We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a breakfast!”
Review of Ortolana

Ortolana
Ranked #21 of 2,271 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
623 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“What a breakfast!”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Never have I experienced such a breakfast! Not your usual eggs and bacon, etc, but truly gourmet combinations which were amazing. Genuinely friendly service, generous serves and great value. Wish we were staying longer to sample their lunch. Highly recommended!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Randall K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    470
    193
    54
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
96 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I had lunch with a couple of friends at Ortolana the other day. The food is excellent.
I didn't find it noisy at all. The restaurant was full when we arrived as you can't book. It was a fine but brisk day and while Ok outside , it didn't take long to be seated inside. The service was terrific. We will be back

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank coatesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
280 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“This is what a great restaurant should be!”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

My lovely wife and I decided to celebrate our wedding anniversary at Ortolana. It turned out to be a very good choice. From the moment we entered the delightful waiting staff (especially Felicitus) made us feel very welcome. The menu was explained very well to us and the suggestions offered were superb choices.Given you can't book we dined on a Sunday evening and noticed the place was almost totally full; whats more, the tables turned over at least twice while we we there. The food is flavoursome, with great texture and presented to you so there are not too many plates on the table at any time. As soon as one's finished another arrives. We shared four entrees and a side dish, and desserts. We tried the beef carpaccia, the fish carpaciia with grapefruit, the cauliflower, and a couple of other delicious dishes. They were all sensational but there are two things about dining at Ortolana that sets it apart from even the very best restaurants in Auckland. The first is pretty much all of the wines come by glass, and the case of Chateau Yquem you can even have a taste (37.5ml). Not having to buy a full bottle of wine is such a great idea. The second is that sparkling mineral water is provided free and topped up regularly by the always attentive staff. We had gelato paddlepops and the rhubarb for dessert. The white chocolate and pistassios and the double chocolate paddlepops were the best icecreams I've ever had and the deconstructed rhubarb was out of this world. The wines we tried were a Fromm La Strada Pinot, a Kumeu River Hunting Hill Cahrdonnay, and with dessert a delicious Pedro Xeminez and a taste of the Chateua Yquem 2004. If you have a special occasion to celebrate go. This place is sensational and the architectur of the building interesting as well.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daylesford, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This restaurant is the bomb in terms of casual contemporary dining”
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Visit this restaurant - you will not be disappointed if you like respectful cooking in a relaxed environment. Interesting but limited wine list.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LakeHouse3460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
352 reviews
258 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Impressive”
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Modern, chic and interesting. Superb table service. Menu is a challenge until you have deciphered the code - perhaps they should hold training courses! Nevertheless our food choices were delicious and the other dishes looked equally appertising and interesting. Just what we are expecting to see in an increasingly mature and discerning market. Very well done.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank PedroNP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ortolana also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Ortolana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing