K, Manager at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Hi there,
thank you very much for you review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you again in the near future or if you are still traveling maybe in our Wellington or Queenstown properties.

Thanks
Nomads Auckland Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (608)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

390 - 396 of 608 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2014

I have stayed here twice. Each time was exactly as expected for a busy 10 story downtown hostel. The staff were friendly and quick. Most people there were just passing through to/from a flight or there for the parties. The kitchen was unusually clean with fantastic views of the city. I'd stay there again if I was needing a downtown bed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadine K, Manager at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Hi there,
thank you very much for your review! We are stoked to hear that you had a great time with us and hope we will see you again or you might stay in our other NZ hostels in Wellington or Queenstown.

Thanks
Nomads Auckland Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Stayed here for a week, was a busy hostel.
The kitchen area is large but unfortunately only 2 cookers and one microwave for a hostel this size is not enough. The fridge could do with a good clean.
The room I stayed in was nice, 8 bed mixed. Big window but right at the front so did get a lot of noise. Also only two sockets in this room, really not enough! This practice seems standard across most nomads and x base hostels in nz, seriously it's not difficult to create enough outlets for everyone in the room to at least have one!
Room was comfy and clean, although cleaners attitude had a lot to be desired, often coming in without so much as a knock and then screaming and shouting at each other, I don't find this acceptable when people could have been trying to sleep.
Bathrooms were fine, very clean, but possibly need a little tlc.
Bar was good, nice cheap drinks for guests.
Lift never seemed to work, very annoying when the kitchen is on the 7th floor.
Tv lounge was pretty good, however ruined by one long term resident who seemed to be in charge of the tv and kept mounds of dirty pots in there.
Front desk staff were helpful, didn't find the travel shop very helpful at all.
Not advertised as a dry hostel.
No free WiFi. Very annoying!
Would stay again if passing through.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
Thank LadyV92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadine K, Manager at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Hi there,
thank you for placing feedback on our page. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have 3 stove tops in the kitchen and usually more than 2 cookers. Unfortunately we have to re-stock our entire dishes/cutlery every month due to some guests helping themselves when they head of traveling. We will make sure this will re-looked at! Our fridges get cleaned at least 2 times per week but if necessary in between as well. It gets quite busy in a small kitchen with many people using it but we have a strict cleaning planner in place to cover all hours of the day. We inform our guests on arrival that they can't drink in the hostel but advise of the bar on level 1 that offers backpackers cheap deals. Our travel shop next door offers 30mins free daily WiFi to all our guests I am surprised your weren't made aware of this! The lift unfortunately does break down sometimes but we always try to get it back up running as soon as we can. I am sorry that you had to experience staff being unprofessional in front of you. This will be discussed with them as it is unacceptable. They are also advised to always knock on doors before entering them when cleaning - we will advise them of this again in our next meeting!
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in New Zealand and were able to stay at our other Nomads Hostels in Wellington and Queenstown.

Thanks
Nomads Auckland Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Checked in, person at the front counter gave me only the very basic information and was quite unful. Walked up 10 sets of stairs with all my luggage cause the lift wasn't working and finally made it to my room. The bunks were literally so noisy that any time the girl above me made the slightest movement it was the biggest noise, so we got no sleep all night. Also other guests out in the hallway were extremelly loud until 5am.
The only good things were that there was a towel provided and there are storage lockers under each bed that fit all your bags in them so they are safe. Only 2 power points in the room tho so was lucky there was only 2 of us in the room for the night!

Also the location is pretty far away from the main part of the street that you would want to be in, not close enough to walk to.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alaskan89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadine K, Manager at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Hi there,
thanks for placing your review. We are afraid to hear that your stay with us wasn't as pleasant as we had hoped it would be. We can usually get our lift back up running within a few hours but obviously it's painful to walk up a lot of chairs with you heavy bags. We are open 24hours and our reception is always approachable for anything that might concern our guests, f.e. noise from other guests etc. Are you able to send us an email to identify the staff member that wasn't helpful with you check in? We like to to speak to them as it is very important to us that all our guests get a good first impression.To help out with noise at night time our reception also provide free ear plugs. Could you please forward me the details of your experience to nadine@nomadsworld.com?
That would be much appreciated.

Thanks Nomads Auckland Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

I recently stayed in a private ensuite room for 2 nights, and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The staff are all super friendly and accommodating, and even when they are busy they can't do enough to help. The room was tidy and comfortable, and the location unbeatable. Thanks guys!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank 482mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadine K, Manager at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Hi there,
we appreciate your feedback after your stay with us! We are very pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again in the near future or maybe in our other Nomads hostels in NZ Nomads Capital or Nomads Queenstown.

Thanks again,
Nomads Auckland Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

We had a queen ensuite which was small compared to other hostels. Room was clean but had an awful smell coming from bathroom drain. Bathroom sink is so small it's difficult to not splash everywhere when washing your face.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadine K, Manager at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Hi there,
thank you very much for your review. We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay to the extend you should have! Unfortunately some of our private rooms are smaller than others and the sink is quite small. Our drains get cleaned regularly but we will inspect the bad smell you described and make sure it won't happen again!

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels around New Zealand and we see you again in the future.

Thanks
Nomads Auckland Backpackers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

i had a great time at Nomads auckland! Michelle, the receptionist was one of the nicest most friendly people i have ever met and she made my stay really really enjoyable! The facilities there are really nice and clean as well. Michelle is also really pretty. Everyone should stay at this hostel!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 105Graci_e_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadine K, Manager at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Hi there,
thank you very much for your review!
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you again in the near future!

Thanks,
Nomads Auckland Backpackers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
1.0 mi away
Haka Lodge Auckland
Haka Lodge Auckland
#3 of 131 in Auckland Central
324 reviews
0.3 mi away
Base Auckland Central Backpackers
Base Auckland Central Backpacker...
#65 of 131 in Auckland Central
909 reviews
0.0 mi away
Queen Street Backpackers
Queen Street Backpackers
#56 of 131 in Auckland Central
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
City Garden Lodge
City Garden Lodge
#30 of 131 in Auckland Central
147 reviews
0.8 mi away
YHA Auckland City
YHA Auckland City
#19 of 131 in Auckland Central
282 reviews
0.8 mi away
YMCA Hostel
YMCA Hostel
#16 of 131 in Auckland Central
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel

Address: 16 - 20 Fort Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 131 Specialty Lodging in Auckland Central
Price Range: $18 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Backpack in style at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel. We're located in a beautiful historic building in downtown Auckland, near everything you need for your stay in this fantastic city. Come stay at our stylish, upmarket hostel in the central city, We have some female-only dorms as well as mixed dorms and private rooms! We have great facilities, with a friendly atmosphere and crew who will cater to your every whim. Our travel staff were hand-picked to ensure you will have a trip to remember!We're in an awesome downtown Auckland location, close to Vector Arena, Skytower, Viaduct Harbour, the train station and all the downtown shops - it's the perfect place to stay in Auckland. Our facilities include 24-hour reception, Global Gossip internet and Wi-Fi, and a rooftop kitchen with panoramic views of the city and harbour. We have free tea and coffee, free travel advice (no booking fees) and free 2-for-1 drinks vouchers at check-in. Hang out on our rooftop sundeck, communal kitchen or our lounge with Sky TV. Chill out in our free sauna and rooftop spa then head down to Fort Street Union Bar to meet travellers from all over the world. We put on free and cheap daily activities all around Auckland. FREE 30min WIFI each day. FREE Tea & Coffee FREE Sauna FREE Heated Spa FREE Travel advice (no booking fees) FREE/Cheap daily activities around Auckland ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hotel Auckland Central
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing