We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“City Tour By Bus”

Auckland Hop On Hop Off Explorer
Book In Advance
More Info
$32.40*
and up
Auckland Hop-on Hop-off Tour
Ranked #41 of 166 Tours in Auckland
Attraction details
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
844 reviews
218 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 917 helpful votes
“City Tour By Bus”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Always a good way to orientate yourself when visiting a new city. Staying at the Hilton we found the Hop on / Hop off handily placed at the Ferry Terminal.
Covers the best sights in Auckland although you have to change at the Museum for another bus that covers stops at the zoo and transport museum. Arrivals and departure of both fit together on the schedule at the museum so it is a seamless interchange.
We found the schedule finished a bit early, our stop at the zoo was last pickup at 3pm with a interchange at the museum for the final circuit finishing at 4pm.....presume the change from winter to summer schedule will give you a later finish.... Well worth the ticket cost though, buses are clean, drivers efficient and friendly and taped pre-recorded commentary spot on.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ExpatKL88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    112
    67
    38
    27
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
339 reviews
157 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“An enjoyable HOHO”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

When I go visiting new places I like to do a HOHO as it’s usually the best way to see a city however having done a full/extensive tour earlier on in our stay in Auckland, I tended to use the main loop as a way to get around the city and it was the satellite loop which I enjoyed best/behaved more like a tourist particularly going past Eden Park.

It is taped commentary although with the knowledge of both the drivers, it really could/should have been a live one especially in the satellite bus given how small it is.

Thanks to deals they have with places/companies I managed to save come dollars when I visited the Auckland Museum.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ne_quine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great way to travel”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The hop on hop off was well priced and easy to access. The buses came frequently and were never so full that you could not find a seat.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank cfroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
183 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Convenient and efficient way to see city sights”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We had been in Auckland for a day as a cruise stop in March and took the bus just to see where it stopped and get a feel for the route etc.. We returned to Auckland after the cruise ended and knew how we would use this bus to reach the attractions we were interested in seeing. We were now on the winter schedule with hourly pick up and drop offs. Not as convenient as the March summer schedule. Had we had more time, we would have purchased a two day pass and been able to spend more time at the zoo and Auckland Museum. But it was nice to see Newmarket Shops and view the city from Mt Eden. It picked us up at our hotel and dropped us off at the wharf. Good value and easy way to get around the city.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank JMac28046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Next Time, Take the Bus”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Definitely the convenient way to visit the 'must see' places in Auckland. Buses run on time, are clean, comfortable, and provide good views through large tinted windows. We were there in April (winter schedule) so came by once per hour and ran a shorter day; had to rush through some stops so we would not miss the last bus.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dilip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Auckland Hop On Hop Off Explorer also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Auckland Hop On Hop Off Explorer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing