We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very funky and HUGE portions (you've been warned)”

The Blue Breeze Inn
Ranked #94 of 2,271 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Saigon
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very funky and HUGE portions (you've been warned)”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Knew nothing about this place when we visited. Looked like the Tiki Lounge because everything was decked-out in Polynesian style - even the menu covers. But on the inside, the entire menu was Chinese/Asian. A bit odd, and nothing to explain why this might be the case.

The only space left was at the open kitchen and I marveled at the lack of kitchen equipment for the size of the place. These guys produce magic from nothing, it seems.

Everything was super-tasty, and super-sized (no warning from the wait staff unfortunately). The ma po tofu could feed 4 people!

Only one hiccup ... we ordered the ribs and we were presented with pork belly pieces, and told they were ribs. Ridiculously tender and delicious so no-one complained (but later we saw the ribs go by on another plate and they looked awesome, so perhaps we had just a teensy, tiny, little bit of remorse).

Very friendly staff, lots of friendly banter.

All-in-all, a GREAT night out, lots of atmosphere, very casual, zero snobbery.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    118
    27
    21
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great spot for Asian snackin' in the sun.”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We arrived at 6pm on a Saturday (over a long weekend), so got table in the sun. We were really only here for drinks and several shared plates, so got a few different dumpling, wonton and buns to munch. All were so fresh and flavorsome. Definitely recommend the prawn dumplings and the shitake mushroom ones in a spicy broth. The GF loved the pork belly and pickled cucumber bun. Cocktails were also great. Service was so-so, but the food came out quickly and the place seemed cramped,even though it wasn't fully pumping... although that could add to the whole pan-asian vibe of busy cramped street market dining??

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Josh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Modern Chinese at its best.”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I have been here twice now. Once for lunch and once for dinner, both times the food, wine and cocktails were amazing.The restaurant was busy with a good vibe both times. The first time the waiter was so helpful and knowledgable about the extensive food and wine menu that I gave him a well deserved $30 tip. Sadly the second time the waitress was terrible, we didn't get everything we ordered but it showed up on the bill. Thankfully the manager was on to it, corrected the mistake and apologised.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
314 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Blue Breeze Bangin”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This place is new on the scene but it does rock. The pork buns were great starters. The ribs were also great as were the Asian veggies. The lamb curry is also hard to beat. Really enjoyed this meal and the vibe is pretty cool.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shaun T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Busy but great”
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Loved this restaurant, it was a very busy Wednesday night,but from all accounts that seems to be the norm for Blue Breeze Inn.
Our friends wanted experience the food, and check it out after just returning from Europe, and we can say that it was a fantastic night. Loud, happy people were enjoying it as well, we like that in a funky place.
Food was not a disappointment, we chose several dishes from the small section and reordered,because, the dumplings were so good.Loved the Bang Bang Chicken it was a hit all round. The ducking, divine , the fish hot and spicy and beautifully cooked and presented. We loved it.
However the consensus was that we would go next time for a long lunch and probably try to,sit outside where it was a little quieter. But definitely return.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Wistaria_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Breeze Inn also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to The Blue Breeze Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing