We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive value for money”
Review of Ascotia off Queen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ascotia off Queen
Ranked #55 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We wanted a cheap hotel with central location and this hotel defiantly fits the bill. King room had a large comfy bed with big shower. Staff were very friendly and professional. Big bonus is the relatively cheap parking that the hotel offer. Would defiantly stay again.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishi C, General Manager at Ascotia off Queen, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

David R:
Appreciate your candid comments. With strong professional team we pride on our aim to provide excellent customer service and value for money. Centrallly located on Queen Street with everything at stone's throw distance and airport shuttle on door step, tidy Hotel and 24 hrs reception plus more within your budget.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (573)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

433 - 439 of 573 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2013

Me and my partner stayed here for a night.Good ambience with great services by the front office.Clean and tidy rooms with an easy location in the heart of the city.Friendly and cooperative staff.Would wish to visit again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaNeeraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishi C, General Manager at Ascotia off Queen, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Dear LaNeeraj:
Glad to see your happy comments. Your wish to come back and stay with us, is an excellent reward for our team.

To other readers:
We continue to strive to provide value for your money. Clean and tidy rooms with 24 hrs reception service is not only our target. We are hungry to excel in our service to make each and every guest's stay memorable. There are several options in city, but Ascotia Off Queen Hotel is only one. Our team is waiting for an opportunity to serve you.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

I stayed Here for a couple of nights with my wife, It was our Honeymoon. All I could say is this was cheap and very handy with the price and location. Very Nice rooms and service. Our room had a view of the tower as well. The staff was very kind and helpful and room were spotless,
Over all the experience was very good.

Room Tip: Choose 08 Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramandeeep S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishi C, General Manager at Ascotia off Queen, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Dear Ramandeep S:
Appreciate your positive n happy comments. Glad to know your Honeymoon was full of joy.

To our readers:
Our focus is not only on Guests staying today, but also on their next booking. We feel rewarded and motivated when Guest wishes to come back to stay with us. We work 24/7 to hear these comments from our Guests.

To all readers:
We aim to offer value for money. Squeaky clean rooms, 24 hrs reception, together with excellent customer service, right in the centre of the town, where everything is within walking distance - Sky Tower, University Campus, Library, Town Hall, Ferry Point, Britomart Station, Waterfront Cafes and Eateries, Sky City Casino, Karanghape Road businesses, Auckland Hospital, High Street fashion retailers.........and the list is never ending, you are bound to get value for your money.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

I only stayed one night, with an evening check-in and an early morning depature as I was up to see a show. Wonderful hotel. Small but well appointed room. Clean, tidy, cheap and in a great location! Would stay here again for sure! Friendly staff can and do make all the difference!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timmyb15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishi C, General Manager at Ascotia off Queen, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Dear Timmyb15:
I must appreciate your honest comments and your happy memories of stay here must spread all over. We feel proud of our guests comments which motivate us to improve and excell in every department.

For other readers:
Neat and tidy rooms, located in the hub of city right on Queen Street near Sky Tower, Aotea Square, Imax Threatre, K' Road, Myers Park, Ascotia Off Queen Hotel has airport shuttle stop right on door step. Our team strives for guests' comfort and service. Once guests have checked in, our day drill begins to make their stay memorable. We have highly motivated and qualified youngsters in our team.

Regards



I only stayed one night, with an evening check-in and an early morning depature as I was up to see a show. Wonderful hotel. Small but well appointed room. Clean, tidy, cheap and in a great location! Would stay here again for sure! Friendly staff can and do make all the difference!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Me and a friend stayed here one night in room 806. I chose the Ascotia as I was going to the nearby Langham Hotel for a work function and it was a lot cheaper staying here than the Langham. It is quite far up the hill on Queen St so its either a long walk or 50 cent bus ride from downtown (red city Circut buses)

Positives:
Shower had good pressure
Beds were super comfy
City circuit bus route stops just down the road from the hotel which goes up and down Queen St
Short walk up the Queen St to K road and all the trendy stores up there
Room and bathroom were well cleaned
Staff were friendly and helpful
The room I stayed in was on the top floor (level 8), it overlooked Myers park and had a great view of the city and sky tower
Room had opening windows (half pane size)

Negatives:
The room I stayed in was quite small for two people, wouldn't have been so good if staying more than a couple of days and had luggage
Didn't seem to be any exhaust fan in the bathroom
It is down a short side street which had a dodgy look to it (didn't feel unsafe though)
Towels were quite small, if I was a bigger person they wouldn't have fit around my waist
Housekeeping person came in without knocking in the morning while I was still in bed (around 9am)

Overall, I would recommend the Ascotia to someone wanting a cheap, no frills hotel that is comfortable, clean and well located for a short stay in Auckland.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Myers Park are quiet and have good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeremy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishi C, General Manager at Ascotia off Queen, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Dear Jeremy K:

Appreciate your candid comments about cleanliness, comfy beds and friendly service. Each bathroom has ventilation. Towel size is 26"x49" which is bigger than standard size towels in hotels, not luxurious size though. Scotia Place is 30 meter long no exit street off Queen Street. The entrance of Ascotia hotel is well lit and very visible from Queen St. Next door building located at 401 Queen St is under renovation for a Five Star rating up market Hotel which is currently without any lights. Perhaps that building gives feeling of quietness. Knocking at door before entering any room is a standard practice in Hotel. Clear sign of carelessness from housekeeping staff if she or he did not knock at door or did not knock loud enough. My apologies.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

The location is just off Queens St and very handy to the best attractions Auckland has to offer - nightlife and shopping all within walking distance.

The room was very small and very basic. Needs air conditioning really because sleeping with an open window was quite noisy given it is centrally located.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMT_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishi C, General Manager at Ascotia off Queen, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Dear JMT_NZ:
Appreciate your honest and brief comments. We pride in offering value for money at Asociate Off Queen. Yes all main attractions such as Sky Tower, Civic Theatre, IMAX theatre, Aotea Square, High Street stores, Myers Park, K Road retail business and eateries, are within easy walking distance. Airport shuttle stop is at door step. At this point of summer time, we do feel necessity of aircon, which is higher up management decision. We however promptly provide fans on request.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

I stayed here because it was an exceptionally good deal on one of the booking sites. The check in staff member was very efficient and it was a quick process. The internet cost $5 for 24 hours and was of good quality.
Room was small but functional.
However...
The area is fairly central but it is the upper slope of Queen Street, South of Aotea Square which is reflected in the price.
The lack of Air Conditioning is a MAJOR issue. It really is too warm to sleep comfortably at night and while the windows open there is no through breeze to assist and also there are no fans, ceiling or standing, to assist.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Albywon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishi C, General Manager at Ascotia off Queen, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Albywon:
Thank you for feedback. In order to avoid crowding the room with gudgets, we rather promptly offer fan on request in this hot weather. We are happy to provide value for money.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Crown on Cintra Lane
Crown on Cintra Lane
#42 of 66 in Auckland Central
100 reviews
0.1 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#23 of 66 in Auckland Central
567 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#36 of 66 in Auckland Central
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#51 of 66 in Auckland Central
346 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bianco off Queen
Bianco off Queen
#59 of 66 in Auckland Central
733 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#21 of 66 in Auckland Central
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascotia off Queen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascotia off Queen

Address: 3 Scotia Place, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Price Range: $76 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ascotia off Queen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort and quality in the heart of Auckland City Centre. Located off Auckland’s iconic Upper Queen Street, Ascotia off Queen is perfectly positioned to maximise the "Auckland Experience." Within short walking distance to Sky Tower, Theatres and the renowned Karangahape Road, Ascotia off Queen is perfectly positioned in the heart of New Zealand’s largest City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ascotia off Queen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascotia Off Queen Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing