We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Manukau lighthouse” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manukau Heads Lighthouse

Manukau Heads Lighthouse
Book In Advance
More Info
$211.70*
and up
Waitakere Ranges Guided Walk from Auckland
Ranked #46 of 257 things to do in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Manukau lighthouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Great views over the ocean and harbour, take a coat it gets a bit windy, a very pleasant drive to the lighthouse through small villages and beaches close by for fishing or swimming.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    51
    11
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Its a fair old drive but worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

The views are breathtaking and its a good place to sit and contemplate. It is a short steep walk from the car park (just in case your poorly). If you know something about the history of the place and the sinking of the Orpheus on the sand bank, you really feel for the sailors and the huge lost of life that took place over 100 years ago.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank philandkimsquire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Still in Auckland but absolutely stunning. ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

The drive to the lighthouse was absolutely beautiful. As if you are driving down Canterbury with the rolling hills but with spattering of the coast in the background. It was like I was back in Iceland but only an hour and a half out of the city.

I've loved in Auckland my entire life and only discovered this upon my rerun back home. It is truly a wonderful place

Don't forget to go to Awhitu Regional Park as well to take a leisurely stroll to Brook Homestead. Home of the Homestead family who planted a many of the surrounding trees to celebrate something.

Make sure to stop by Waiuku on the way as well.

Helpful?
Thank Mayuri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good day trip from Auckland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Good day trip from Auckland. Nice easy drive 60 minutes one way. Great views of Auckland and the heads. Visit the Awhitu golf club for lunch. Good food and cheap, wished I had the golf clubs as it looked very nice on the course.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A trip to Awhitu Peninsula guided by my Brother.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

My brother lives in Waiuku and when we came to stay he insisted we had to come and see the old Light-house.

We waited for a fine day and one that wasn't too windy. We parked in the car park at the bottom of the hill and I noted the gates shut at 5:00 pm, I was then told how my Brother and his wife had managed to get themselves temporarily locked in one day as they had enjoyed it so much they had stayed longer than they thought. 15 minutes later the gentleman who lives at the Signal Station was on his way back in and let them out.

We walked up the path and road which has Flax plants on either side to the sound of the local Cicadas which have a buzzing sound followed by a double click. My brother managed to spot them and showed us the little black cicadas and you could see how they made their clicking noises.

After we spent a lovely hour up at the lighthouse and the lookout we slowly made our way back to the car.

He then took us to see Orua Bay which looks absolutely tranquil and has a Motor Camp and then on to Big Bay. We found out where Awhitu winery is and then went to Pollock to the Pollock Art Collective with it's eclectic and stunning art pieces.

From here it was back into Waiuku to see the black sands beach at the end of Kariotahi Rd. near Agave @ Castaways function centre. The sands are made of ferro-titanium-magnetite and are a source of ore for the local Steel Mill. The beach is a gazetted road and access North and south can be gained from this beach.

It was a great morning outing and we thoroughly enjoyed it.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryOfBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manukau Heads Lighthouse also viewed

 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Manukau Heads Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing