We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food and service, enlivening atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mekong Baby

Mekong Baby
Ranked #18 of 2,200 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Mekong Baby takes diners on an adventurous tour down the Mekong River, offering sophisticated, authentic Southeast Asian flavours and a mixology of spices. Every dish has unique, intensified flavour profiles and is made from absolutely the freshest produce.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service, enlivening atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

We were walkins on a very busy night.
Our reception was welcoming and we had a wee wait at the bar with very attentive bar staff.
the food is fabulous asiany fusiony sharing plates
the waiters were lively, smiley and, very importantly, well trained and well-versed on the menu.
Good prices too.
We'll go back

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank The_Freemonts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    386
    144
    34
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Great food and lethal cocktails!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

We went here on the last night of our tour of New Zealand, recommended by a local and friend. We actually ended up here having tried to eat at Depot again - but on finding it closed we took a cab to Ponsonby. And I am glad we did as the food here was just as delicious but very different. Great South Asian flavours, and some of the best pork belly and wagyu beef I have ever eaten.

Since we hadn't booked and it was a Saturday night we had to wait about an hour for a table, which was fine as we just sat at the bar and worked our way through the cocktail list. And some of those cocktails are lethal (the bar staff are "proper" skilled mixologists.)

It was busy all evening and the atmosphere was great. Would recommend booking in advance if you don't want to end up getting as drunk as we did!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank skibunny_1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Not good enough”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

We were catching up with some good friends after being away for a couple of years. They booked the table for 6.30pm, as that was what was available at late notice.
The place was buzzing and the service was swift - too swift.
We ordered a few cocktails, some of which were a mystery to our waitress who called over back up. Cocktails ordered, we ordered a few nibbles to start with, while we caught up. The food arrived before I'd had a first sip of my drink. Way, way too fast.
We felt that the only way to slow things down was to order food as we needed it. We were sharing everything and wanted a leisurely meal.
Having no idea of the time, we were suddenly asked to move to an outside table mid meal, as we'd taken too long over dinner and the next diners were coming in!! (apparently this was told to the person who made the booking, but he wasn’t aware of it)
We were too busy having fun with our friends to get into any dialogue about how wrong this was, we just took our things and moved outside where we continued our meal. For the prices that are being charged, there is NO WAY that this should happen. The food was great, the service passable, without any moments of brilliance.
We sat eating and drinking until after 10.30pm, and our bill reflected the cocktails, several bottles of (good) wine, food, dessert and whiskies adding up to a few hundred dollars.
The whole idea of being moved mid meal when spending hundreds of dollars is really bad form. Talking it over the next morning, we felt that the staff did not go out of their way to make it a pleasant experience, or try to reorganise things to leave us be.
So often the hospitality industry forgets about being hospitable. They have a lot to learn here.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrBowker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
72 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Yum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Found a nice outside table on a very warm evening, great location and atmosphere. Instead of mains we ordered a number of entree plates, a good move as we got to try lots of different things. Food was very good, lots of good people watching as we sat on a busy street, all in all highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MF100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
307 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Mekong Yum Scrum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

Had a really tasty meal here with some good friends. We had an awesome betel nut starters and some awesome duck red curry, lamb shoulder and beef and basil. The food tasted real. so real. Had some good service which was really chilled and up beat considering how busy it was. Boom.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shaun T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mekong Baby also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Mekong Baby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing