We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“its like a noisy sauna”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel
Ranked #66 of 113 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“its like a noisy sauna”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

never again. the rooms are boiling and the staff have zero people skills. we stayed here for a full seven nits and we could not wait to leave. the rooms have no a.c and we had to ask to change rooms on the second nite as the room they had us in had no window, not even a fan to cool the place down. avoid room 611 at all costs. the front desk staff are very rude and lack people skills, checking people in even seems like an issue to them. iv stayed in plenty of hotels and have never come across worse.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ciara-Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadine K, Manager at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Hi Ciara,

thank you very much for your feedback. I am shocked to hear that you found our staff with no people skills and no customer service. Can you please email me (nadine@nomadsworld.com) a bit more about your experience when you stayed as this is not what we train and want our staff to be like! Unfortunately we don't have air conditioning and not all rooms have a window but we try our best to organise fans for those rooms. I appreciate your time and look forward to your reply.

Regards, Nomads Auckland Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    111
    164
    96
    100
See reviews for
14
100
222
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Takaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is the place to be if you want to part of the "party": loud, overcrowded, hot, packed rooms etc. etc. Stay away in case you look for some sleep. Even single rooms are no escape. The only advatage is the 24h reception (compared to YHA) and the strategic location near Queen St /CBD.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadine K, Manager at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Hi there,
thank you very much for your review. We are afraid to hear that you couldn't get a rest due to the noise. We are surrounded by night clubs/bars and unfortunately due to no air condition in our rooms windows are the only option for fresh air. We hand out free ear plugs from reception to reduce the noise volume. We hope you have a great time traveling on.

Thanks Nomads Auckland Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Auckland hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I'm currently sat in my room at Nomads, its 2:42am i haven't been to sleep yet and doubt i will tonight, i feel like i'm in the middle of a sweaty nightclub. (So thought i'd make the most of my time and write my review) No fan in the room so you have the have the window open and the noise from the bar downstairs is unbelievable, I asked for a quieter room when i booked and was apparently given a room furthest from the bar. We're on the 6th floor but like I said we might as well be in the club!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackmasonjoinery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadine K, Manager at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Hi there,
thank you very much for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you experienced excessive heat in your room while staying with us. Unfortunately we don't have air-conditioning inside the hostel. We will purchase further fans but fresh air is still the better option which unfortunately increases the noise level. We hand out free ear plugs at reception as well. Hopefully you enjoyed the rest of your travels.

Thanks Nomads Auckland Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly and helpful staff and great location. Now that's the positives over with.

Me and my fiancée stayed in a private room with an en suite bathroom but with no windows. We thought this would be ok as it was only for one night. It was quite possibly the worst experience we have ever had. I can not believe its legal to have a room with no ventilation. It was so hot that we had to prop the door open at night with the bin and also borrow a fan off reception. It must have been over 30 degrees in there.

Best avoided but generally looked clean for a hostel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oxchops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadine K, Manager at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Hi there,
thank you very much for your review. We are glad to hear that you were pleased with our staff during your stay. We are sorry about the heat you experienced in your room. Unfortunately we don't have air-conditioning inside the hostel and we only have about 2 very hot months per year. We will purchase further fans to make the heat more bearable especially in our no window rooms.
We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels.

Thanks,
Nomads Auckland Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Recently stayed in an 8 bed room.You guys have a bug problem I have big insect bites all over my arms and a nasty red one on my torso other people in my room got bites aswell Will never stay here again

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadine K, Manager at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Hi there,
we are very sorry to hear that you got bitten while staying with us. At this time of year due to the humidity there are lots of insects and mosquitos around town and it is hard to avoid them. Can you please email us in which room you stayed in so we can get our housekeeping team to inspect it? Our email address is info@nomadsauckland.com
Thanks very much,
Nomads Auckland Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Datchet
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 8, 2012

The hostel I agree has a good location. However my private double room had the following faults the bed squeaked like mad! As there was a single bunk bed above the double bed I could see various graffitti etched/written in the wooden slats!! The bathroom although quite clean had a drain in the floor which smelt intermittantly!! My room was on floor 5 and the noise from what I assume is the bar was atrocious until about 3am even shutting my window made no difference.

The staff apart from Zoe I found indifferent! Zoe was friendly and did provide one Godsend on my arrival to hostel early in morning after a red eye flight from Perth I was allowed to check in early and as no bar noise I did get a few hours sleep. Little did I know I would later need it!!!!

Also the travel shop for this hostel was where I booked my Magic Pass. I gave clear instructions with the days and stated flying out of Wellington on 13th Dec. Despite this they requested to Magic I was booked on the bus back to Auckland!!! Needless to say I found this out when I phoned to double check things!!!

Room Tip: Don't stay here unless you really want to party all night in their bar and aren't a discerni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jujitsuqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadine K, Manager at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Hi there,

thank you very much for your review. Unfortunately we are surrounded by bars/night clubs where the noise is out of our control but we hand out free ear plugs to our guests to ease the noise level. As we like to improve on our customer service at all time I would like to know more about your staff experience and also the travel shop where you experienced a misunderstanding when planning your trip. If you could please email me under nadine@nomadsworld.com

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels.

Thanks Nomads Auckland Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

My friends and I stayed here for one night and couldn't have possibly stayed any longer. We stayed in a 12 person dorm and the smell inside was almost unbearable. There were toenails in the luggage drawers and holes in our beds. The bathroom was next door and not pleasant in the least. In it there was a hand dryer that woke most of the people in the room any time it was used. The window in the room had to be kept open all night due to the smell and the heat which was inconvenient seeing as there was a club going until all hours in the morning. I could not recommend this place to anyone but the location is good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vonbe123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadine K, Manager at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Hi there,
thank you for your review. We are shocked to hear that you found toe nails in your drawer. This is not acceptable!
Our large dorms are getting very busy and due to the amount of people in the rooms the windows have to stay open. We do offer smaller size of dorm rooms, like 4-8 bed dorms.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels and hope you will decide to give us another chance please contact us under info@nomadsauckland.com so that we can look after you.

Thanks Nomads Auckland Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland
0.1 mi away
Mercure Auckland
Mercure Auckland
#28 of 67 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,063 reviews
0.3 mi away
Base Auckland Central Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Queen Street Backpackers
Queen Street Backpackers
#55 of 113 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.8 mi away
YHA Auckland City
YHA Auckland City
#20 of 113 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quest on Queen
Quest on Queen
#56 of 113 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel

Property: Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel
Address: 16 - 20 Fort Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 113 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Backpack in style at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel. We're located in a beautiful historic building in downtown Auckland, near everything you need for your stay in this fantastic city. Come stay at our stylish, upmarket hostel in the central city, We have some female-only dorms as well as mixed dorms and private rooms! We have great facilities, with a friendly atmosphere and crew who will cater to your every whim. Our travel staff were hand-picked to ensure you will have a trip to remember!We're in an awesome downtown Auckland location, close to Vector Arena, Skytower, Viaduct Harbour, the train station and all the downtown shops - it's the perfect place to stay in Auckland. Our facilities include 24-hour reception, Global Gossip internet and Wi-Fi, and a rooftop kitchen with panoramic views of the city and harbour. We have free tea and coffee, free travel advice (no booking fees) and free 2-for-1 drinks vouchers at check-in. Hang out on our rooftop sundeck, communal kitchen or our lounge with Sky TV. Chill out in our free sauna and rooftop spa then head down to Fort Street Union Bar to meet travellers from all over the world. We put on free and cheap daily activities all around Auckland. FREE 30min WIFI each day. FREE Tea & Coffee FREE Sauna FREE Heated Spa FREE Travel advice (no booking fees) FREE/Cheap daily activities around Auckland ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hotel Auckland Central
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing