We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great atmosphere and service for drinks with friends” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ragu Wine Bar and Restaurant - CLOSED

Ragu Wine Bar and Restaurant
Price range: $10 - $29
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, European, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: We encourage people to experience the Italian style dining where you meet up with the whole family or group of friends for a relaxed get together and enjoy great food and beverage but more importantly each others company. We have a kids corner for the well behaved young members of the family to enjoy themselves, while the mums, dads, aunties, uncles and friends catch up over a coffee or vino.Ragu is owned by Mandy Lusk, Eugene Gibson and Steve McKenzie. Combined they have more than 50 years hospitality experience, and love to share their passion for the industry. It is a place they have put together for the neighbourhood families, friends and anyone who enjoys great food, wine and service.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and service for drinks with friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We gathered a few friends together for birthday drinks at the Wine Bar at Ragu Restuarant. The wine selection was excellent, the service friendly and efficient, the fire warm and inviting. It was a hassle-free, fun celebration. The bar is quite separate from the restaurant, so as not to disturb diners. I would highly recommend Ragu for this type of get-together.
We have previous eaten at the restaurant several times. We enjoy the small plates type dining available and the food has always been delicious!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    2
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

We went here with four friends and had an excellent time. Everything was good: the bartender was friendly and professional, our server was attentive and helpful without hovering too much. The food was a real treat. Our table ordered risotto, onion rings (incredible!), gnocchi (huge!) and steak. Our desserts were incredible: apple crumble cheesecake... coconut and passionfruit creme brulée.

There's also a fabulous looking tapas/small plate menu which I plan to come back and try!

The "worst" thing we could say about the place is it was a little dark - it didn't bother me but some of our friends whipped out their iPhone's torch app in order to read the menu.

Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueKitsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Been here a few times and never disappoints! Food awesome and reasonably priced, try the hot plate tapas, small selection but arguably best tasting in Auckland. Service is excellent, staff are engaging. The atmosphere is just how i like it which is soft dim lighting and a great place in the winter. If you are looking for a great restaurant you need to try this hidden gem! Couldn't recommend higher.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank McBanjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Been here a few times. One of our local places to eat. The food is great and the staff are attentive and helpful. Great place for a relaxing dinner

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KeithDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ragu Wine Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing