We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab new addition to St Heliers”

St Heliers Bay Cafe & Bistro
Ranked #129 of 2,276 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Opened December 2012
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
179 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Fab new addition to St Heliers”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Excellent food, good service, great location, good value.
A new addition to the St Heliers scene, well worth a visit, if you can get in (it's very popular)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Loyal-QPR-Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    79
    22
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Brilliant food and service with asweome views of St Heliers Bay”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had brunch there with my young children, my partner and my parents. The brunch menu was outstanding (poached eggs with a selection of smoked snapper or black pudding for instance) and desserts as well (valrhona chocolate tart).
Service was also outstanding throughout our meal.

When we got there it was full but they give you a buzzer which has a1km radius so we went for a walk on the beach for 15 min before we got buzzed. Perfect.

Highly recommended, by far the best place to eat in St Heliers.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maurine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great view, disappointing experience!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We were eager to try this Cafe and went on Monday, for a early lunch. I can understand that it was a sunny day but the service was rushed and one felt very pressured to ordering and eating quickly. Interesting enough even with been pressured to order, the delivery of the drinks and food was delayed. What I totally took exception to was the fact that as soon as we were finished our main meals, a waitress took our plates and assumed that we wanted the 'check' - without asking if we wanted dessert or coffees. It put a huge damper on the lunch and to be frank we could not wait to leave! The duck salad was average, with way to much fat on the meat which was left behind but the wine selection was very good. I will give the location and view 5 stars, but the service and atmosphere was unpleasant. I would definitely not recommend this establishment if you are wanting a relaxed lunch, unless you prepared to put up with impatient and pushy waitresses. Certainly seems that the previous reviews have been good, and I am certainly hoping that our experience was a isolated one.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rahui New Zeala... G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great for ladies lunch!”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

This new cafe is fantastic! We went there for a ladies lunch and had a beautiful meal! Food was yummy - slow cooked porchetta with Apple coleslaw, Wine was great and lovely outlook and atmosphere! Would highly recommend the drive! We went on a Friday at around 12.30pm and had to wait 30 mins (you cant book) - but did so happily outside in the sun. Recommend that if you go in a group, go before 12pm.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mccracks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful restaurant. Beautiful, fancy people. Amazing service. Great food. We are very happy to finally have a local spot that measures up. All the other cafe's in the area charge just as much but cannot compare in service or quality.

Helpful?
1 Thank Paleoseaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St Heliers Bay Cafe & Bistro also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to St Heliers Bay Cafe & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing