We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best hostel in auckland!”
Review of Newton Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Newton Lodge
Ranked #56 of 115 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best hostel in auckland!”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

i arrived in this hostel at the end of august and now that is november i`m still living here! it's a great place, cheap, clean, new furniture, nice kitchen and living room, perfect toilets and showers, always clean and with hot water! staff are friendly, you can check in late. the best and unusual thing is FREE WIFI!!! i really feel home in this place! long stay people and travelers under the same roof, backpackers life!

Room Tip: don't be scared by the 8 beds dorm, it's nice and cheap!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r3dg1rl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    19
    17
    7
    8
See reviews for
1
16
29
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Great small hostel just of the K' road. Dorm rooms are spacious and immaculately clean, as is the rest of the hostel. Kitchen is big and well equipped and the bathrooms are plentiful. There is also free wifi. Owners are lovely. This is the only place I will ever stay in Auckland.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoelyK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

When we arrived they weren't exactly welcoming. No one was at reception for about 20 mins (not much of a reception, more of a corridor) then he didnt even greet us when it was clearly evident we were waiting! This hostel was relatively new so everything was quite new, although the bedroom furniture was evidently very cheap. The bed wasn't very comfy and the covers were thin, but it wasn't cold being inside with no windows. Skylights in the rooms weren't a bad touch though. Showers and toilets were good and so was the kitchen and sofa area. All a bit small when there are a few people staying however. Location is a bit odd and I think it's actually a Chinese family running it alongside a restaurant downstairs. On the other hand, if you just want somewhere to stay in the city and are just going to be out most of the time it's okay. Tip: take the city link red bus instead of walking, it's 50 cent and gets you right into the CBD and you can catch it on k'road. Also if you arrive on a bus, train or whatever get it to go to the lodge as we paid 20 bucks for a taxi instead of 1 dollar for a bus!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrownAlUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Sorry I should have made the review months ago. Glad I stayed at this place after arriving in Auckland and before continuing to Rotorua (1 night) since they had everything I needed: towel, clean bathroom, PC & internet. Kitchen/dining area was functional though may not be the coziest. It's close to everywhere. My single room consist of a bunk bed (comfortable enough) with a dressing table, but the AC got a bit too cold for me at night (I slept with sweater on). Perhaps one additional point was about the surrounding area (K Street) which looked like a bit deserted after dark; but I felt safe. Reception is one floor up from the building entrance. Overall it was a really nice place and I highly recommend it esp. for solo female traveler.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dhani H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I recently stayed at the Newton Lodge and would highly recommend a stay there. Newton Lodge offers value for money, as well as a clean and safe place to stay in Auckland. The rooms were clean, showers were powerful and no problem was too much problem for the staff behind the desk, I also felt safe as a single women. Thank you for my stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I was there for 8 nights and it was a good decision. Free Wifi and enough showers. The washing machine and the dryer cost 3$ each. The hostel is near to the CBD. Just 2 points I didn't like: they don't really change the towels in the kitchen. They are always smelly and there isn't the typical friendly atmosphere in the hostel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IlseHess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Beds were some of the most comfortable I've had in a dorm room. Everyone gets to use a locker for free. It can fit a small backpack inside of it. There are a few tables and a couch in the common area but the actual cooking area is a bit small. I never had to wait for a bathroom or shower. There were no windows in the door room but there were sun roofs that let light in. Free wifi is nice and printing is cheap. You have to walk down and up a hill to get to and from the city center. I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.0 mi away
K Road City Travelers Hostel
K Road City Travelers Hostel
#61 of 115 in Auckland
78 reviews
0.2 mi away
Haka Lodge Auckland
Haka Lodge Auckland
#3 of 115 in Auckland
309 reviews
0.5 mi away
Verandahs Backpackers Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Queen Street Backpackers
Queen Street Backpackers
#53 of 115 in Auckland
145 reviews
0.3 mi away
YHA Auckland International
YHA Auckland International
#17 of 115 in Auckland
267 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lantana Lodge Backpackers
Lantana Lodge Backpackers
#33 of 115 in Auckland
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newton Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newton Lodge

Property: Newton Lodge
Address: 27 Cross Street | Newton, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 115 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your meal in our bright and spacious open kitchen everyday. Relax on comfortable and soft couches and watch Sky sports and Sky movies with 46' LED TV in lounge. We provide free tea and coffee everyday, and free unlimited WIFI can be accessed all around the lodge! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Newton Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newton Lodge Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing