We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great fishing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tiritiri Matangi Island

Tiritiri Matangi Island
Book In Advance
More Info
$54.00*
and up
Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk
Ranked #1 of 255 things to do in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
281 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“great fishing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

this is the place to come and try real fishing, Kingies are nearly everywhere, the workups are abundant and the snapper are fat and lazy.
Launch at Gulf Harbour and shoot out to Tiri, I minutes you will be in the thick of it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank crocteaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,120
    186
    16
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great day trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

What a great day. If you appreciate the plight of many NZ birds you will enjoy this trip even more. It's not a long trip by boat from Whangaparoa. It would be a fuller day from Auckland. After the briefing we managed most of the islands tracks. If you like to observe and sit awhile then don't try to get around all of it. We loved the opportunity to see some of the rarer birds up close. The further round the island you get the more they seem to be. Superb scenery around the coast. Tracks are well maintained. Some steepish bits over the other side. The best thing to do in Auckland if you're into nature vs adrenalin sports.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“birdsong”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Marvellous place - Rare birds everywhere and bird song. Very much an extremely special island so close to Auckland city

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank raphaello343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
106 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A must for Birders!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Amazing wildlife and an exciting boatrip as well.boat can be boarded at Auckland city or Whangparoa. Guides available but we didn't bother

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank KiwiLint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mougins
Level Contributor
302 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Another world !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

What a wonderful way to spend a day outside of Auckland city,we had a marvellous time .The ferry was fun and when we arrived we were all gathered at the wharf and then were allocated a guide to show usaround for about an hour or two.This was extra but well worth it as he pointed out so many things ,both flora and birds ,amazing .The birdsong was out of this world ,never heard anything like it .! We were able to get good photos of the island birds up close and personal ! Had our picnic lunch and then returned by ourselves on a different track back down to the wharf -really god day .Would have liked to have spent the night there.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gabalotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tiritiri Matangi Island also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Tiritiri Matangi Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing