We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What have you done to the showers?”
Review of Ascotia off Queen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ascotia off Queen
Ranked #54 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What have you done to the showers?”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We stayed here 6 months ago and really enjoyed our stay. Small rooms but perfectly functional and lovely hot, strong showers. Last week we stayed again but boy have things changed. 5 minutes running the water before it got hot because the water pressure has been reduced so drastically that it's a fight to get wet in the shower! 5mm off boiling hot on the shower mixer and it's freezing cold. Complained to staff but opted not to move, thinking it must have been a change they made to all their plumbing. Left my card on check out asking that someone contact me concerning this major drop in standard but sadly a week later they have not risen to the challenge.
Will not be staying here again!

Room Tip: Lovely compact rooms, excellent location for K Road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DECONZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishi C, General Manager at Ascotia off Queen, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear DECONZ:
Nothing has changed. Surprised to know that staff did not respond and fix the problem. Checked water pressure and all appears to be perfrect. Only thing I suspect is that number of showers must be switched on at the same time, which could affect temperature as well as flow. Other than that nothing appears to be abnormal. Sorry for this incident. In view of our response, there is no harm in giving us another try !

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    157
    170
    77
    78
See reviews for
34
248
75
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Hi there mates,

My first impression was oh my god the room is small, i had the double room and we were two!

I had the sky city tour view which is really good and beautifull.

is really to close everything cafe, restaurant and bar!
I remember also the korean restaurant next door was really good and its an all you can eat KOREAN BBQ.

the room is really clean and cleaned everyday.

Hope thats was helpful

Cheers

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marl m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishi C, General Manager at Ascotia off Queen, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Marl M:
Yes rooms is not very luxuriously big, but the standard of cleanliness and tidyness we maintain, is very high. Yes the central location where everything that matters is within walking distance such as, Myers Park, Aotea Square, Imax Theatre, Town Hall, Civic Theatre, Sky Tower, Auckland University, Auckland and Starship Hospital, K-Road businesses, Queen Street and its by lane's eateries (although we have our own restaurant). Airport shuttle point is right on door step on Queen Street. We crave to offer value for your money.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Yes the room was small but adequate. But it was CLEAN CLEAN CLEAN. The bathroom was roomy. I was there for two nights and could walk to my meetings.I felt safe and staff were very polite and obliging.Age 60+. Despite it being and fri and sat there was not a lot of noise

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gretal8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishi C, General Manager at Ascotia off Queen, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Gretal8:
Thanks for your positive remarks. Yes, centrally located, with trained and friendly staff, in a neat and tidy room, we will make your stay as comfortable as possible, within affordable limits.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

I stayed at the Ascotia off Queen for 3 days in November. I ended up here mainly due to the location and price. I took a shuttle from the airport that dropped off right at the hotel. It was a little pricy so I took the airport bus back to the airport once I realized the stop was less than a 30 second walk from the hotel.

The hotel room was small, I’m a solo traveler & even for me it was hard to manage mainly because of the weird layout. The room was spotless. The closet was also awkward. It was very small and you couldn’t really hang anything long (like a jacket) in it as it would drag down and cover all of the stuff sitting on the closet shelf (tea pot, cups, sugars, etc). You can’t remove any of that stuff from the closet shelf because there’s nowhere else in the room to place it. I actually almost broke a cup when hanging a jacket due to the weird build of the closet; luckily I caught it as it fell. The bed was very comfortable and my view was of the Sky Tower so that was pleasant. There was construction going on right next to my window at the building next door, the hotel failed to mention any sort of construction on check in. It was annoying on a Saturday morning if you wanted to sleep in past 8-9am. The bathroom was small and designed weird. I had to constantly move the door to get around in there. The shower worked great and again the bathroom was also spotless.

I only ate at the restaurant after checking in, the dinner was good and the bartender was very nice. Front desk personnel answered questions but I wasn’t really impressed. They sort of just gave a basic answer with very little interaction.

The location was EXCELLENT! As the name mentions, it’s right off of Queen Street. There are a lot of restaurants and convenience stores within walking distance up and down Queen St (although none of the restaurants looked appealing to me – so I didn’t eat in the immediate area). I didn’t have to use public transportation (except for ferries) as it was close enough to walk to everything I wanted to see. And the airport bus stop as mentioned is very close by.

Overall, there was nothing special about this hotel but it got the job done for someone who didn’t plan to spend much time or money on a hotel. It meets basic needs: clean, close to sights, easy to/from airport, safe area, reasonable price for me and comfortable bed. I think I read that they are bringing free wifi to the hotel soon as well.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJGirlvTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishi C, General Manager at Ascotia off Queen, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear NJGirlvTheWorld:
Lot of things have changed for better at Ascotia Off Queen.
Though small size the room has been fitted with every convenient equipment and furniture required for a comforable stay. There is a separate side table for tea facilities. The next door building is soon opening as a high star rating Hotel and is nearly finished. So no more noise.
Bathrooms are of comfortable size and brand new installed. Front desk staff is changed which is standard practice in hotel industry, and now very energetic, motivated, friendly and professionally trained people provide excellent customer service. Free WiFi still not within affordability as providers still charge money and we are still waiting for an opportunity to pass on this benefit to customers.

Honestly appreciate your time (though late as you stayed in Nov 2013) to write your candid views of the hotel.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

A really lovely hotel. The reception staff were amazing. They were friendly and extremely helpful and made me feel very welcome in the hotel. The room was very comfortable and had everything I needed. The location of the hotel was also perfect for my trip. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishi C, General Manager at Ascotia off Queen, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Georgina F:

You have covered all our strong points in very few words. Thanks for your time. Yes, we feel proud in our aim to provide best of customer servie through our highly motivated staff who are all trained professionally.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

This is a perfected located Hotel, lterally, just off Queen Street. Safe and secure for an older, solo, female traveller. The Red 'Link" bus stop is very close to Hotel (in Queen Street) and it's only 50cents to travel by bus down to The Quay / Brittomart. It is also walkable if you are so inclined. There are many restaurants in the vacinity -Korean/Asian in Queen Street and a lot more choice and variety up at Karangahape Road (K-Road).
The room I had was on the 8th Floor . Clean and well serviced. Bed and Bathroom OK - and I did not need a desk or Wifi -so can't complain about the room not having these. The only complaint I had was that the 8th Floor was a little musty smelling (could have been an isolated case after extreme weather) and that the lights on the Floor took a little longer to activate at times (again only a concern at night) but did not ever feel unsafe.
I found the staff sporadic in their attention and friendliness - with Monica being the absolute exception (she could not have been more helpful, obliging or polite ).
I would stay here again - but there are also a myriad of similarly priced Hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Only stayed here once and had an 8th Floor room with view towards Sky Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g4georgeSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishi C, General Manager at Ascotia off Queen, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear G4George:
Impressed with your minute and detailed observations. The sensor for the corridor light on 8th floor is now rectified and responds promptly.

For other readers: Hotel is perfect home away from home. Conveniently located from every happening in the CBD. Energetic, young and friendly staff is striving to offer excellent customer service. Management is proud to give value for your money.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for about 4 nights during our visit to Auckland. The room that we were given was tiny to say the least. It was hard for one person to fit in, never mind two people and luggage to boot. Having said that, it is conveniently located, close to the heart of the city and a decent walk from the waterfront (15 minutes). The hotel staff are quite friendly and willing to help you as a tourist though not all of them are too well-versed with the city itself. When you leave the hotel, you immediately get onto the main Queen Street and walking down towards the waterfront, you will come across a number of shopping centres, restaurants, bars and other attractions. It is quite reasonable compared to other hotels in the area and offers good value for money. Don't expect luxury but you can certainly expect a certain degree of comfort and cleanliness...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RD1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishi C, General Manager at Ascotia off Queen, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear RD1810:
Thanks for the praise. As you explained, hotel is right in the heart of CBD and everything is within a walking distance. Lots of printed information available at reception about Auckland City.
Size of the room is just enough to keep you comfortable and serves the purpose of decent stay.
Friendly staff always eager to help you at the slightest opportunity, we take pride in our aim to offer value for your money.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#20 of 67 in Auckland
547 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crown on Cintra Lane
Crown on Cintra Lane
#45 of 67 in Auckland
96 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bianco off Queen
Bianco off Queen
#59 of 67 in Auckland
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#49 of 67 in Auckland
326 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
#30 of 67 in Auckland
215 reviews
0.3 mi away
VR Auckland City
VR Auckland City
#33 of 67 in Auckland
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascotia off Queen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascotia off Queen

Property: Ascotia off Queen
Address: 3 Scotia Place, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ascotia off Queen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort and quality in the heart of Auckland City Centre. Located off Auckland’s iconic Upper Queen Street, Ascotia off Queen is perfectly positioned to maximise the "Auckland Experience." Within short walking distance to Sky Tower, Theatres and the renowned Karangahape Road, Ascotia off Queen is perfectly positioned in the heart of New Zealand’s largest City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ascotia off Queen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascotia Off Queen Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing