We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Table for two?”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Baduzzi

Baduzzi
Ranked #22 of 2,225 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Table for two?”
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

No reservations here for 2 so turn up and hope for the best. Wednesday at 20:00 and the place was full but we were seated quickly so we were lucky - a great start. Don't chance a weekend though. Atmosphere is good - bustling with a good vibe. On the dark side and the menu script is small and red so a challenging read! The prices are reasonable with average to small size portions. The food is quite good - mains appear to all look the same! We had the veal and beef but we could not tell the difference on delivery! Both were good though.
The service whilst attentive is in my opinion far too quick. Good Italian food is to be savoured not rushed. My daughter's plate was removed whilst she was still eating and minutes later after declaring that we did not require a desert we were presented with the bill! If I had wanted fast food I would have gone to Burger King. In and out in 45 minutes is far too fast unless you have a train to catch.This is the difference between a 4 and 5.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    352
    154
    67
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
85 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“GOOD NEW ADITION TO THE WATERFRONT”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Lunch at Baduzzi,
choices of small tapa type plates, we had meatballs, and tongue
together with a antipasta plate with cured meat.
Every dish was great, service was good, wine by the glass was reasonable priced, although the measure a bit small
overall I can recommend this new adition

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HERMAN3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, NZ
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic rustic Italian food”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

The stars for me were the grilled sardines and the flat iron steak tagliata, but everything we had was good. Service was a bit disjointed (as another reviewer has said, scatty) with too many different waiters coming up to the table not knowing which stage of the dinner we were up to.

The prices seem low when you read the menu, but they do add up. For the quality of the food it's well worth it but don't go to Baduzzi expecting a cheap night out.

Baduzzi doesn't take bookings and is insanely popular, so the best way of getting a table without too long a wait is to turn up early, before 6.30pm.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TPANDAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great new spot”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

This place is getting rave reviews from media and punters - and these are well deserved in my mind. Didn't know this had opened until last weekend so popped in last night about 6.00 pm. Had a couple of lovely starters ( sardines - great and cray fish meatballs - sensational). Couple of wines and beers ( draft peroni) and then had lovely mains ( duck pasta and rabbit ravioli both great). Reasonably priced / comfortable seats / very efficient staff. We will be back. No bookings for small numbers which is fine by me!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mickmiller583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
226 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Really excellent Italian food - very impressed. Service was not overly friendly and we did not feel all that welcome.

No high chairs for babies...really? We counted four babies at the time we visited (late Sunday morning).

Terrible choice of music (house and loud hiphop before noon!).

Good wine list and really good food will definitely make us come back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sinbarambam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baduzzi also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Baduzzi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing