We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I can wait another 35 years...”

Wellingtons Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #281 of 2,231 Restaurants in Auckland
Price range: $11 - $35
Cuisines: European, New Zealand, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Wellington's restaurant & bar resides at Auckland's iconic Waipuna Hotel & Conference Centre, situated on the shores of a picturesque salt water lagoon.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“I can wait another 35 years...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

I went there 35 years ago, went again last night...

The desserts were their best product, plus the soup [vegetable] was nice, all the mains I tried were dissapointing.

They are set up for large family/social groups, it's a nice setting.

The ham was dried out, the stews were average.

It was almost as average as Valintines.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank davethekiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    18
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rangiora, New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very pricey breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

I understand that this restaurant caters for the guests at the hotel but after paying the room rate to stay I would have thought it would have been better value for the breakfast. A cooked breakfast was $32 and the continental was $23. When I asked about just a light Toast option was told it was part of continental option only. Service to the table was slow and we had finished before being offered any hot drinks by which time we had to go. I would recommend trying out one of the local cafes for breakfast as would work out much more economic.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank gahchch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fine but pricey for what there was”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Did not have the buffet option but chose from the a la carte (duck and steak). The food was nice, but not much of it for the price ($39 and $35). More vegetables accompanying the meal would make it more reasonable. Ditto the hot chocolate which was served in a small tumbler glass: again, a more generous serving would make this restaurant more reasonable. This is a hotel restaurant but is not in central Auckland and prices should reflect that - and presumably encourage more diners. Service could also be improved, eg. topping up water, removing empty plates etc more quickly. Our server, though, was polite and friendly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ange29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Food Always to same good standard”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Always good quality food and friendly staff. Very helpful with any issues. Good to be able to choose from A La Carte or buffet.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank PCMcT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wellingtons Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland Region, North Island
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland Region, North Island
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Wellingtons Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing