We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Freshness”
Review of Ortolana

Ortolana
Ranked #21 of 2,272 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Freshness”
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Is it possible to get fresher vegetables in a restaurant? Ortolana's salads are the very best and the desserts are such innovative variations. Servers are friendly and on to it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linnells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    471
    193
    54
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
314 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Simply delicious”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Had a really good dinner with my partner. We share one of the flatbreads which was so tasty. It was a padiana with mushrooms. For mains we had a lovely pasta dish and also the beef shin which was a good size helping and sooooo tasty. The service was just what u expect as was the explanation of the menu. Really had a fun time and will be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shaun T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ortolana or....”
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Our breakfast brunch was a great after umming and ahhing about our options down in the Britomart area. Staff were professional and welcoming and our shiitake polenta was delicious.
Lovely ambience and good coffee.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank KAGOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raglan
Level Contributor
117 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Go here if you only go to one restaurant in Auckland”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

WOW is all we can say cleaver smart delicious food served by experienced well trained staff .
We went as family group of four and because the restaurant was full and the wait was 50 minutes we went next door for dessert at Milse which is owned by the same people see my review for this place .
After a fantastic desert we had a brilliant meal and considering we had two courses each and drinks the bill was very reasonable.
I had been told that the this place was rated as one of auckland finest and i fully agree with that statement .
Worth the wait even in the rain !!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank raglantripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Let down....”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Had been looking forward to going to Ortolana for some time, unfortunately neither the meal or service lived up to expectations.

Was part of a group of 8 friends, started off well enough with prompt drinks service and shared starters, however after the waiting staff cleared away the entree plates they seemed to lose interest - menus were removed and brought back to the table several times and we ordered several more drinks which failed to materialise at the table, a few too many reminders later and they finally turned up. Everything seemed to be a bit disjointed at this point with half the table ordering but then the waitress disappeared and returning to complete the mains order.

Most of the group had the lamb main meal which was very tasty, however the portions were quite small and without the sides of potatoes and salads then we would have left hungry. The biggest let down was the fact that one of the group ordered the mozzarella dish as a main (which was pointed out to the waiting staff at the time of ordering), the dish was delivered to one end of the table and the waitress stated it was for the "table to share", unfortunately it turned out to be main meal which had been ordered and before the mistake was realised it had been mostly eaten.

I thought the prices at Ortolana were good and the selection of wines and beers very good but I wouldn't return to Ortolana in a hurry, there's far better in the area with Cafe Hanoi and Mexico around the same price.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ealingguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ortolana also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Ortolana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing