We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birds”

Tiritiri Matangi Island
Book In Advance
More Info
$57.13*
and up
Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk
Ranked #1 of 270 things to do in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Berkeley, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Birds”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

The only way to get a good sampling of native birds in NZ. The island is clear of predators. I was fortunate to accompany a group of ornithologists.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Taite D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,220
    200
    17
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dover, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Highlight!!”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Our trip to and tour of Tiritiri Matangi was one of top highlights of our five-week New Zealand trip. No visitor to the area who is interested in seeing the rare birds of NZ should miss Tiritiri. We took the guided tour of the island. Our guide was great. She seemed to have a complete knowledge of the birds on the island, many of which are unlikely to be seen anywhere else. We lost count of how many different birds we saw, but the guide seemed able to find them all for us. Moreover, the boat ride to island was scenic and pleasant. Just an overall fabulous day!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing - but wait for good weather”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Views and scenery and history and bird life will blow you away. Especially the wood pigeons. A great day trip, fun for kids

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank wombat2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

My second visit to Tiri was just as spectacular as my first despite the heavy shower. The native bird life here is simply wonderful and we saw almost every bird there was to see - including a morepork out during the day and a tuatara in the wild! Kokako were an absolute bonus. It is just such a beautiful regenerating paradise and there is so much to see. Our guide was simply wonderful - the volunteers on Tiri are knowledgeable and enthusiastic. Bought some lovely Christmas presents at the shop which was a bonus.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect to introduce nature to kids”
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Great venue to introduce young children to native birds and nature.

Great boat ride to get there as well

Helpful?
Thank Peppy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tiritiri Matangi Island also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Tiritiri Matangi Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing