We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rave about Indoi” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Indoi

Indoi
Ranked #982 of 2,198 Restaurants in Auckland
Price range: $7 - $18
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Ancient Greeks defined people from India as “Indoi”. However, our team at Indoi is defining the authentic Indian cuisine. From preparation of our food to its presentation, all the elements are considered patiently to ensure that our customers leave with mouth-watering memories and look forward to returning.Team at Indoi believes that it is important to serve the customers in such a way that each meal presented turns into a feast. Having this philosophy in mind, the kitchen sources all the fresh ingredients locally, prepare them with spices from India and cook them for the customers on a daily basis.It is also important for team at Indoi to present their meals in an authentic Indian style that represents the true Indian feast. From Head Chef to our Front Staff, each and every member of the team is working together to ensure that not only the customers are satisfied but also a benchmark is created for others in the industry.
Yeppoon, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Rave about Indoi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

We loved the food of Indoi - brilliant curries, freshly baked naan bread ($3), good sized portions and reasonably priced. We shared a Korma and a Madras ($15 each) which were some of the best curries we have eaten. The rice was cooked to perfection. There were few customers on the night we visited - not sure if it was because of the heavy rain or whether it's Indoi's location in a side street of Newmarket.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Deb_C630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    4
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
88 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good lunch deals with curry rice and drink for 10 dollars”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Good food and service, Friendly staff and great lunch deals combo. This is located in a quiet street and slightly hidden.
Service can improve further by allowing slightly different variance requested by customers by choice and charge difference for choice.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shawankit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
50 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fency, cheap and good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

This place is so good. Their curries are the best (mainly the chicken one). Even though they look fency, the food is very cheap. I recommend.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TripperBSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tasty food ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Went to the restaurant yesterday with the family. Food was tasty and reasonably priced. We had a Groupon voucher for 4. If you're planning on buying the voucher, it's totally worth it.

Service was very friendly, good on you guys.

What's up with the egg tray design on the wall, oh God. Please remove that. Have a theme for each table. Ideas per table are, desert forts in Rajasthan, like the fort in Jodhpur and in Jaisalmer. Next could be the famous hill railways, one in Shimla, Darjeeling, Ooty etc. Next could be the 18th century churches in Goa and the goan way of life. Beauty of Kanyakumari where the 3 seas meet.

Please focus on the decor. All the best for the future.

Helpful?
Thank love_travelling1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“Too good to keep a secret”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

It was such a shame that we were two of only a few customers ( 7.30pm on a Friday night). This place deserves to be crammed.

Probably best Indian I have had in Auckland- very tasty, non greasy and some modern/fusion dishes as well, that worked.

Very pleasant and attentive staff-perhaps a little too attentive , but probably due to the few customers.

Prices unbelievably reasonable, as was the win, although wine list could have been a bit more extensive

and-a dying breed a BYO-which INDOI need to advertise more widely.

Definitley getting a party together for next time soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Raewyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indoi also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland Region, North Island
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Indoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing