We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed!”
Review of Miss Clawdy

Miss Clawdy
Ranked #163 of 2,327 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Helensville, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mixed!”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Early dinner on a Saturday night - pleasant waiter, quick service. Ordered a jug of julip, got a jug of marguerita - tasted great so didn't send it back!!! Po'boys very disappointing - 3 tiny oysters and a sprinkling of salad, but the fries (one serve, enough for 3 to share) were fantastic as was the aoili dip. Good size bowl of tasty gumbo with plenty of vegetables, a couple of shrimp and a small piece of overcooked crayfish. Enough food for a quick dinner. A couple of beers, jug of drink, one po'boy, one serve fries, 4 mains - $146.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank indigoblue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    78
    51
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Fun”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We were warned it was going to busy and that our food would be half an hour away so we were happy with our tall table and stools. The sharing plates came out almost immediately and the Gumbo was lovely. I appreciated the fact that the Creole style food didn't blow my head off but had a lovely warmth to it. Guacamole with underripe avocado..oops...but still tasty. The fried oyster Po'boy was yummy despite The Wallet complaining it was a sin to cook oysters. Probably not the best cooking on the Viaduct but such a buzz to go somewhere with atmosphere and vibe. The cocktails served in a jug are just delightful and yum and altogether $100 for three of us was perfect.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
447 reviews
252 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Interesting Alternative, Disappointing Flavours”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

My wife and I came here for an early dinner one Saturday night (at 6pm), before taking in a show in the CBD; we had read a review which rated it highly, however we were disappointed. The place is very casual (e.g., light bulbs strung across the room for lighting) and was buzzing when we arrived. There are tables with stools out front, although there's just a view of the street (it's one back from the North Wharf/Wynyard Qtr). We chose to eat at the back where the chairs are more comfortable. Tables are very small and the dishes come out more or less together, so everythings becomes abit ofa jumble. Service was friendly and efficient. The music is soul and to our liking, but was far too loud. Don't come here for a romantic dinner!
The prices are very reasonable - e.g., Po' Boys (which are like large sliders) are only $11; and mains are only $15-22 each. Whilst we enjoyed the flavours of a Cuban Po'Boy, the pork belly main ($22) was disappointing - the dish was quite fatty and the crackle not cooked enough. My wife had snapper and cockles ($19.50) for her main; the cockles were over cooked and the fish did'nt smell that fresh. Our biggest disappointment however was the lack of spice - we read it's a Cajun, Creole, Mexican cross - where is the "heat"?? We finished with a key lime & torched meringue pie dessert (only $10); good size however it was'nt fully cooked and the flavour balance was'nt right. Two entrees, 2 glasses of red Pinot wine, 2 mains, 2 sides and 1 shared dessert, the bill came to $116 - very reasonable. Not sure we'll be back in a hurry though.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Skin197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
“A buzzy atmosphere with good food”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

An impromptu Saturday lunch with friends became a fun experience. Loved the location and the ambience of the restaurant. Thought the waitresses looked fab and were attentive and efficient. We shared ribs, jerk chicken, fish tacos, hand cut fries and the homemade corn chips with guacamole which were just the best!! I can't understand so many bad reviews. The restaurant was packed full when we were there and everyone seemed to be having a great time. I recommended it to friends for a birthday lunch and they had a fantastic experience as well. We would certainly return and keep recommending!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BevyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii, United States
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fast food joint!”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I was born in New Orleans and grew up on the south. This is not southern food or its a very poor interpretation. We ordered 4 dishes and asked they not all come the same time. Within 7 minutes of ordering all 4 came out! Hushpuppies are made with cornmeal not gluey flour. The ribs had a very strange taste as if old or microwaved. The po boy should be on a warm crispy baguette with a spicy remoulade sauce this was cold uninteresting roll with little taste. The shrimp themselves were good but the whole thing was poorly presented. The only redeeming dish was the jerk chicken. We never order dessert but we were still hungry so we tried the cobbler highly recommended by the herald review. The first bite was a mouth full of flour. Someone forgot the rest of the ingredients and had obviously been microwaved as part of it was hot and part cold. We mentioned to the waiter that the hush puppies and ribs were particular disappointing. We fully expected someone to come over to talk to us. No one did. They took those 2 off the bill but that wasn't the point. We had been told by the person who seated us that the kitchen or management would love our feedback. We had joked with her I am from the south in a very southern accent so we were disappointed no one seemed to care. It seems popularity may be killing their food quality and they have resorted to pre prepared food and shortcuts. It tasted like bad fast food sadly

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miss Clawdy also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Miss Clawdy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing