We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced”

Kiwi Valley Farm Park
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Kiwi Valley Farm Park, offers interactive and educational family farm fun! Enjoy the relaxed country environment and explore the fun activities that are all included in the entry price: nursery shed - where our baby animals are, take a stroll around our farm walk and feed the animals! Horse & Pony rides for everyone! discover the maze and hidden caves! Tractor Rides. We also organise onsite Barnyard Birthday Parties, Corporate Team Building, Christmas Functions, Educational Tours.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Bought an online voucher for half price and believe this was a fair price to pay. $65 for a family is outrageous, for example the price for a family to go into Auckland Zoo is $63.

To walk around the place would only take an hour, and after this there is not much to do, particularly if the on-site kindy and holiday program groups turn up and take over.

Our toddler enjoyed seeing the animals and the staff were friendly.

1  Thank Gerwyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiwi-Valley, Owner at Kiwi Valley Farm Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you did not think it was good value for money. We are the proud new owners of Kiwi Valley Farm Park and we do believe the entry prices are fair. We are encouraging hands on interaction with our friendly farm animals. A place where children and adults, can get up close and personal with a variety of animals, to touch, hold, cuddle, pat and watch them interacting within their environment. Unfortunately, the ZOO does not allow for hands on interaction with their animals. So many people have given us positive feedback on this hands on experience, so I don't think we can be compared with the ZOO. We are quite different. Unfortunately we also do not receive financial input from external sources such as the government, animal agencies etc which the ZOO does, we are funded purely by ourselves and the public that enter paying our entry fees....running a place like this is very expensive and we feel that our prices set are fair and affordable to most. Watch this space for new and exciting additions to Kiwi Valley Farm Park! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 44 of 47 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

Lovely setting. Lots of photo opportunities. Amazing staff who were super friendly and helpful. Pony rides, tractor rides, petting zoo and farm animals to feed. My 4 year old used her feed to feed the chickens first (we did warn her) and then got chased for the rest of the visit (which scared her) - apart from that they loved it.

Thank Cat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiwi-Valley, Owner at Kiwi Valley Farm Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your feedback! Hope the kids aren't scared of our "food frenzie" chickens next time! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

The cafe is very good value, and nice service. The best coffee I have had in a long time!

The farm is well run and well kept, the animals all seem very happy.

Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiwi-Valley, Owner at Kiwi Valley Farm Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Thank you so much for your feedback! Glad to hear you really enjoyed your coffee! We look forward to having you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

If you want a place for the kids to have a run around, a cuddle of some fluffy bunnies, a short horse ride around a pen, sheep and goats to feed then this is for you. Luckily I took a lot of kids and they loved it. The peacocks all raised their tails for the photos and the ducks gathered around. The maze was not exciting enough to entice me but I approved of the fact you can go underneath to extract a lost child. Needs some work to bring it up to scratch but the people were friendly, they gave us a good price for our group and it hit the right spot at the right time for us. Wouldn't bother if you've seen sheep etc before but if you have visitors who live in high rises then this is a simple way to show them the country. Quite a long way out but on the way to the Waitakeres and Bethalls Beach.

Thank KatePnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiwi-Valley, Owner at Kiwi Valley Farm Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Thank you so much for your review. As the new owners of Kiwi Valley Farm (taken over in August 2013) we have massive vision for this farm! We have re-done the Maze so it is now looking fantastic and fresh! There is significant re-development underway to freshen up the place as well as new additions - so watch this space!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The animals are great. Shame the people working here aren't. Maze in need of repair, the wall at places have fallen. Good to take own lunch, the Cafe is a little expensive.

Thank Zanaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne-Marie S, Front Office Manager at Kiwi Valley Farm Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Thank you for your comments, we appreciate any feedback from our customers, it is with regret that during with your visit that you found our staff to be unfriendly, I hope that this was an one-off event and that our staff are courteous to all our customers in the future. We also apologise that when you visited our farm park that our maze was in a state of disrepair. We are currently planning some major renovations of the maze and other parts of our farm park and hope you have these improvements finished in the near future. We hope on your next visit that you can see that we have listened to our customers that that improvements have been made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kiwi Valley Farm Park also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Manukau, Auckland
 

Been to Kiwi Valley Farm Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing