We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does the business!”
Review of Ascotia off Queen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ascotia off Queen
Ranked #53 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed May 3, 2013

My mate and I had 2 nights at the Ascotia in April, while attending the Black Sabbath concert. While it is quite tight for room, the furnishings are very good. Excellent beds, good shower, and everything nice and clean. The one problem I could fault it on, was there was only 2 sugars, 2 coffees, and 2 teas for the pair of us, per night. Otherwise all good, and for the price was excellent value. I would definitely stay again, but not if I was staying too much time in the room.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishi C, General Manager at Ascotia off Queen, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Dear Simon56,
Thanks for your comments. House keeping staff has been instructed to keep generous numbers of tea, coffee and sugar puches in the room.

Rishi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (548)
There are newer reviews for Ascotia off Queen
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

470 - 476 of 548 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2013

This is one of the worst hotels I've ever stayed in. For starters, nobody knew where it was - not the bus drivers, not the passers by, nobody. We finally found it by chance on one of the small lanes branching out of the main road. The check in process wasnt so great, with the reception staff's attitude being rather poor. The lift was terribly dingy and looked like it had been built in the 70s. We were almost too afraid to use it. And then we got to the room, which was really tiny. Just the bed, small side tables, a really small tv and a shelves to put our stuff. Yes, shelves. They dont even have a wardrobe. Once we put our bags on the floor, there was hardly any space left to walk. The bathroom was incredibly small too. Oh, and they only have ONE iron in the whole hotel. You have to go to the laundry room on one of the floors to use it. The iron looks like it was bought in the 70s too. Can't say much about the cleanliness of the hotel as well - the carpet looks like it isnt vacuumed often. Come to think of it, the whole time I was there I didnt hear the vacuum at all. And one of the days we came back, we found the bathroom floor covered with water - there was a leak of some sort.
Location wise - one of my friends whó lives in Auckland dropped me back to the hotel one day and she reacted with horror at where I was staying. She told me its the "wrong side of town", near the red light district.
I would not recommend this hotel, unless you have really low standards.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasminroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishi C, General Manager at Ascotia off Queen, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Jasminroberts,
Very surprised to read your comments. Hotel is brand new and marketing has just started. Staff is young, qualified, trained, and regular recipients of applause from guests. Brand new furniture, bed, chattles, carpet, and TV. Lift is brand new installed two weeks ago by Schindler. Room size is enough to enjoy, relax and sleep comfortably. Hotel is located on top end of Queen Street whereas red light district is at other end of Queen Street. Looks like some other hotel was used after staying at Ascotia Hotel. Because none of ten points mentioned in review matches with description of Ascotia.
-Rishi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I didnt book this hotel but I arrived off a long flight and just slept! The room was oddly shaped and it was hot, not sure what it would be like in Summer! We asked for and was given a fan as no extra cost so this was fine. The hotel is being upgraded but I was not bothered or put off, but some people can be obviously. Its central and this was the appeal, we didnt have to pay to park and we had a "note" to place on the windscreen to advise that we could park, so not sure why this is an issue for some (Nearly everywhere in the UK you pay to park and for approx £12.50 to stay over in a City Centre is the norm, and London rates, the least said the better!) I think that if you want central this is it. Had the breafast, I thought mine ok but others in my party less happy, sausage looked awfull and bacon was all fatty (sick bowl). Dont turn the toaster up either! Enjoy!

Room Tip: Make sure you check out the parking issue, even if you have to pay, you need to be able to abandon t...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miniweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishi C, General Manager at Ascotia off Queen, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Miniweller: We have recently had more experienced Chef and surely you will enjoy your breakfast more next time. Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

This Hotel is horrible. It is being renovated and they should close it down until it is fixed. There are new and old building materials cluttering the hallways which are narrow and dark. The lift according to the staff has 'a mind of it's own and only works when it wants'....great! We were on the 6th floor! Smoke alarms had been removed. The room we stayed in was tiny and oddly shaped, had to squeeze around the bed, very claustrophobic. The water pressure was hopeless. Very poor kitchen facilities. No plates, knives etc so couldn't even have cereal in the morning except out of the one cup each that was provided. Allowance of two teabags was pathetic.
View was restricted due to the place being so tiny but was over an abandoned building site covered with graffiti.
Parking was $25 and we were sent down a steep narrow and windy driveway underneath the building on;y to find the parks were all full and with great difficulty we had to back out up the hill.
Was cheap at $80 plus the parking of course but the next night we stayed in a hotel which had two kingsize beds each with their own bathrooms, a full kitchen, separate lounge, doors from each room onto a sunny deck and even a washer/drier.for $95 so there are plenty of better options than this dump.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rens0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishi C, General Manager at Ascotia off Queen, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear RensOr: Lifts are being upgraded. One is already one is upgraded and being used. Will be more strict with lift engineers not to scatter lift parts around. Lift supplier of international fame, Schindlers have requested fire engineers to disarm smoke specific alarm temporarily to avoid unnecessary alarm going off during a particular work. Rooms dont have full kitchen and we rather provide room service through in house restaurant on ground floor. Parking space is squeezing in Auckland city and becoming more scarce. With brand new furniture and chattles we try to give value for guests' money.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed here for a few days over the weekend for a concert. The room was amazing value but was very small and oddly shaped. Had to squeeze around the bed, but there was heaps of room where the door was. Bathroom was excellent! The one real complaint was the parking for $25 a night. It was down a very steep driveway with almost no room to turn around. Luckily our car was small or else may not have been able to fit.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carstina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishi C, General Manager at Ascotia off Queen, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear Carstina:
Parking is becoming scarce and squeezing in size day by day in Auckland city. We try to manage even big cars.
Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Lovely place to stay, very central and if you wear good shoes able to walk to Vector Arena for a concert. Room was very nice. Place was being renovated but you wouldn't of known if you hadn't seen the signs. Was a Grab One deal and so breakfast was included which was also very nice. We had to pay for parking, which we hadn't encountered before but I guess being central Auckland there isn't much parking to be had, cost $25, but was noted on their confirmation so we were forewarned. Still great value though.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackieandMunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishi C, General Manager at Ascotia off Queen, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Thank you Jackie and Munch for your understanding of parking charges. Glad to hear you both had a wonderful time. We pride on our friendly and efficient staff. Hope to serve you again in near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

For $70/night, rooms were small as expected. No AC and no real windows. Room gets very hot. $25/day for parking is steep, but Auckland is expensive. Staff was very helpful. Being in central it is loud at night with all the luny-bins, since u can't close the windows. Capucino is good and food is reasonably priced at the hotel which is under construction

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PortlandRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishi C, General Manager at Ascotia off Queen, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear Portland Ross, thank you for your comments and understanding that parking space in CBD is squeezing day by day. Hotel lifts are being upgraded to accommodate bigger lift cars. And only one lift is being attended currently so another is spare for guests. No other construction is there.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.1 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#23 of 66 in Auckland Central
554 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crown on Cintra Lane
Crown on Cintra Lane
#45 of 66 in Auckland Central
96 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
#24 of 66 in Auckland Central
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
#30 of 66 in Auckland Central
217 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#21 of 66 in Auckland Central
965 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 66 in Auckland Central
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascotia off Queen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascotia off Queen

Address: 3 Scotia Place, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Price Range: $67 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ascotia off Queen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort and quality in the heart of Auckland City Centre. Located off Auckland’s iconic Upper Queen Street, Ascotia off Queen is perfectly positioned to maximise the "Auckland Experience." Within short walking distance to Sky Tower, Theatres and the renowned Karangahape Road, Ascotia off Queen is perfectly positioned in the heart of New Zealand’s largest City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ascotia off Queen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascotia Off Queen Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing