We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun night out”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mexico

Mexico
Ranked #294 of 2,227 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fun night out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Went with a group of friends - you can't book so we got there reasonably early, put our names down and whipped around the corner to their bar for a drink. Friendly bartender patiently explained the Mexican beers to me so I could make an informed decision. Got the call within about half an hour that our table was ready (we were quoted 40 min so well within time).
Food made for sharing, loved the potatoes and quesadilla. Service and atmosphere good. Pretty cheap coming in at about $70 per couple including a few drinks each so great value. Would return.

Helpful?
Thank Megs_TS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    91
    32
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pukekohe
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tasty Food and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

NYE meal. Initially we were told that kitchen was closed at 9pm, but after talking to the manager she arranged are pre-paid meals. The food was so good and great variety. If you like mexican food, go here. Staff are very good.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Yogesh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Simply Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Great place with a fantastic vibrant atmosphere, jam packed and buzzing. We were a small group of 3 and were amazed at the superb tasting dishes that we had, from the soft taco, specialties and quesadilla's. With cocktails and beer it was under $90 and everyone was full. Hard to fault the place. Service was great. And considering how busy it was, the dishes we served quickly.

One thing that did catch my eye was the corkage fee of $20 for BYO alcohol.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrChur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good, but cramped tables and service was hard to get.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

This should be good for groups, but the inability to book dictates the time you need to be there(eg get there at opening time if you want a table) food is tasty, wine list is poor, but you can byo for a per bottle corkage charge.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bgd1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect lunch spot - and no queue!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

I've heard all about the long queues and hours waiting for a table, but we went for lunch at Mexico yesterday and there was plenty of room. The Black Doris margaritas were stunning - outstanding. Only quibble there is it would have been nice if the waitress had brought us fresh lime-rimmed glasses with each caraf we ordered as the fresh zingy lime really added to the experience (but had worn off our old glasses by our second carafe). The ceviche is excellent as a starter - fresh and spicy - and the tacos were quite good although not outstanding. I would have preferred a corn tortilla for flavour, rather than flour. Lovley pumpkin and bean dip, in fact all our entrees were divine. Service was friendly, warm, and knowledgable.... very worthwhile and we'll be back!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bumpy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mexico also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing