We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pristine”

Tiritiri Matangi Island
Book In Advance
More Info
$54.00*
and up
Tiritiri Matangi Island Day Trip from Auckland with Optional Guided Walk
Ranked #1 of 260 things to do in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Pristine”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

A true step back in time as you get to see what us humans are capable of. To rid an old island of every imaginable pest and restore this island to its original state and bring back nature is quite the sight. A nice hour boat ride each way and a a great tour guide makes this a must for any outdoor lover

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mikesmutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,151
    188
    17
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“unique island experience”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

A fanatastic day out. Took my son and my mother ( visiting from overseas) here and we had a great time. The guide was superb - strongly recommend paying that little bit extra to get on a guided tour. Great visitor centre with interactive displays that my 7 year old son loved.
If you like sea, islands, birds etc go - you won't be disappointed. So close to Auckland too but feels a world away. We left from Gulf Harbour but ferry leaves from central Auckland too.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordontravel_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
99 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Going again tomorrow!”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This is an outstanding experience! A limited number of people are allowed to visit this island Wednesday to Sunday. You go through bio security-clean shoes,closed food container, and no open carry all bags. You bring your own food and take out your trash. You can get free tea or coffee at visitors center and can buy chocolate. A guided tour costs five dollars and is very worthwhile. You can take a short tour, one and half hours or a long tour for two and a half hours. We took the long and saw so many wonderful birds and lush vegetation. I may take up bird watching, I was so exited to see blue-tailed penguins, saddle backs, stitchbirds, and red-headed parakeets. On the hill, by the light house, you can see all of the area around Auckland. There is a gift shop that benefits the sanctuary. The ranger will drive your lunches up to the visitor's center while you hike, and then you can pick them up when you walk there.

Our day was topped off by a swim at Hobbs Beach. This is a beautiful, pristine bay. Sting rays were swimming in the water with us and I could see the Sky Tower in Auckland while floating on my back. The ferry leaves on time and there is no other, so be there. We are going back tomorrow to take the shorter tour which covers a different area, investigate the lighthouse and visitor's center and swim again! One day wasn't enough here and you have only one ferry over and back

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank nipowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful New Zealand Bush”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Highly recommend to any tourists to see natural NZ. The Ferry trip was fun. The birds and bush were fantastic, our tour guide was great - full of information and obviously loved his job.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwicouple02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucks
Level Contributor
93 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A fantastic day out”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We had a wonderful day here on this predator free oasis. The guided walk was well worth the small cost and lasted well over three hours with a very informative guide. Lots of birds were spotted, especially the robins who came very close to our feet. the Takahe family liked having their photo's taken and again came very close. Sting rays spotted in the water. We were lucky enough to also have a lovely warm sunny day. Highly recommended

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank sunnypBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tiritiri Matangi Island also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Tiritiri Matangi Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing