We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the place to be seen”

The Blue Breeze Inn
Ranked #86 of 2,327 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
alofi
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“the place to be seen”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

very busy place , had to drink and eat in a rush as the tables are all booked all night, lots of very trendy people all around
nice selection of beers i never heard of , but at $10 a bottle i only had 2
the menu is tiny in size and in portions, most of it had pig in it so i had the few dishes that had veg/chicken
the 5 of us drank a little shared a few plates spent over $250 and than looked for a place to eat , sort of an expensive place for having basicly appetizers only

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank avi r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    124
    29
    21
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland , New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Unique vibrant and unusual...”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

There was buzz on the streets about this place and everything I had heard was realised a couple of Friday nights ago when I finally got to sample this unique refreshing vibrant loud buzzy place.
I felt like I was in an old Hawaiian movie.. the place was packed and truly bulging at the seams. You had to choose your table well as some had mini stools ( I could imagine myself falling off one so we moved tables to avoid them). However I was in an aisle and must say my back was bumped every time a waiter went past ( which really started to p me off)... HOWEVER... the really groovy bamboo'ed atmosphere... mixed with the Hawaiian shirted staff made for a relaxing and interesting place to eat.
Then the food arrived.....

We chose 4 starters... pork buns, prawn wontons and 2 others... On their own they were good, tasty even and very hot....but add the most tasty chilli sauce that came with them and soy sauce on the table and OMG yum yum yum. Very tasty food.
For mains we had a lamb dish, a vegetarian dish, a fish dish and veges. Again tasty but not quite as good as those amazing starters...)
Overall a fun experience to keep you feeling alive... and the best cocktail I've had in.....ever. (something lime and at $10 it was amazing)...
Definitely would go back when in the mood for little conversation, tasty Hawaiian influenced Asian food all in a loud buzzy environment where you feel you have left NZ behind for a little while...

PS: I think lunch would be a lot quieter and calmer making it a totally different atmosphere to the Friday night buzz we had... I'll let you know when I get back for lunch..

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnaaABPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“This place is super fab”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

GREAT design, top friendly, helpful service, outstanding food, great drinks...this place has it all. Put it on the top of your list!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Samara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Get the pork buns!”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Went here for lunch. Great or going with friends and getting a few small plates to share (especially the pork buns). My rum cocktail was also delicious.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Asian-fusion food”
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Really busy restaurant with great atmosphere. Staff are really friendly and the good is great.
Great restaurant to share food as meals don't all come out at once and so many yummy things to try. My favourite is the cured salmon raw salad.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ProctorFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Breeze Inn also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to The Blue Breeze Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing